OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1402 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 111 to 115 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Good afternoon tea meat dishes Smile Dec 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel | High Tea | Desserts and Cakes

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/30/afternoon-tea-buffet-at-10-scotts/

I have not dined in Grand Hyatt before and what attracted me here was a picture of a flowerpot in Her World Magazine.So what’s with this flowerpot? Well, its an ice cream dessert which is part of the afternoon tea spread, made with hazelnut ice cream, crushed biscuits (soil), raspberries(fruits) and edible flowers. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it? But upon arrival I was told that flowerpot have been replaced by “fried egg”. Arghs! More on the “fried egg” later….

Recently refurnished 10 Scotts oozes refinement, yet has a relaxing aura, thanks to their chic contemporary décor and warm lighting. Afternoon tea is from 12 noon to 5pm. The first seating is from 12 noon to 2.30pm, while second seating starts at 3pm and ends at 5pm. We picked the 1st seating because there is 30 minutes extra to feast and we can have this meal as our lunch, haha!
Prices are on the high side for such a small spread. $43++ for weekdays and $53++ for weekends; with unlimited tea, coffee hot/iced chocolate and juices. Top up $20 for free flow champagne.

The concept at 10 Scotts is semi-buffet with a local twist on some savory items. There is a buffet line of sweet and savories, tiny selection of breads, cold cuts and cheeses, plus a chiller filled with appetizers, salads and mini pots of ice cream. Sandwiches and some savories are served on a 2-tiered glass stand and these are refillable.

Although the quality of the food is good, the variety is much smaller compared to other hotels such as The Regent’s Tea Lounge and Ritz Carlton’s Chihuly Lounge. Both are very well known and popular for their high-quality afternoon tea buffets with large and interesting spreads. However, I will choose 10 Scotts over any other afternoon tea buffet if I am going to dine with hubby.

This is because 10 Scotts meat dishes beats every other afternoon tea buffet/semi-buffet I have tried so far (Shangri la’s Rose Veranda, St Regis Brasserie Les Saveurs, Regent’s Tea lounge, Fullerton Bay’s Landing Point and Ritz Carlton Chihuly Lounge). So ladies, if your man likes meat, its better to have your afternoon tea here so you won’t see a black face at the end of your tea session.

Service is slow. It took the wait staff ages to prepare the beverages and also refill food items. It was also difficult to get their attention, which was baffling, because not many tables occupied. Culinary staff manning the open concept kitchen were very cheerful, with genuine, infectious smiles.

A picture is worth a thousand words, so now, be prepared to be bombarded by food pics!

I’ll start with the canapes served 2-tiered glass stand, which are refillable. Cucumber sandwich, quiche and beef roll were very ordinary.

The tastier savories are…

Crab Cakes: Packed with succulent crab meat, fried till a prefect shade of golden brown and served with a delicious remoulade sauce.

Freshly prepared Poh Piah

Prawn and Quail Egg Salad

Spiral Curry Puffs with flaky, buttery crusts and addictive fresh curry leaves.

Moving onto the buffet section! Smoked Chicken, Apple and Walnut Salad was drenched in excessive amount of dressing which overwhelmed the natural flavor of the ingredients.

Seafood with vermicelli

Creamy Cauliflower Soup

Parma Ham with Rock Melon and Peking Duck

More Peking Duck, boring Sushi and uninspiring assorted breads. Oh, there is curry mutton as well, which is not pictured.

As you can see, the dessert section rather small…

The Dark Chocolate Tarts are divine! Tiramisu lacks the alcoholic punch….

Apple Crumble adorned with a slice of dried apple. Lovely presentation.

“Egg on Toast”, served in a frying pan, is so creative and definitely the highlight of this buffet! The “egg white” is vanilla ice cream while the “yolk” is made from mango passion puree. The “toast” is actually mango sponge cake, “tomato sauce” is raspberry sauce while chocolate chips make up the “pepper”.

Salted caramel ice cream, totally my thing!

Decadent Dark Chocolate ice cream was so good I had 2 servings.

The beverage menu has an extensive list of teas and coffees but what makes 10 Scotts different from other afternoon tea establishments is their free flow orange or pineapple juice. Oh, did I mention they are freshly squeezed?

Rooibos Vanilla tea made from vanilla originating from Madagascar

Classic white tea

We tried both the Iced chocolate and Hot chocolate but both were unremarkable.

Overall an enjoyable experience but with the amount of money spent, we expected more.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  dark chocolate tart,crab cakes,curry puffs
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/08/02/1872-clipper-tea-and-co-teas-and-tea-snacks/

MIL and I enjoyed a satisfying afternoon tea at The 1872 Clipper Tea Co. At this tea bar and boutique, customers can sample teas, purchase freshly brewed hot or iced drinks, and nibble on exquisite afternoon snacks.

The retail area displaying tea gifts and accessories.

Teas are showcased in a unique fashion-portholes! Patrons can sample and experience the flavors and freshness of teas here.

It’s time to sample the teas! Chilled teas are brewed using cold water for 30 minutes to draw out full aroma of the tea. Because cold water extracts fewer catechins and caffeine from tea leaves, the tea tastes sweet, smooth, and less bitter.

The teas we sampled were…

Blissful berries ($5, add $2 for strawberry sorbet): caffeine free mix of raspberries, strawberries, blackberries and blueberries.

Summer Passion fruit ($5, add $2 for mango sorbet): Refreshing blend of passion fruit and black tea. Love the tangy and fruity taste of the drink, which was not masked by the black tea.

Milky Wave: A twist on our local iced milk tea. Robust flavored beverage which can be served hot ($5) or cold ($5, add $2 for milk tea ice cream).

Healing Garden ($4): A soothing and relaxing infusion of ginger, lemongrass, liquorice and orange peel. This tea has a light herby taste, with a touch of citrus flavor and is good for sore throats. After drinking a cup of this, I can feel my body warming up, which is most likely caused by the ginger. My MIL and I agreed that we will be buying some of these to warm our bodies up when we vacation in Har er’bin later in the year.

I love passion fruit so it’s no surprised I chose Summer Passion fruit tea from 1872 Tropics range to enjoy with tea-inspired, handcrafted snacks.

Savour in a ship: a tasting platter of 3 tea snacks with a choice of hot drink ($12/set or $18 for 2 sets) Top up $1 to switch the hot drink to an iced beverage, or $2 for an iced drink with float .

Pastries are baked weekly to ensure freshness. Melt-in-your-mouth earl grey tea cookies ($5 for pack of 5) are soft, buttery and crumbly with a distinct earl grey aroma. Enjoy a spongy and moist alcohol fruit cake ($3.50/pc) with black tea, as alcohol goes well with the notes of black tea. Chew on crunchy chocolate coated almond flakes, nestled in a chocolate tea cup.

Mini choco cup comes in milk, white or dark chocolate and retails for $4/pc or $10 for 3 pieces.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Healing Garden
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A la carte Afternoon Tea OK Dec 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | High Tea | Dim Sum | Buffet

MIL and I visited L’Espresso after our haircuts at Georgina’s which is also located within Goodwood Park. It was about 5pm; we just wanted to have a snack to fill our tummies a little before dinner. MIL was also craving for the Goodwood Park’s legendary durian mousse cake.

Upon arrival, we were promptly lead to comfy leather seats in the middle of the long lobby. Alfresco seating is also available at the breezy poolside terrace.

My Hot Chocolate ($8) came in a pretty pot with lovely pastel flowers. The drink itself however, was the worst hot chocolate I had till date. Diluted and bland, it tasted more like Milo. It’s shocking how such a pristine hotel can serve something of this standard.

Fortunately for MIL, her beautifully presented Cafe Vienna ($9) was decent.

In addition to our drinks, we also ordered cakes from The Deli. Red Velvet Cake ($6.80) was another let-down because it was too dry.

Durian mousse ($11) was superb. This is pure pleasure to any durian fan. Every bite was is filled with thick durian pulp and velvety mousse. Three thumbs up!

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/26/cafe-lespresso-and-the-deli/#more-6666
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Durian mousse, Red Velvet Cake
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hits and misses OK Dec 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | French | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Brunch

For pictures and full review, pls visit
http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/22/symmetry/#more-6647

Bestie M was in town on Monday, and wanted to try Symmetry’s brunch which she has read so much about. I was tasked to make reservations and find out how to get there. Located at Jalan Kubor, Symmetry is quite easy to get to via public transport as its one bus-stop away from Bugis MRT station.

I received an automated phone call 1 hour prior to my reservation. Very organized indeed! On arrival, I realized why… the place is very small, seats are limited and it was packed, even though it was a weekday.

Café by day, restaurant bar at night, Symmetry’s offerings are inspired by both Australian casual dining culture and French cuisine. This indie joint has quirky décor as you can see from their Gothic Christmas display…

Inside, it’s cozy and relaxed, with quaint ornaments scattered around. Service was friendly, but the coffee didn’t arrive until the end of the meal because the staff forgot all about it.

Monday’s lunch menu is a simple one-pager, consisting of starters/snacks, mains and a dessert. We were glad there some egg dishes available as they were what we came for.

Beverage list is extensive though, consisting of several pages. M ordered a Latte ($5.50) which was good, but could have been better with more foam.

Piping hot Baby Squid with Black Pepper Aioli ($15) was irresistible. The crispy, light batter was well-seasoned, while the squid was springy. Do eat it while it’s hot because once it cools down, the batter loses it crispiness and becomes less appetizing. Squid ink was added to the black pepper aioli, which explains the color.

Truffle Parmesan Fries with White Truffle Oil Drizzle ($13). These fragrant shoestring fries are so tasty that you can eat them independently. Comes with mayonnaise if you like to enjoy your fries with dips.

Smoked Salmon Cabonara Spaghetti ($18) had a generous portion of homemade smoked salmon. A single poached egg completed the dish. Look at the egg, so round and silky, plus it was very wobbly before W decided to “burst” it. However, the smoked salmon was wayyyy too salty while the cabonara sauce was too bland. It could have been better if the flavors were balanced out a bit more evenly. Sadly, the pasta was overcooked which made us frown even more.

Fortunately, my Portobello and Cheese ($17) was enjoyable. A layer of cheese blankets a single poached egg, cushioned by a huge Portobello mushroom, followed by toast. Loved how the cheese and poached eggs complemented the aromatic, earthy Portobello mushrooms. Noticed I wrote eggS and mushroomS? Yes, you get 2 of these! It’s not very clear in my picture, but the other one is beneath the mesclun leaves.

M was disappointed with her Eggs and Bacon ($15) which the menu described as Truffle scrambled eggs, maple glazed bacon and toast. All of us struggled to detect truffle flavor in the eggs and sad to say it was non-existent. Bacon had excessive amounts of fat too sad

I was happy with the meal and wanted to stay for desserts. But M and W were so upset by their poorly executed mains, we adjourn to Lady M for desserts.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Portobello and Cheese
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Misleading Menu Cry Dec 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/21/lady-m/#more-6627

Lady M, a famous cake boutique from New York, has opened its first outlet outside of the States. Located in The Dining Edition in Marina Square, the 5th Lady M salon can seat 56 guests at one time. The spacious open-concept cake boutique has a minimalist design with simple clean lines. Tables are spaced far apart to give diners more privacy.

Lady M is the pioneer of Mille Crepe cakes. But are they the best? With fans like Iseey Miyake (Japanese designer) and Linda Evagelista (supermodel); W, M and I arrived with high expectations.

M wasn’t too pleased with the plain décor, but W and I were ok with it. We came for the cakes!!!

A variety of coffee, tea, juices and even CHAMPAGNE are available to accompany your sweets. These days, more and more places do not serve tap water, or charge for it. Thankfully Lady M is not one of them. On a weekday afternoon, it was rather quiet; service was polite and efficient.

The famed Mille Crepe ($7.50/slice) consists of 20 layers of handmade crepes, with fluffy, frothy cream sandwiched tightly in between, topped with a caramelized finish. Layers are so thin, they melt in the mouth. The fresh pastry cream is subtly sweet and light on the palate. Prior to this, I have tried 2 other Mille Crepe cakes- one from Coffee Stars by Dao (terrible, only had 7 layers) and the other from First Love Patisserie (Ion basement). First Love has roughly the same number of layers as Lady M’s cake, but the latter’s Mille Crepe possess a more refined taste because the pastry cream is lighter and tastes less milky.

Pillow-y green tea sponge, layered evenly with green tea mousse, with a bit of cream. Lady M’s rendition of Green Tea Mousse Cake ($8/slice) is rather sweet, in fact the sweetness overpowered the green tea flavor.

I was sorely disappointed with my Strawberry Mille Feuille ($8/slice). On the menu, it states “puff pastry, whipped cream with layers of vanilla sponge and strawberries”. Look, even in the menu’s picture, you can see the layer of vanilla sponge.

But this was served. There was no vanilla sponge at all. I loved sponge cake and I ordered this because I wanted to try Mille Feuille with sponge. Previously, I had Paul’s and TWG’s Mille feuille (one of my favorite desserts). Both had no sponge cake in it, so I wanted to try something different.

I thought that there was something wrong with my eyes so I proceeded eating in hopes of detecting the vanilla sponge. W and M tried to help, but to no avail. Out of curiosity, I asked the staff and was informed that I was the first person to discover this mistake in the menu. The supervisor said that they used to have sponge cake in it, but replaced it with strawberries instead to suit customer preferences. However, they didn’t update the menu or the tag in the display. On well, I really don’t know what to say….

The only thing good about this was the fresh strawberries. The thin layers of flaky puff pastry was overwhelmed by the sheer quantity of the plain, boring whipped cream.

To us, Lady M certainly didn’t live up to the hype. I probably will only come back for the Mille Crepe.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mille crepe
 
Spending per head: Approximately $9(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0