OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1399 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Japanese | Restaurant | Vegetarian | Fine Dining

For pictures and full review, pls visit (cant fit my full review here):
http://madamechewy.com/2015/12/13/joie-by-dozo/
Meatless cuisine goes luxe at Joie by Dozo, a restaurant located on the roof top garden of Orchard Central. The plates offered here will change the most common conception of vegetarian cusine. My dining companion (who’s vegetarian) and I were blown away by the presentation the execution of the dishes. This was our first encounter with vegetarian fine dining in Singapore.
The elaborate menu, filled with attractive descriptions, makes one desire many dishes. Go for the set menu, which allows one to sample a myriad of creations for $38.80++ (6-course lunch) or $68.80++ (7-course dinner).
The restaurant is decked out in a contemporary fashion in grey and champagne tones. Once we settled down in the comfy armchairs, the staff handed us a fancy embossed menu and proceeded to recommend the signature dishes.
Complimentary Pastry Sticks and Passion Fruit Smoothie. Do wait for the ice to melt a little before sipping the refreshing beverage.
The Chef Platter comprises of a trio of intriguing bites. We were advice to being with the middle item, Carrot Terrine with Seaweed. The smoothness and appearance of the carrot terrine reminds me of smoked salmon. Pop the Raspberry Sphere into your mouth and enjoy the burst of sweet juices. Finally, we munched on the Seaweed Cracker, jazzed up with Shimeiji Mushroom and wasabi.
A play on crispy and soft textures, the Tempura Platter on Mash consists of charcoal coated yam, eggplant, apple, and banana, brightening up with orange sesame dressing.
The Matsutake Cake exudes an earthy aroma, courtesy of the steamed Japanese Mushroom. The rosemary gel, crème patisserie and pistachio crumbs add an interesting dimension to the dish.
Vegetarian Sashimi? I thought my ears failed me! Joie’s Vegetable Sashimi on ice with Quail Egg Glass Shooter is presented just like regular sashimi, however, the ingredients in focus are thinly sliced coconut, konjac, aloe vera and pear, while blueberry pearls represent caviar.
Structured in a striking manner, the Zucchini Tower, accompanied with beetroot sphere, is sure to catch your attentive even from afar. The zucchini tower is stuffed with crème cheese, truffle mayo and finished off with a medallion of puff pastry. Flavours are delicately light in this dish, and I could hardly detect truffle.
Ordering mushroom soup amongst other soups is a no brainer for me. The Infusion of Cepes and Truffle was a great choice! The mushroom soup was perfumed with white winter truffle oil and black truffles. We found the robust flavors and truffle notes irresistible and slurped it down to the very last drop. Soul-warming!

Both of us had mushrooms, which are loaded with nutrients to help boats energy and repair cells, for our main courses. The Bai-Ling Steak on “Pu-Ye” Hot Stone arrived sputtering, with a train of smoke lingering in its trail. Aside from its gobsmacking presentation of the mushroom steak, tempura fan (angel hair pasta) and creamy mash, what took my breath away was how juicy and delectable the mushroom steak was. Even though the Bai Ling mushroom packed a punch when dipped into the accompanying mustard sauce, it was well-seasoned hence, delicious even on its own.

The dessert we tried, Warm Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream was in line with the high standards demonstrated by the savouries. The molten lava is smooth and intense!

Sip on Joie’s captivating concoction of beverages for a relaxing finale to the meal. Both the Ice Mallow Apple Melody (blend of mallow flowers, apple and guava juice) and Ice Fruity Refresher (blend of assorted fresh fruits) were equally delightful.

Joie by Dozo is exceptional in aesthetics, taste and execution. We’ve gotta hand it to the chefs and friendly staff for the one-of-a-kind dining experience.
 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bai-Ling Steak on “Pu-Ye” Hot Stone,Infusion of Cepes and Truffle
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 26, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pricy but yummy! Smile Nov 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Café

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/11/14/dazzling-cafe/
Dazzling Café is a popular café in Taiwan which opened its first outlet in Singapore earlier this year. Although the space isn’t large and tables are rather cramped together, it’s difficult not to be impressed by the pretty, whimsical décor of the place.
Service was polite and efficient. The waitresses are cute, all dressed up in milk maid uniforms. Adorable plastic tableware is provided for kids.
We tried 2 beverages Iced Pomelo Tea with Peach ($6) and Earl Grey French Blue ($8). The former was nice, the latter, very average.
The Scallops and Crab Meat Spaghetti Aglio Olio ($18.90) is pasta worth pining for. Al dente stand of spaghetti is tossed in olive oil, succulent crab meat and red capsicum, then adorned with plump scallops. The chopped fried garlic added even more depth and texture to the dish.
I’ve read a couple of positive reviews for the Pan-seared Duck Breast Spaghetti in Orange Mustard Sauce ($24.90), felt it was unique and hence wanted to try it. While orange marries well with duck, I can’t say that it goes well with pasta. The cream based sauce leaned more towards sweet rather than savory. I like my pastas savory.
Dazzling Café is well known for its visually stunning shibuya toasts and when they arrived on our table, I can’t help but snap away.
Recently launched in September, the Chocolate Lava Crispy Toast ($14.90) is a plate of sinful calories. It’s essentially fried toast with a chocolate lava core, topped with Haagen Daz Chocolate ice cream. It didn’t flow. At all. Other Lava crispy toast options include Cheese Lava Crispy Toast ($13.90) and Peanut Butter Lava Crispy Toast ($13.90)
A flavor exclusive to Singapore, the Mango and Coconut Gelato Honey Toast ($18.90) is a thick toast hollowed out and filled with toasted cubes. A scoop of coconut gelato with sexy drizzle of mango sauce complete it. After giving you a moment to take the mandatory pictures, the server will proceed to dissect the sweet treat. It’s a pity to destroy the presentation of the dessert, but that’s the only way to get to the cubes of your choice of soft, normal or crispy cubes of carbs.
Clocked in a blanket of cream and matcha sauce, the Matcha with Azuki Beans Honey Toast ($19.90) is another recommended item. The green tea ice cream was rich and packed with the bittersweet fragrance of matcha. I enjoyed it, but felt it could have been better with lesser cream (can be too rich for some people) and more Azuki beans.
The Strawberry Ice Cream Waffle ($14.90), served with whipped cream, fresh strawberry silvers strawberry ice cream, condensed milk, honey and strawberry sauce, was a letdown. The waffle texture was too dense.
Needless to say, when we left, our insulin levels were bouncing with delight.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Matcha Toast,Mango and Cocout Toast,Scallop and crab meat aglio olio
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable, quality Thai cuisine Smile Nov 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/11/12/southbank-authentic-thai/
Southbank Authentic Thai was previously located at Boat Quay for 18 years before moving to Joo Chiat recently. The owner has reduced prices to pass on rental savings to customers. The humble restaurant is decked out simply- green checked table cloths and orange plastic chairs for an easy-going charm.
What the restaurant lacked in aesthetics, was made up with the food. Flavors were unrestrained and on the spot. The Thai Chef is armed with 20 years of experience and insist on making all sauces and curries from scratch.
Beverages are a must to douse the fire from Thai food. The Ice Lemongrass ($3.50) was refreshing while the Thai Iced Tea ($3.50) was pretty good, sans any heavy bitterness.
Green Mango Salad ($8/$12/$16) was juicy, spicy and slightly spicy. The roasted peanuts added nutty flavor and crunch
Tom Yum Talay ($5)- the mandatory soup for any Thai Meal. Personally, I’d have enjoyed this better if the heat levels were more intense. For those who shy away spicy soups, Southbank Authentic Thai can whip up a non-spicy version for you.
Made in house, the Thai Prawn Cakes ($8 for 4 pcs) were perfectly fried. Its exterior is delicately crisps while the interior, bouncy with no lack of sweet succulence courtesy of the shrimps.
The Chicken Fried with Basil Leaves ($8/$12/$16) was packed with flavor, but it was more oily than usual.
Thai Green Curry ($8/$12/$16) was lovely but it was the swimmingly fresh fish which stood out. Submerge in an avalanche of garlic and jazzed up with lime, Southbank Authentic Thai’s signature dish, Steamed Seabass ($32), should not be missed.
In need of carbs? Choose from Baked Olive Rice ($8/$12/$16) or Fried Pineapple Rice ($8/$12/$16).
We had Honey Mango with Glutinous Rice ($7) to round up our scrumptious lunch. The highlight was undoubtedly the tropical fruit. Well-deserving of its name, the mangoes were seductively sweet and melt in the mouth beautifully.
Southbank Authentic Thai Restaurant provides lunch Box for office or home delivery at a steal, as well as set lunches for 2 at only $29++
To sum up, hubby and I were pretty impressed by the quality, execution and affordability of the food here.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | French | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Brunch

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/11/10/brunch-symmetry/
Café by day and restaurant at night, Symmetry’s offering are inspired by Australian casual dining culture and French cuisine. Brunch plates here exemplify timeless comfort.
The venue is very small and was so packed during the weekends, so much so that I was unable to take any nice pictures of the space. Generally, the vibes are good. Expect rustic, slightly uncoordinated decor, loud music, noisy chatter and energetic, efficient staff.
Dull in presentation but not in taste, the Crisps Baby Squid ($17) is one of the better ones I’ve tried in recent memory. Perfectly fried and well-seasoned, the crisp batter gave way to chewy baby squids. Dip it into the accompanying black pepper aioli for optimum enjoyment.
Symmetry is well-known for their truffle fries and I’m glad to say that they did not disappoint. The Potato Fries ($15) with truffle oil emulsion emanates an earthy aroma, and rewards the palate with a depth of flavors that made me want to chase every bite with another. The portion is generous, good for sharing between 3-4 diners but for 2 people it’s simply too much (hubby and I were struggling to finish them). Wished Symmetry made these fries available in small and large sizes.
Everything is better with an egg on it, unfortunately for us, the sous vide style eggs in The Flan ($24) failed to flow as they were overcooked. The combination of melt-in-the-mouth Berkshire pork cheek, mushroom ragout, low temperature eggs, soubise sauce, mashed potatoes, pommery mustard and argula makes for an atypical brunch treat, a welcomed change from predictable brunch dishes.
I was craving for something sweet and Symmetry Waffles ($16) caught my eye. Stacked aesthetically, the waffles are spruced up with summer berries compote, peanut butter, hazelnut, maple syrup, Chantilly cream and berries ice cream. The waffles themselves were good- the exterior brown and crisps while the insides remain moist and plush. Satisfaction guaranteed!
Although prices veer towards the higher end, the ingredient quality, creativity and execution is worth the price tag. IMHO, Symmetry is one of the better brunch destinations in Singapore.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Waffles,Squid
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

To die for dry-aged steaks Smile Oct 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/10/27/district-10-suntec-city/

Carnivores rejoice! The newly opened District 10 @ Suntec City will satisfy the even the most fussy taste buds, especially when it comes to charcoal-grilled steaks. The restaurant specializes in dry-aged meat, a process that results in exceptional depth in flavor (more on this later).
District 10 @ Suntec City has a spacious alfresco bar replete with cabanas for up to 60 guests and a cozy 30-seater indoor space for gourmet seekers. The restaurant comes complete with a European meat showcase for dry-aged meats, a bespoke butcher’s block for its cleaver-ready cuts and show kitchen for its charcoal-grilled cooking. It interior is chic and stylish, perfect for powwow lunches with business associates and intimate dinner dates.

These days, most beef is aged in a process known as wet-aging. Dry aging, on the other hand, is a slow traditional process of aging fine meats, whereby beef is exposed to air by dehydration. This further concentrates the meat’s flavor when the natural enzymes break down connective tissues in the muscles which soften and tenderize the meat. Through time, the dry-aging technique has developed into a meticulous temperature-controlled process and cross-continent chain managements. District 10 @ Suntec City has invested in an expensive fridge ($22,000 gasps) which controls humidity and temperate, to store premium dry-aged meats.

The dinner commenced with cocktails to ease us into the evening. We were captivated by Fruits of Angel ($18), a delightful concoction of Plantation Original Dark Rum, homemade papaya syrup, dash of lemon juice, jazzed up with thyme and cinnamon notes.

The complimentary warm Sun-dried Tomato Loaf was commendable too.

Puglia Burrata with Organic Italian Tomato-Rocket Lettuce ($24). The first of the 3 starters we sampled was a burrata appetizer which originates from the Italian region of Puglia. The fresh dreamy cheese possessed a thick, rich texture, with a delicate slightly salty, milky flavor. The Italian delicacy was served on a bed of rocket lettuce, and sparklingly fresh cherry tomatoes.

Vitello Tonnato($24)
Veal and tuna? Now this sounds queer! Much to my surprise, Chef Luca Pezzera (co-owner and executive chef), executed this beautifully. Instead of clashing with the thinly sliced roasted veal loin, the tuna sauce is light and allows one to enjoy the true natural flavor of the beef, but at the same time, adds an interesting dimension to the starter. And, I never knew that cherry tomatoes can be so delicious. I had to stop myself from reaching out for more so that my dining companions could have their share of the organic goodies.

Butter Lettuce Salad with Pancetta, Hazelnut, Gorgonzola and Egg ($20)
If you prefer greens as a prelude to a meat-centric meal, go for the fresh salad tossed with crunchy cherry tomatoes, Italian Blue Cheese, egg and hazelnuts, then crowned with tasty pancetta slices.

The highlight of District 10 @ Suntect City is their Charcoal-grilled dry-aged meats. We tried 2 types- 45 Days Dry Aged Corn Fed US Prime OP Rib ($18 per 100g) and 45 Days Home Dry Aged Corn Fed US Prime Traditional Fiorentina Steak ($22 per 100g). The steaks were prepped with salt, pepper, herbs and extra virgin olive oil, then skilfully grilled to achieve a crispy crust which crackles upon biting. Each piece of steak is laced with seductive smoky char.
OP rib is a cut at the rib cut, so it has a generous portion of fat, while the Fiorentina is a T-bone and boasts softer texture. Personally, I prefer my meat with less fat, so my vote goes to the latter. Savour the magnificent meats alone or with a sprinkle of Rosemary Salt. Sheer rhapsody!

If you’re not into steak but love grilled meats, other options include Paradise Valley Free Range Canadian Pork Chop ($34) and Australian Tomahawk Lamb Chop ($38).
To complement the gorgeous steaks, Truffle Fries ($12) and Creamy Truffle Mash ($14) graced our tables. It’s hard to go wrong with truffle!

Unfortunately, Chef Luca was overseas so we didn’t get to meet him. But we did get to meet the talented Pastry Chef, Mr Gerald Chua, who has honed his skills in Australia. Chef Gerard makes it difficult for one to opt for a single favorite dessert!
Profiteroles filled with Chestnut cream, served with Warm Chocolate Sauce ($12). These profiteroles are not only a visual treat, but also hit the sweet tooth in all the right places. Be enthralled by these choux pastries filled with alluring chestnut cream, drizzled with warm chocolate sauce, dressed up with lavender petals. Silver powder is sprinkled for that ethereal touch.

Bitter Chocolate-Marshmallow Fluff with Caramelized Banana ($14). This decadent treat is a mouth-watering symphony of light-as-air marshmallow, dark chocolate mousse atop a crumbly biscuit base. I like how the bitterness of the dark chocolate mousse balances out the sweetness of the marshmallows and caramelised bananas

Double Espresso Panna Cotta with Vanilla Sauce ($12).I’m usually not a fan of panna cotta as the ones I’ve tried so far are on the bland side, but this rendition blew me away. My taste buds went WHAM! The double espresso panna cotta is not only lusciously creamy, but also unabashedly intense. Honeycomb, caramel crunch and crème fraiche completes the striking dessert.
I was impressed with the food, desserts and service at District 10 @ Suntec City and highly recommend this establishment. You can feel a lot of attention is put into every item they offer. During the day, the restaurant serves set lunches that are excellent value. Do note that every District 10 outlets have different concepts and dry-aged meats can only be found at the Suntec City branch.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Puglia Burrata with Organic Italian Tomato-Rocket Lettuce,Vitello Tonnato,45 Days Home Dry Aged Corn Fed US Prime Traditional Fiorentina Steak,Profiteroles filled with Chestnut cream,served with Warm Chocolate Sauce,Double Espresso Panna Cotta with Vanilla Sauce
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0