OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, International are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Soft Serve Treats OK Jul 31, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

As I was craving for sweet bites over the weekend, I went to HoneyComb to satisfy my craving but I was welcome with new born brand taking over the space. Brother Bird is actually under the same people behind Stateland Café currently having soft opening for almost a week now. There aren’t many changes on the interior design of the space though.

 
There are only 2 signature artisanal soft serve available at this moment which is Honeydew Sago and Cookie Butter Softserve at S$5.50 each. The ordering and payment to be made at the counter. The staff will then serve the softserve.
I ordered both to try. Both stood out with individual taste and I prefer Honeydew flavor. It has the fruity taste and feels refreshing with the combination. Cookie Butter is not bad too but I would prefer to share as the sea salt taste is slightly stronger and almond crunch is quite addictive to munch.
Hopefully they will come out for more flavours so that I can return to try again. If I were to choose, I would prefer this than Honeycomb. Coffees are available too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Honeydew Sago
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5.50(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fusion Ramen  OK Jun 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

For more food reviews: http://hazeldiary.com

 

 
I decided to try Xin Hao Ramen which located at Bugis Cube for lunch with colleagues. It is located just opposite Bugis Junction mall and next to Liang Seah Street which is easily noticeable. Oh well.. It’s my first time stepping into Bugis Cube mall. Believe it or not!
Since it’s lunch time with limited time, we headed to level 3 for the ramen lunch. The menu was just outside the restaurant with the tags on respective description. It’s is quite unique as compared with other ramen stall. All prices and descriptions are stated on the wood board on the wall.
So, once you decide your choice, take the tag and proceed to the counter to make payment. They only accept cash at this moment.
I had Salted Ramen S$10.50 which is tonkotsu ramen seasoned with sea salt and grilled meat, hanjuku egg and deep fried enoki mushroom. It was nicely presented with a big bowl with the katsuobushi ( dried bonito flakes) as toppings. I personally find that the broth is clear and not too heavy taste. The grilled meat tasted like Chinese style grilled meat rather than Japanese version. Thus, do not expect to taste Japanese ramen here. It’s fusion style with Chinese taste twist in it.

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $11(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Ice Cream and Gelato | Pasta

For more information and reviews, check out my blog : http://hazeldiary.com

Thanks to the social media exposure, I get to know about the opening of Bottura which happened last week. Few days old Italian café, restaurant and retail concept is located at Level 2, North Wing of Suntec City Mall. The place is spacious enough to cater for more than 100 seater with casual dinning design style. Bottura offers wide selection of antipasto, pastas, pizzas and gelato. There are all handmade from the scratch by the chef to provide the authentic Italian cuisine for the customers. What’s more you can enjoy the dishes with affordable pricing. If you walk around the restaurant, there is a corner where they display the dry products and wines from Italy for sale.
As we were browsing the menu and deciding what to have, the staff is kind enough to suggest us to try their Degustation Menu where it is customized with 6 types of fresh pasta with a choice of traditional condiments S$18.00 and include a glass of Italian red or white wine. All of the pastas are served in 6 different plates with tasting portion. So, here are the 6 types that I tried:-

 

 

 
Foglie di polenta con ragu e besciamella – Polenta lasagna with traditional ragu and béchamel sauce (Normal serving S$18.00)
Nidi di rondine – “Swallow’s Nest” –fresh pasta rolled into a spiral, filled with béchamel sauce and ham (Normal serving S$14.00)
Spaghetti alla carbonara consists of egg, bacon and parmesan (Normal serving S$12.00)
Ravioli panna prosciutto e funghi – Ravioli with cream, ham and mushrooms (Normal serving S$14.00)
Tagliatelle conragu tradizionale (Normal serving S$15.00)
Penne al tonno con capperi di Sicilia e acciughe- Penne with tuna, Sicilian capers and anchovies (Normal serving S$14.00).
Of all pastas, my favourite is the Nidi di rondine and Ravioli panna prosciutto e funghi. I love the chewy texture of ravioli. It reminds me of the Chinese mee hoon kueh texture in a way. The sauce has an unique taste that compliment well with the pastas. We were told that perhaps the next round when we order again, the 6 pastas served will be different. It’s all depends on the chef’s preparation of the day. I personally feel that this menu idea is brilliant for those who wants to try everything in a bit. People like me definitely will order this to get a taste of the individual pastas.

 
Gelato is also one of their selling point here in Bottura. We decided to try their signature Spaghetti Gelato S$7.00 where the chef will choose the flavors of gelato to serve. We had the custard flavor with wild berries sauce and sprinkle some icing sugar on top of it. One glance, you will thought it is a spaghetti. I find the gelato taste creamy and sweeter as compared to other places. But it’s all depends on individual preferences. Their signature gelato is the smurf flavour in blue. Interesting bubblegum flavour but I tasted like fanta taste though.

 
We had a wonderful dinner here with affordable pricing and delicious meal. The staff is friendly and approachable with explanation of the dishes. I find it good in a way that customers will have better understanding on the foods served on the table and know more about Italian cuisine. I will definitely be back to try their other dishes in the menu. All prices exclusive of service charges and GST.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nidi di rondine,gelato
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 25, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Savoury & Sweet Choices Smile Jun 01, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | High Tea | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

For more reviews and photos: http://hazeldiary.com

 
Angelina has a long history since 1903 and has built its reputation as a tea room with sophistication and indulgence. This reputable brand has finally opened its branch here in Capitol Piazza, Singapore. Hannah, Luna and myself were at the same building last Saturday and decided to check it out after our event. It was an impromptu lunch as we are so excited with it's opening. It was only the 2nd day of soft launch and surprisingly we did not need for long. We managed to dine in within 15 minutes waiting time.

 

 
We ordered Old Fashioned Ice Chocolate "L'Africain" S$12.00 and Angelina mix Iced Tea S$9.50. Ice hot chocolate L'Africain has the chocolaty taste that is not overwhelming and flavorful. I am loving it! The mixed ice tea serves with a syrup serving where customers can customize your own sweetness level. Light taste to pair with desserts.

 
As for the mains, we decided to try Pan Fried Scallops S$29.00 served with 4 seared scallops with black venere rice and shellfish cream. The rice has the unique taste that best to have it with the shellfish cream. Otherwise, you might find it's hard in texture and tasteless.

 
We also had Chicken Supreme S$23.00 served beautifully with the art plating. Chicken breast roll with chestnut puree and braised endive (leafy vegetable on top of the chicken roll). The servings are nicely roll up and very easy to consume if you are going for a date here. The meat texture was tender and flavorful with the chestnut puree.

 
There is always room for desserts. Although Mont Blanc is the signature dessert in Angelina, we decided to try other desserts. So, we had Paris-New York S$13.00. Choux pastry with pecan light cream and crunchy pecan praline heart. Beautifully presented on the table for us to feed our cameras before we attacked it. Some may find the cream too sweet but I personally feel that it is just fine. So, it's all depends on individual preferences.

 
We glad that we ordered Choc Africain S$13.00. Combination of 3 chocolates which are African pure dark chocolate mousse, chocolate brownie and bitter dark chocolate cream. If you are a chocolate lover like me, you definitely should give this a try. Well-balance of sweetness and bitterness that best to enjoy with your companion.
Despite of their 2nd day of soft opening, the operation staffs are friendly and polite towards customers. The foods are served less than 15 minutes time. If you would like to have a classy yet affordable dinning, I think Angelina cafe can be one of the option. Although, the price is at a steep side, their foods and desserts are indeed quality and nicely plated on the table. This truly live up their brand's reputation throughout the years. I can see myself returning back to try other dishes and desserts soon.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Supreme,Pan-fried Scallops,Choc Africain
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $29(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wholly crab feast OK Jun 01, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Seafood

For more photos and food reviews: http://hazeldiary.com

 
Since I am meeting my friend for dinner, we decided to try Wholly Crab located at Satay by the Bay which is newly opened by Felicia Chin. This is her second venture into F&B after MamaShop. Unlike the casual dinning style, she decided to have hawker-theme affordable seafood offers to customers. The location was indeed an option for the locals to head on for suppers and tourists visiting to Garden by the Bay. However, it is quite inconvenient without a car though. If you are taking a cab, do tell the driver to stop at Satay by the Bay. The cab driver who drove us there got lost and we had a small walk from Marina Barrage to Satay by the Bay.

 
The menu and dishes available are printed on the signature stall where you can easily have reference for ordering. Firstly, choose your size (S$60.00 or S$120.00), choose your choice of sauces (available in cheese, kung pow, laksa, marmite or spicy tomato) and side dishes. We decided to try marmite sauce with S$60.00 value.
The staff will serve with a bucket and pour over all of the seafoods onto our table. And the feast begins!We used our bare hands to enjoy the crabs, prawns, clams, mussels and sausages. Overall it is quite a creative way to think of having marmite sauce for the seafoods. It has a bit of sweetness and sticky after taste with the fresh seafoods. But I can only taste the sauce while licking at the seafood shells instead of the inner meats. So, it would be best to cook them a while longer to have the sauce flows in to the meat.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 25, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0