OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1377 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Japanese | Fusion

For pictures and fill review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/26/miam-miam/
Miam Miam, which means “yum yum” in French, marries the ingredients of Japanese cuisine together with French artisanal cooking techniques. Offerings are made from scratch, using only the freshest and most sustainably sourced ingredients. Food and desserts are prepared upon order, hence do set aside a sufficient time to thoroughly enjoy a meal at Miam Miam, as many items require 15-20 minutes wait.
The ambiance is casual yet trendy. The back (not pictured) of Bugis Junction outlet looks prettier, decorated with pastel coloured chairs that add a whimsical touch. Service is lovely -staff merrily chirp “Bonjour” and “Merci” when diners arrive and leave. Drizzled in light Caesar dressing, topped with smoked chicken and sprinkled with parmesan cheese, the French Salad ($7.50) was surprisingly appetizing, despite its humble appearance.
The signature pasta, Miam Miam Spaghetti ($16.80) twirled its way into my heart. The al dente strands were tossed in a captivating concoction of French butter, secret broth and shoyu, then bumped up with frankfurters, tomatoes, baby spinach, eggplant, shimeiji mushrooms and bacon. A single half-boiled egg completes the wholesome dish.
If you prefer more oomph, go for the Lobster Bisque Pasta ($20.80), which features a savoury and rich soup base, grilled tiger prawn and parmesan cheese. Every aspect was delightful except for the prawn, which was overcooked, dry and tough.
Cheese lovers will adore the Mac and Cheese ($15.80)! Served bubbling, the over-baked fresh pasta shells are coated with a combination of 4 special cheeses and blanketed with crunchy Japanese breadcrumbs.
Served piping hot in a casserole, Riz Au Curry ($14.80) is essentially baked rice with homemade Japanese curry, pork frankfurters broccoli, cheese and a wobbly sunshine egg. I find curry too salty and was struggled to finish it. The portion is small for the price tag.
This is my first time trying savoury soufflé. Miam Miam’s Souffle De Nuage($17.80) is an interesting dish of ham, chicken and shimeiji mushrooms mixed with tomato sautéed rice topped with clouds of egg and cheese. The soufflé’s texture is amazing- airy and fluffy, but lacked a prominent flavour. Halfway through, my stomach felt queasy (too much air?) and hence I only ate the baked rice, which was lovely.
Miam Miam is well-known for thier sweet treats. I highly recommend the French Toast, Soufflé Pancakes and Chocolate Soufflé. Thick cuts of pillowy French Toast ($15.80) are stacked together, doused in maple infused syrup, dusted with icing sugar and crowned with airy whipped cream. It’s very filling and can be a meal on its own. I can see why this is an all-time favourite. Price is steep but I’m willing to ignore that as it’s just soooo good!

The Original Soufflé Pancakes ($8.80) put all the regular pancakes that I’ve had in this lifetime to shame. Its soft and fluffy texture is a dream.

Soufflés are commonly served in fine dining restaurants but you can enjoy them at Miam Miam without breaking the bank. The utterly divine Valrhona Chocolate ($13.80) has an ethereally soft and airy texture and a oozing chocolate centre. Hands down the best soufflé I’ve tried so far

I would’ve liked the Berries Cheese Cake Parfait ($12.80) if there was some gelato layered between the fresh berries, digestive biscuits and cream cheese.

On weekdays from 11.30am to 2.30pm, Miam Miam @ Bugis Junction serves complimentary soup of the day with every main course ordered. For an additional $2, you’ll get a coffee or tea.
To sum up, I’m pleased with Miam Miam’s quality offerings can see myself revisiting for that much needed mid-week perk me up.

Supplementary Information:
Miam Miam Signature Pasta, Original Souffle Pancakes, Valrhona Chocolate Souffle, French Toast
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prices steep, but its worth it Smile May 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/20/wah-lok-dim-sum/
I’ve heard many positive reviews on Wah Lok’s dim sum and finally had the time to check it out. This is my first time at Carlton Hotel and I was impressed by the spacious lobby, featuring an eye-catching chandelier made out of blown glass.
The grand entrance of the restaurant. I noticed numerous awards are display on the right; this upped my anticipation. Wah Lok’s decor is sophisticated, with Oriental architecture features and motifs. Tables are spaced comfortably apart. Service is brisk and helpful.
Unlike most restaurants that offer their dim sum in portions of 3, Wah Lok accommodated our request for 4 portions. No need to cut (and at the same time ruin) the dim sum for sharing. Fantastic!
No comments about the dish indicates I find it passable. I’ll elaborate further on the notable items, and also those I find lacklustre.
Wah Lok has a fixed soup of the day from Mondays to Saturdays. On Sundays, it varies. On this particular Sunday, it was Shark’s Fin Melon Soup ($7.50), aka 鱼翅瓜 soup. Don’t worry, no sharks were used to prepare this. The main ingredient is a type of melon, which got its name from its resemblance to shark’s fin. The texture of the melon is beautiful- juicy and soft noodle-like strands. Slurping up the melon and fortifying soup was a joy!
The Roasted Pork ($12) had enticing crackling skin, but the flesh itself was a tad dry and not as melt-in-the-mouth as expected.
Large Steamed Prawn Dumplings ($6.80/4 pcs) came with shimmery translucent skin which held the fresh, crunchy prawns very well. The Steamed Pork Dumplings ($6/4 pcs) was another well-executed classic. Nice bouncy texture with great flavours from the fresh pork and mushroom.
Century Egg with Pork Congee ($6.80) and Pig Liver Congee ($6.80). Portions were small for the price.
Deep fried Beancurd Skin Rolls with Shrimps($9.20) and Deep Fried Prawn Dumplings ($6/4 pcs) were delightfully crispy and not at all oily.
Steamed Carrot Cake ($4)
Steamed BBQ Pork Buns ($4.80/ 3 pcs)
The Steamed Custard and Egg Yolk Buns ($4.80) were having a bad day; they failed to flow. The custard was too sweet as well, overshadowing the salted egg yolk flavour.
Deep Fried Crabmeat and Scallop Balls with Chilli Sauce ($10). What a convenient and fuss-free way to enjoy chilli crab, made even better with succulent scallops. The gravy is truly highlight here- addictively spicy and tasty.
The Baked Mini Egg Tarts ($6/4 pcs) could do with a more flaky and buttery pastry.
We rounded off the excellent lunch with appealing desserts- Cold Aloe Vera with Lemongrass ($6) and Chilled Green Apple Jelly with Chrysanthemum ($6).
While prices may be a bit steep for Wah Lok, the quality, execution, ambiance and service makes it worthwhile.
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 25, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Superb Crab Cake Egg Benny Smile May 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Brunch

Want breakfast for dinner? Wild Honey’s for you! Wild Honey has gone from strength to strength, opening a second outlet at Scotts Square and expanding its Mandarin Gallery branch. The restaurant serves all-day breakfasts, inspired by different parts of the world.
Wild Honey has a mishmash country cottage sofas and wooden school chairs. The slightly uncoordinated decor has rustic appeal, making it a lovely place to hang out with family and friends. Like people watching? Get a window seat which overlooks the busy streets. However, do note that the tables by the windows lack privacy as they are close to one another. I was charmed by New England ($38), a posh rendition of the ubiquitous Egg Benedict dish. Sitting on toasted brioche rounds, the large spicy crab cakes were crowned with brilliantly poached eggs, blanketed in creamy citrus Hollandaise sauce. The crab cakes were superbly moist and packed with generous chunks of succulent crab meat, with corn and capsicum included for crunch. Jab at the poached eggs and a river of sunshine bursts forth, seeping into the crab cake, adding a touch of creaminess to the sweet flesh. Avurga Caviar ups the luxe factor. This is absolutely heavenly!
Skip the Aussie ($30) if you must. We requested for medium rare beef but it arrived well done. Other elements of the dish include fried egg, dry breakfast potatoes, dad’s baked beans, sautéed mushrooms, bell pepper, onion confit, spicy tomato chutney and grilled ciabatta. Nothing exciting. Skip the Aussie ($30) if you must. We requested for medium rare beef but it arrived well done. Other elements of the dish include fried egg, dry breakfast potatoes, dad’s baked beans, sautéed mushrooms, bell pepper, onion confit, spicy tomato chutney and grilled ciabatta. Nothing exciting.
The Tunisian ($22) is a refreshing change from the usual big breakfasts and egg centric dishes. Served sizzling in a skillet, the Tunisian is a medley of robust flavours consisting of spicy shakshouka and chorizo, completed with a single fried egg, accompanied with fragrant sesame flat bread and Isreali salad.
Avoid the expensive Red Velvet Cake ($10). One word-dry!
Made from Valhorna Chocolate , the Paris Iced Chocolate ($7) was thick and rich, yet not too sweet. I also love the invigorating Wild Iced Tea ($7), a blend of peppermint, wild verbena, rose hip and hibiscus tea.
I found the service wanting more. Although the young servers had a friendly demeanour, they missed out some of our requests and one of our orders. To makes matters worse, the staff who organises table seating at the entrance has a snobbish attitude. How off-putting! If you’d like to dine here, do make reservations or be prepared to queue for ages. Prices at Wild Honey are steep, hence I do not foresee regular visits.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Fusion | Desserts and Cakes

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/18/dolce-tokyo/
Opened by Ministry of Food, Dolce Tokyo offers diners Japanese and Italian cuisine in a trendy setting. “Dolce” means “sweet” in Italian, but this cafe is more than a dessert place. A flip through the menu reveals riotous offerings of appetizers, all day breakfasts, burgers, pastas, pizzas, curry rice, desserts, milkshakes and so on.
For something substantial, go for the Grilled Chicken Burger ($13) with mayo sauce. The tender chicken had a nice crisp char on the skin, but because it wasn’t well-marinated, the meat was rather bland. The burger was accompanied with baked beans, fries and chilli dip.
I didn’t enjoy the Battered Fish Fillet ($17), which includes a choice of 2 side dishes (sweet corn, whipped potato, baked potato or thick-cut fries) and salad. Although the batter was well fried, the flesh had a strong fishy taste.
Tossed in a spicy tomato sauce, each mouthful of the Chicken and Asparagus Pasta ($16) was a delightful blast of flavor. The chicken skin had a nice smoky char, but the meat was too tough and dry.
The Aglio Olio with Soft Shell Crab ($17) fared better. While I felt it could do with more garlic, the pasta was pleasantly al dente, with onion slices present for additional flavor and crunch. The soft shell crab was well fried. The crustacean had quite a bit of flesh and the sweetness of the meat could be detected.
I was sorely disappointed with the Red Velvet Cake ($12.50). At this exorbitant price, one would expect an exceptional Red Velvet slice. It was far from that-too dry and paltry portion of crème cheese. Avoid this at all costs!
The Yuzu Panna Cotta ($7.90) on the other hand, was rather decent. The Panna Cotta itself was plain but creamy, with Mandarin Orange slices and Yuzu sauce lending flavour.
I wouldn’t say the food is terrible, but neither is it particularly enticing for a return visit.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Overall not too bad Smile May 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

For picture and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/13/la-strada/
La Strada, which means “The Street” in Italian, is a subsidiary of the award winning Les Amis Group. The restaurant serves classic Italian cuisine and is conveniently located at Shaw Centre
Its rustic interior is reminiscent of the laid-back Trattorias in Italy, providing a temporary respite from the urban rat race for all who step into its cosy premises. Despite being almost full on a weekday, staff maintained polite and efficient service standards. We went for the set lunch at $35++ for 3 courses, with 3 selections for both entrees and mains, a fixed dessert, and coffee or tea.
To start, we had Prosciutto E Manzo Stagionato, a ham and cured beef platter with toast and ratte potato salad. It’s a simple, classic dish that tastes as good as it looks
Capesante Alla Griglia was something new for me. Flashed-grilled Hokkaido Scalloped clocked in rhubarb sauce, with slices of endives. It’s a combination I’ve never tried before, but fell in love with upon the first bite.
Bistecca Alla Griglia. Char-grilled Black Angus Striplion jazzed up with argula pesto was not the most tender, but acceptable. Adding texture and variety to this main, were perfectly fried cardoncello mushrooms and root vegetables, perched prettily atop the steak. While we could smell the lovely truffle aroma, our taste buds could hardly detect it.
Admittedly, I was quite disappointed with Pancetta Di Maiale, a dish of Iberico Pork Belly, sitting in a moat of sweet white cabbage and caraway sauce. The crackling skin was spot-on-crispy and flavours were lovely. Unfortunately, the meat itself was too tough and dry.
The dessert in the set lunch menu didn’t excite us, hence we topped up $5++ each for a Tiramisu and Honey & Pine Tart. La Strada’s Tiramisu is moist and each bite fills the mouth with a explosion of coffee, chocolate and cream flavours, with a hint of alcohol. Not my kind of Tiramisu!
Toasted pine nuts, coasted with honey, are piled onto a thin pie crust and topped with a huge scoop of strawberry ice cream. The intensity of the pine nuts was rather overwhelming; I’d have like this if the ratio of pine nuts and buttery pie base were equal.
Overall not too bad, but La Strada did not leave a huge impression on me.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $47(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0