OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Mexican Style Foods OK Mar 01, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Mexican | Bars/Lounges

For more photos, check out my post: http://hazeldiary.com

 

 
In Mexican, 'Hombre' is 'man' in Spanish or a slang term meaning 'dude'. 'Cantina' means 'bar'. Well. Hombre Cantina, a Mexican food joint established in September 2013 along Boat Quay that serves variety choice of drinks and mexican foods.
Thanks to OpenriceSG for the invitation and get to explore about Hombre Cantina. The interior of the place is decorated with beach theme with a simple and nice touch up. Since it's mexican style, customers approach the counter to place their orders. Foods and drinks are delivered by the service staff upon ordering.
Six main courses are available to choose from the menu price at S$15.00++.

 

 
Quesadillas
Tortilla folded and grilled with cheese and filling of your own choice. The choices are Fried Pacific Dory, Roasted Pork Shoulder, Braised Beef Brisket, Roasted Chicken Thigh and Roasted Veggies. We tried the beef and chicken version that day and I am loving it with the melting cheese in between. Best to enjoy it while it is hot!

 
Nachos
Tortilla chips topped with black beans paste, cheese, pico de gallo, sour cream & fresh cilantro. Generous serving in a basket to share among friends and to go with beer.

 

 
Burrito
Tortilla with Mexican-styled rice, black beans, lettuce, pico de gallo and sour cream with filling of your own choice. Choices are Fried Pacific Dory, Roasted Pork Shoulder, Braised Beef Brisket, Roasted Chicken Thigh and Roasted Veggies. We tried the beef and veggies flavors. Definitely a filling main course to choose with the amount served. Well mixed ingredients all in one serving!

 
Tacos
3 soft corn tortillas wrapped with cabbage and pico de gallo with the filling of your choice. Choices are Fried Pacific Dory, Roasted Pork Shoulder, Braised Beef Brisket, Roasted Chicken Thigh and Roasted Veggies. My personal preference is Fried Pacific Dory with tomato salsas.

 
Rice Bowl.
Mexican-styled rice topped with black beans, lettuce, black beans, pico de gallo and sour cream, topped of with your choice of filling. If you are a rice person, you can opt for this.

 
Mexican Corn S$8.00. Grilled corn cob with Hombre's in-house spices that makes the grilled corn different from others. Other than the spices, there is also grated cheese to enhance the flavor of the ala-carte.

 
Chicken Chicharrones S$10.00. It's one of their best seller to go with the beer. It is coated with the in-house spice blend and served with sprinkle lime over it. Quite refreshing taste after the sprinkle though.

 
The owner was kind enough to serve us Tamarindo. One of the recommended drink which turned out to be the favourite of the ladies on the table. Tamarindo is made up of chilli and tamarind. Served on the table with a spicy green chilli with its seeds floating in the middle of the drink.A sip of it makes you go 'wow' and asking for more of it.
Fruta is the combination with passion fruit or watermelon. Refreshing fruity taste with 50ml of Tequila with salt clinging on the rim of the glass cup. Perfect choice for the ladies taste buds.
Hombre Cantina is a nice chillout place for group gatherings.The place has a beautiful scenery that you wouldn't want to miss too. You will be spoilt with the choices of drinks available here but not the foods though.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fruta,Quesadillas
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

 

 
Boutique Cafe situated at Phoenix Park is a newly cafe which attracts instagrammers to have photo posting. The word Boufe is pronounced as ‘buffet’. There is a woman apparels/ clothing boutique by the side of the cafe. Ladies can do shopping after brunch. What an idea!

 
If you are taking a public transport, take a bus from Redhill MRT station and alight 1 stop later when you saw the entrance of Phoenix Park. Approach the security and request for BUGGY RIDE to Blk 308. If you are driving, parking is free!
It’s my first cafe hopping with food khakis from instagram on this brand new year. Here are the foods and drinks that we shared on the beautiful Sunday :-

 
Flat White S$4.80 & Hazelnut/ Vanilla Latte S$5.50

 
Mocha S$5.50

 
Egg Benedict S$16.00 served with homemade brioche with honey baked ham, poached eggs, homemade hollandaise sauce and fresh greens.

 
Triple B S$21.00 which is also known as Boufe’s big breakfast.Freshly baked buttery croissant served with scrambled eggs, assorted sausages, streaky bacon, sautéed mushrooms and fresh greens.

 
Brioche French Toast S$14.00 is a recommendation brunch.Homemade brioche in french toast mix, topped with fresh berries, cream chantilly and maple syrup. Simple yet satisfying!

 
After filling our stomach, we ordered desserts. Strawberry Shortcake S$8.00. Moist texture cake with strawberry sweetness. However, the price is at the high side for me.

 
Chocolate Tart S$5.50 will be the favourite for chocolate lover. I love the the contrast colour presentation served on the table. The tart filling was made up with 3 separate layers namely the dark chocolate for the top, milk chocolate for the middle and peanut butter for the bottom layer.
All prices are nett without GST and service charges. I personally love the interior cafe designs with black and white theme. Every corner of the cafe is worth for photo taking. The cafe is worth visiting for the foods quality and also cosy place for brunch session.
For more reviews: http://hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chocolate Tart,Brioche French Toast
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $21(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pastry Time OK Dec 31, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bakery

Australian cafe & bakery chain Pie Face opened its first outlet in 313 Somerset, Singapore followed by the second outlet at Bugis Village. The brand has multiple franchises in Australia, New Zealand and New York. They also have the intention to expand to Malaysia soon. Those who are in Malaysia, please be patient.
Pie Face is well-known for having cute expressions on its pies but it is also renowned for baking all its gourmet pies from scratch. The bakeries are made fresh daily so customers can enjoyed every single ones with smiling face.
The pies comes in two sizes which is the mini and regular. The mini pies are priced from S$3.00 and the regular ones from S$4.90. I would go for the regular ones as it’s worth the value and size.
After explanation by people from Pie Face, those smiley faces are actually denotes the different fillings within each pie. Sound interesting? It’s definitely a great way to display creatively.

 
Chunky Steak Pie S$5.20 which is the crown jewel in Pie Face’s array. The combination of beef chunks and carrots that have been braised in a flavorful gravy, is an easy one to like. I would prefer the beef to be more soft and tender to enjoy.
Chicken & Mushroom Pie S$4.90 is the combination of pieces of tender chicken with mushroom in a thick and cream gravy.
Chicken & Peppercorn Pie S$4.90 is the combination of chicken meat and bits of peppercorn.
Thai Chicken Curry Pie S$4.90 is something flavorful which suits well to Asian flavor. This is Asian-inspired, bringing together chicken meat, carrots, onion, garlic and coconut milk. Loving the fragrance taste of the coconut milk combination with the ingredients.
Tandoori Vegetable Pie S$4.90 with a medley of carrots, capsicum and mixed beans in tandoori sauce for the vegetable lovers. It is one of the choice for vegetarians if they want to give pie face a try.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 16, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Quality Foods & Services Smile Dec 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

 
MATCH Restaurant & Lounge located at Pan Pacific Hotel Singapore serve modern American cuisine with late night bar serving as well. The interior design gives a classy and contemporary chic feeling. The ambience of the restaurant gives a romantic feel for couples and also comfortable feel for group gathering events as well.

 
My foodie partner and I decided to try out the foods here after seeing good reviews from social media. We started off with complimentary homemade walnut and raisin bread. The bread is soft and fluffy inside which we can't help having it more than one.

 
Our choice of starter was Ceviche Barramundi S$17.00. Simply refreshing and fresh. Presented in a colourful servings left a deep impression. The diced seabass (barramundi) blends well with the assorted ingredients such as chilli and mint leaves.Slightly sweet twist and refreshing after taste.

 
As for the mains, diners get to customize to your preferences. There are options for sauces for the meat and two sides to go with it. We had 250g striploin drizzled with shallot and red wine sauce and sauted mushrooms and onion tart as the sides S$45.00. Did I mentioned that you can get your preferred way of cooking as well? We chose char grilled and medium done for the beef. The beef texture was tender and juicy for my liking. I am already missing it while drafting the post now.

 
Next, Pan Fried Atlantic Cod with Champagne Caviar Sauce with squid ink risotto and zucchini served as sides S$38.00. The cod fish was fresh, tender and soft. It's like melting into your mouth when you taste it.

 
We also ordered Mac & Cheese S$10.00 which i think it's just taste normal. It's cheesy and filling given the portion and value. But I think it's not worth coming to Match to try this though. There are many others interesting dishes to try.

 
Complimentary candy cotton served. Definitely a sweet treat!

 

 
We ended the dinner with Ultimate Match Sundae Dessert S$21.00. It comes in a huge bowl with four big scoops of ice-cream choice of vanilla, chocolate, oreo and raspberry sorbet. Toppings include meringue, different types of fruits and biscuits. Combination of sweetness, crunchy bites when you have everything in one go. And of course the highlight of the dessert is the fireworks gimmick. Definitely gives a smile on the face!
Wonderful dinner experience with good customer service. Although the prices are on higher side, I personally feel that it's worth with the foods quality and also the services. The staffs here are well-trained and knowledgeable on the foods serving.It's also a nice bar for chilling and relaxing. Those who wish to come for a drink who be enjoying the atmosphere of the restaurant. We spent S$151.80 for the dinner.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ceviche Barramundi
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $76(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Holiday Menu Specials OK Dec 17, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

I am back again to Sync branch at Serangoon gardens. This time round, Sync Korean Tapas bar has launched the first Korean-inspired Holiday menu starting from 12th December to 2nd January 2015.
There is a selection of six mouth-watering tapas and mains that start from S$9.90 onwards. Here are the enjoyable lists that I tried the other day :-

 
Christmas Citrus Salad S$9.90 is the colourful salad made with pomegranate, orange and mesclum, topped with citrus dressing. The fruits combination into the salad enhances the fruity and refreshing after taste before mains.

 
Sweet Potato Croquettes S$10.90 which is the traditional Korean sweet potatoes fried with cheese and chorizo, topped with apple salsa. Combination of crispy layer with soft texture bites in the inner was nicely done and attractive presentation.

 
Clay Duck Ssam S$10.90 is the blending traditional Korean food with Christmas flavour. The clay duck meat is served with Korean daikon and a perilla leaf. Meat texture was soft and tender and balance off with the fragrance of the perilla leaf.

 
Turkey Risotto S$26.90 is something interesting. Turkey roulade with Korean barley risotto topped with sautéed mushrooms and cranberries. It’s my first time trying barley risotto and surprisingly it is quite filling than the normal ones. It’s like having bubble pearls and chewy. For barley lovers, you might want to try this special combination.

 
Kalbi jim S$26.90 is the short ribs braised for 48 hours with Korean sauce,s erved with mashed potatoes, pickled daikon and marinated with kalbi jim, a Korean flavoring. We enjoyed this as the thickness of the beef was just nice to feel the texture and juiciness of the meat.

 
Chestnut Crunchy Bar S$10.90 comes with the chestnut mousse in a chocolate tart shell, topped with crunchy pearls and orange gel. Loving the generous coating chocolate and gives the dessert a dazzling looks under the bright lighting. Neither too sweet nor overwhelming and this is just awesome to end a perfect meal.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kalbi Jim
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 09, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0