OpenRice Index
  
spherepiece
This is spherepiece living in Jurong West. I am a UndergraduateI like to hang out in Arab Street, Chinatown, City Hall. Vietnamese, Singaporean, Malaysian, Hong Kong/ Cantonese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Rare gems and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Pannacotta, Vietnamese Beef Pho.
Member 71 First(s)
No. of Review422 Review(s)
編輯推介數目25 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3971 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos2460 Photo(s)
Upload Videos5 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant239 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1017 Following
粉絲1293 Follower(s)
spherepiece  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 422 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

 
Enjoy mouthwatering beef cuts ready to be grilled into tantalizing bites at Nikunohi, one of the seven Japanese dining concepts of Eat at Seven. Nikunohi is extremely popular in Tokyo and has snaking queues everyday! While MaguroDonya specializes in the maguro sashimi, Nikunohi does yakiniku, the grilling of meats.. so that you can choose whichever depending on your mood! As these concepts are neighbours of one another, you can change your mind from maguro to beef even at the doorstep.

 
Hands courtesy of Mag.

For a simple initiation to beef and steak, Nikunohi has an infographic chart done up based on its imports from Kagoshima. Read this while waiting for the service staff to get ready for the feast!

 
Some Assorted Kimchi (SGD10) to start off the meal... I liked the sweet and spicy kimchi which really whet my appetite! Each of us take a liking to the different appetizer selections... It is a little expensive, in my opinion, for starters. I would most likely skip it altogether if I were going again.

 

 

 

 

 
Presenting three different choices of beef cuts, the premium rare plate of 150g (SGD48) features the tri-tip, rump and eye of knuckle for everyone to try. For their sauces, they have the chef-creations of BBQ sesame sauce, chilli sauce and salt and pepper with a dash of lemon. The grilled beef slices have an edgy meaty taste to it which would be drowned out by the sauces, so dip in moderation. If you have to, I'd recommend the BBQ sesame sauce which is my favourite among the three. I am not much of a beef/steak sort of person, and potentially it's just me - this premium rare plate is quite good but definitely not spectacular.

Nevertheless, their most premium selection of all is the Japanese Wagyu Sirloin (SGD42.50 for 100g) that really made me understand why people would love wagyu... 

For more of the review: http://www.amiehu.com/2015/08/eat-at-seven-nikunohi-day-of-meat.html

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Swoon-Worthy Smile Aug 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly


Swoon... just swoon. Hearts a-meltin' just like the maguro!

 
The most enthralling recent development in the F&B scene in Singapore has got to be the gradual launching of seven Japanese dining concepts called Eat at Seven. Eat at Seven is a thrillingly fresh concept by Global Retail Partners, a joint venture by ANA Trading, local veteran restaurateur Mr Andrew Tan from Tomo F&B Pte Ltd, and Komars Group. Japan's top airline, ANA, has managed to galvanize seven of the most popular food concepts in Japan to expand into Singapore. What does this mean?

1. Singaporeans can now enjoy much higher quality Japanese cuisine without flying to Japan.

2. Freshness guaranteed with ANA airline personally seeing to the most prompt delivery of ingredients.

3. The powerful collaboration means they can provide this quality at more affordable prices for consumers.

Hey, gather all your makan kakis who love sashimi (or Japanese cuisine at large) and head to Eat at Seven for a wonderful evening of feasting. Here is your slice of Japan, right here at Suntec City.

 
Suntec City has been slowly evolving into the most ultramodern mall in the city, shedding its vintage look with a series of overhauls. The Sky Garden is where Eat at Seven is located, housing seven of Japan's top food specialist concepts and restaurants. Hold your breaths and try not to scream in excitement - there is a sushi restaurant, warayaki izakaya, yakuniku, award-winning cafe concept and more. These seven restaurant concepts imported straight from a team of Japanese chefs, specialists and entrepreneurs have received critical praise and the hearts of the locals.

 

 

 

 

 

 
For the media launch of the MaguroDonya Miuramisakikou Sushi & Dining concept, a Japanese chef performed an entertaining and eye-opening cutting demonstration of a bluefin maguro from Nagasaki. This bluefin maguro is the freshest with absolutely the best resources from the powerful collaboration. From trawler to restaurant table, it took less than 24 hours!

The establishment has its own fleet of fishing trawlers and is able to curate the freshest maguro and sashimi from around the world and fly them directly to Singapore via air freight of the ANA airline. To ensure absolute freshness, they employ state-of the-art transport and freezing techniques. This ensures the freshest and highest-quality sashimi such as maguro, salmon, swordfish and yellowtail - that you can ever get in Singapore.

Eat at Seven promises a cutting demonstration of a bluefin maguro with every 1,000 likes on their Facebook page (read: here) as a celebration, so go ahead and 'like', then time your visit with their demonstration date. This is highly recommended for an especially memorable night.

 

 

 

 
Committed to keeping prices affordable for all to try this usually exclusive and expensive maguro cuts, they have created the Hon Maguro Megumi Trio lunch which includes the akami sashimi, chutoro steak and kama yakimono going at a steal of SGD$49 until the end of October 2015.

 

 
What can I say? I have been raving and thinking about this meal ever since I had it, and it's already been one and half weeks. I am smitten with the three different cuts of the Hon Maguro Sashimi (SGD38) and it's really more than just sashimi, it's an experience that completely changed my view on sashimi. The three cuts, namely the akami, chutoro and otoro, are immensely umami on different levels which tingles happily on my tongue. There is a marked increase of fattiness and its melty characteristic as we progressed from akami to chutoro and then to otoro. You can also opt for the five cuts version which gives you the cuts of kamatoro and mekajiki with the set of SGD49. There is the maguro sushi version which goes at SGD28/3pcs, essentially the same thing as the hon maguro sashimi cut sets except presented as sushi. Granted that the sushi is really beautifully and well-made, I would recommend that you go for the set which allows you to have absolute value-for-money as you try more maguro per dollar spent (sorry, trying not to bust your budget while enticing you to try everything). All of which is excellent so it really depends on you.

 
I am saving the absolute best for the last... 

Read more on http://www.amiehu.com/2015/08/eat-at-seven-magurodonya-miuramisakikou.html

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pick Me Up Cafe OK Jul 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Pasta


Pick me up before you go go.

 
The idea of going to East Coast Park is undergoing a metamorphosis... from cycling tandem bikes and kite-flying to eating waffles. Only maybe, I wouldn't know what the new generation does. East Coast Park has changed so much, especially this new wing called Parkland Green which has a row of hipster cafes and restaurants that opens till late. At Pick Me Up, we dined on waffles, big breakfasts at nine-p-m, yogurt gelato... because we were looking for some sugar rush... Something that really stood out was the fact that they serve only yogurt gelato in their gelato bar, alongside their other signatures.

 

 
Waffle time! Sweet or Savoury?

Whichever way you like your waffles, Pick Me Up has something. For Sweet, we had The Manuka: Buttermilk Waffles topped with homemade Greek Yogurt gelato (or your choice of yogurt gelato), organic honeycomb and a drizzle of Manuka honey. For Savoury, we had the Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict on Waffles which were dressed with a poached egg and heaps of bonito flakes. This combination was slightly weird but well... savoury waffles have yet to sit well with me because these waffles are supposed to feel more like desserts than anything else. So I would go with the yogurt gelato and waffles combination any day.

 

 
These, I say aye.

Not everyone likes Big Breakfasts because they are too conventional, too mainstream. Now would you put your hipster lenses aside? Pick Me Up's Big Brekkie is something that I would recommend for brunch at East Coast Park. Firstly, I like the proportion of all the components which I can imagine myself finishing it up with a satisfied stomach on a lazy Sunday. The sausage was springy, delicious and not too salty, and the wholegrain bread was also a good switch-up with the usual white fluffy bread. The quintessential garden mushrooms and cherry tomatoes were included... but the one thing missing was bacon... now where is my streaky bacon?! Their Pizzas are pretty good as well, the cheesy and fluffy.

 
The Real Sugar Rush

I love the plating for this Caramelized Banana French Toast, which was a real sugary treat with fifty shades of sweet. Caution: diabetes-inducing, but if you like it that way, oh yeah.

 

 
Yogurt-gelato-ing

Pick Me Up Cafe is very adventurous in their flavors, creating a lot of surprising results in their experimentation. A little more fine-tuning needed in the balances of quite a few flavors, but it could be the yogurt creating a natural sweet-and-sour undertone that makes it difficult to reconcile with other unique tastes like red bean, rum-and-raisin, and taro. In the end, I decided to go with Summer Berries - a staff's recommendation, which turned out to be pretty much seems to be the best of all indeed (I tried most of it and got my tastebuds really confused).
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Holqa Cafe Smile Jul 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café | Brunch


Tuesdays are special to them... and they'll make the SNS-Ji special to you.

 
It is an open secret that The East has lots of cafes - while Bedok has an enclave of them, Katong is another area that has so many of them, you'll need a couple of visits to conquer them all. So let's start with one of them: The Holqa Cafe. Entering this quaint little space, it is evident that the owners love photography, with a whole wall dedicated to vintage cameras and another, to lovely framed pictures.

 

 
Why do I say that Tuesdays are special to The Holqa Cafe?

I do mean that it is special to you as well. At Holqa, it's half-priced pastas every Tuesday, which means more moolahs for you to spend on more awesome dishes like their SNS-Ji! Their famous pasta involves an inventive Braised Asian Pulled Pork Pasta, an interesting fusion of the Italian pasta with the savoury, moist and tender pulled pork. The other pasta which I prefer is the Almost Carbonara is named as such because the owners have thoughtfully considered how carbonaras can become very thick and filling after a while, and have therefore tweaked the recipe to make it more 'soupy' rather than the usual rich creamy type.

 
What on earth is the SNS-Ji?

I was confused by the name for a while, before realizing it was a wordplay of SNSD (the Korean girl-pop group Girls' Generation) but refers to "sweet and spicy chicken fried chicken mid-joints". For non-Chinese friends, Ji means chicken in Chinese and rhymes with 'D'. Putting the name-issues aside, this has definitely got us sitting straight and savouring the Korean-inspired juicy chicken which were coated with this sticky sweet and fragrant herb sauce... highly recommended to order this to share! Psst. One isn't enough for each person...

 

 

 
More worthy mentions...

For a larger group dining together, you can get two side dishes (SNS-Ji as previously mentioned) as well as the Spiced Paprika Fries which were super addictive! Paprika is easily my favourite spice right now because it is very appetizing.

The Savory Cream Cheese French Toast & Crispy Bacon feels like something I would choose for breakfast or brunch rather than dinner... but I know that there are some owls for would love some all-day breakfasts like this! The brioche were coated with buttery and egg goodness, toasted and then the essential bacon. Of course.

The Braised Asian Pulled Pork with 3 Cheeses Sandwich was the table's favourite which was a sinfully delicious creation with braised pork howl topped with three different types of cheeses - gruyere, mozzarella, cheddar cheese. To ease your sense of guilt, you can munch on some fresh mesclun salad and pickled cherry tomatoes.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes


Looks familiar, what lies beyond that pretty facade?

 
I haven't had enough destiny credits to try out Aqua S in Sydney (reason to go again), but there is now a contender for this blue-and-pink(white) twisty soft serve cone on cotton candy clouds... right here on homeground in Singapore. Location: Bakery Chef at Bukit Merah.

 

 
The blue gives a jolt of sea salt and the pink (I see it as white, even in real life lighting, but pink is indeed more romantic), a swirl of faint gula melaka. A little more magic comes with caramel crunchy balls which are obviously more aesthetically exciting than for practical eating as they roll anticlimactically off the cone. This soft serve is on the creamy and rich side, but flavours weren't as intense as I would liked it to be. Still very Instagrammable. Note: Bakery Chef is more famous for their rainbow cakes.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0