4
2
0
等級4
167
0
2012-07-23 88 瀏覽
For pictures and full review, pls visit:http://madamechewy.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/chinois/My first time dining in a Chinese fine dining restaurant, super excited XD. Chinois, by celebrity chef Susur Lee, is part of the Tung Luk group. The décor is stylish, zen and elegant.We had:Chinois amuse bouche: Crispy fried mushroom dumpling with wasabi mayo sauce. Pan fried carrot cake with preserved meat. Steamed prawn siew mai with black truffle. Instead of the usual flour “skin”, it was replaced with
更多
For pictures and full review, pls visit:

http://madamechewy.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/chinois/

My first time dining in a Chinese fine dining restaurant, super excited XD. Chinois, by celebrity chef Susur Lee, is part of the Tung Luk group. The décor is stylish, zen and elegant.

We had:

Chinois amuse bouche: Crispy fried mushroom dumpling with wasabi mayo sauce. Pan fried carrot cake with preserved meat. Steamed prawn siew mai with black truffle. Instead of the usual flour “skin”, it was replaced with the truffle. I dislike Siew Mai to the MAX. Dad loves dim sum and I had to eat Siew Mai every week when I was younger. But Chinois Siew Mai was yummy, thanks to the truffle and fresh prawn.

Braised shark’s fin with freshly peeled crab meat in hot and sour soup. I usually don’t like hot and sour soup but this was fantastic and the flavors balanced very well, I was craving for more.

Braised deep sea fish fillet with sauteed eggplants served with spicy bean paste. The fish was fresh and cooked to perfection, firm enough to grip with chopsticks and yet so soft in the mouth. Eggplant and vegetables were impressive too.

Pan fried egg noodles with king prawn and white egg

I felt this dish was average,it was nice but lacked that special touch that which the first 3 courses and dessert had.

Chilled home made soya pudding with sesame. The pudding was soooooo soft and silky and the sesame sauce complemented the soya pudding perfectly.

Left Chinois feeling pleased and satisfied, both with the food and service.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-07-23 58 瀏覽
As luck would have it, we found ourselves at RWS once again and decided to drop by Chinois for some quiet time (and food!) on a Saturday afternoon. It was probably one of the few places that wasn't jam packed with visitors and we were (un)lucky to snag a window seat (do know that your back is clearly visible from the outside of the restaurant if you sit next to the window).Kurobuta Pork Rib with Vinaigrette - We started off with the customary roast pork dish and I must say that some pieces were
更多
As luck would have it, we found ourselves at RWS once again and decided to drop by Chinois for some quiet time (and food!) on a Saturday afternoon. It was probably one of the few places that wasn't jam packed with visitors and we were (un)lucky to snag a window seat (do know that your back is clearly visible from the outside of the restaurant if you sit next to the window).

Kurobuta Pork Rib with Vinaigrette - We started off with the customary roast pork dish and I must say that some pieces were a little too fatty for comfort this time round. I liked the crisp skin and moderate quantity of salt though.

Oven-baked “San Xian” Gyozas with White Wine Cream Cheese Sauce

- I'm no big fan of gyoza so naturally I didn't quite take to this dish, although I must admit that it was quite different from what I had expected. The gyoza was soft and dipped into a concoction of cheese and tomato sauce. And honestly, that was all I tasted. Not a bad combination I must say... with bread that is.

Tofu with Crab Meat - This was a simple yet delicious dish. The tofu was mildly savoury and silky, drenched in a not too starchy gravy that boasted copious amounts of shredded crab meat and roe. And then there are the obligatory stalks of vegetable of course.

Braised Boston Lobster with Homemade Noodles - At the time of my visit, Chinois had a promotion for this dish as well as a couple of their signature dishes going at only $18++ - apparently a "very good deal" as our waitress candidly put forth. And I took her word for it. The truth be told, the noodles were a little too sweet (from the black sauce) for my liking. That aside, I appreciated the springy texture of the noodles and the fresh (and generous!) serving of fresh lobster.

Ramen with Live Prawn and Minced Meat Sauce - This was essentially zha jiang mian but with the addition of prawns. The noodles were springy while the accompanying meat sauce had a tinge of spice in it, making for a rather appetising eat. And not to forget about the huge duo of fresh, crunchy prawns that straddled both ends of the noodle roll. Simple yet satisfying.

After a 50% discount, the bill for lunch came to a very manageable $65 for 2, inclusive of drinks. Food quality was decent and ambience, relatively good. Service, though good, could be a little less uptight though, seeing that RWS is a family destination after all? One question though. What's the point of a smart casual dress code when lots of people still turn up in shorts and flip flops?

See all my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2012/07/chinois-part-ii.html
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-06-18 17 瀏覽
Popped by Chinois by Susur Lee one Saturday afternoon for a quick dim sum fix since we had errands to run in the vicinity. Honestly, I've heard so much about Chinois while it was at Orchard Parade Hotel but never really got down to trying it. And now with the move to Resorts World Sentosa, Chinois has tied up with famed Canadian chef, Susur Lee, to up its offering a notch. What I find ironic (and hilarious) is that I've lived in Toronto for quite a few years but have never tried Susur lee's fame
更多
Popped by Chinois by Susur Lee one Saturday afternoon for a quick dim sum fix since we had errands to run in the vicinity. Honestly, I've heard so much about Chinois while it was at Orchard Parade Hotel but never really got down to trying it. And now with the move to Resorts World Sentosa, Chinois has tied up with famed Canadian chef, Susur Lee, to up its offering a notch. What I find ironic (and hilarious) is that I've lived in Toronto for quite a few years but have never tried Susur lee's famed restaurant, Lee. And yet, I'm doing so in Singapore. Duh!

Chinois is hidden in a scheduled corner of Hotel Michel, past the concierge and just after the washrooms. There, a life sized decal of Chef Susur Lee greets you from the huge glass panel that fronts the restaurant. Decked out mainly in black with a few window tables that allow you a view of the activities outside, Chinois exudes an understated elegance that is common place in quite a fair bit of modern Chinese restaurants nowadays.

Cheese Burger Spring Roll - I had heard so much about the Cheese Burger Spring Rolls and it was imperative that i tried it. Interestingly, the spring rolls tasted exactly like a normal cheeseburger that you would get in a fast food joint, albeit with a crisp exterior instead of fluffy buns. For a more "authentic" taste, don't forget the mustard! Be sure to share though as the oil does get to you after the second roll.

Duo BBQ Pork Bun - As the name suggests, you get 2 variants of BBQ pork bun - 1 steamed and 1 deep fried. I personally preferred the greasier version as the bun had a soft and almost smooth texture coupled with a nice crisp exterior. The BBQ pork didn't come across as cloyingly sweet as well. Ditto for the steamed version, which boasted a nice fluffy but marginally thicker bun.

Steamed Beancurd Skin Rolls with Crab Roe - Although I am not exactly a fan of steamed beancurd skin (I prefer the deep fried ones), this was honestly quite decent with a tinge of spiciness, presumably from the crab roe sauce. And the skin had bits of crispiness along the edges with fresh pieces of shrimp stuffed within.

Kurobuta Pork Rib with Vinaigrette - This is definitely not the best roasted pork I've had but it's still pretty good. Crackling crisp skin belying a nice fat to pork ratio. Only minor gripes I had were that the skin was a little too thick for my liking and the meat wasn't salty enough. Best eaten with the accompanying plum sauce.

Baby Abalone Siew Mai - The baby abalones didn't quite feature in the overall taste of the siew mai, which was a little too salty for my liking. Well at least the usage of fatty meat was kept to a minimal which helped keep the nausea at bay.

Homemade Beancurd with Monkey Head Mushrooms - As much as I love beancurd, I would be hard pressed to rate this dish anything more than slightly above average. Don't get me wrong. This dish isn't bad. In fact, it is technically very sound and checks most of the boxes. However the beancurd, though silky smooth, lacked the savoury taste that I personally use to differentiate between good and excellent. Also, it is the first time I've trying out monkey head mushrooms and honestly, I didn't quite take to the somewhat limp texture. So it all boils down to personal preference I guess.

Pan Fried Carrot Cakes with Preserved Meat - Now this was interesting. At first glance, each individual piece of carrot cake looked like a piece of roast pork sitting on it's head. However pop one into your mouth and be pleasantly surprised by its smooth texture and that of the crisp preserved meat which acted as a nice contrasting counterbalance.

The total bill (without discount) for 2 came up to about $89, which is by no means cheap but hey, it's at Resorts World Sentosa and food quality is decidedly above average overall. Throw in good service and a 50% discount and I'll definitely be dining at Chinois again.

See all my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2012/06/chinois.html
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-05-21 30 瀏覽
Located at Michael Hotel, Chinois by Susur Lee is serving the top class Chinese cuisine. Unlike most of the Chinese restaurant, Chinois has a very classy interior ambiance. Chilled charred scallops with sesame, yuzu and pamelo dressing ($18) is so gorgeous! The 'bowl' is made from ice cube, with some flowers and herbs frozen inside. The taste of the dish is refreshingly pleasant! Braised pork belly with chestnuts and Chinese wine served in claypot ($28) is a dish that goes really well with rice,
更多
Located at Michael Hotel, Chinois by Susur Lee is serving the top class Chinese cuisine. Unlike most of the Chinese restaurant, Chinois has a very classy interior ambiance.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Chilled charred scallops with sesame, yuzu and pamelo dressing
($18) is so gorgeous! The 'bowl' is made from ice cube, with some flowers and herbs frozen inside. The taste of the dish is refreshingly pleasant!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Braised pork belly with chestnuts and Chinese wine served in claypot ($28) is a dish that goes really well with rice, I reckon I can down two bowls of rice with just the gravy itself. The pork belly is so tender and well-seasoned. When the fat layer melts in your mouth, the aroma of the Chinese wine slowly bursts out.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Braised shredded abalone stuffed in crab claw topped with sea urchin sauce ($38) is another very impressive dish that one should try! I am not a big fans of sea urchin, yet I enjoy this dish so much! You could taste different flavours in one go, but all blend in so harmony together. It's probably my no.1 favourite dish of the meal (if I have to choose).
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As for desserts, Chilled aloe vera gelo with poached chrysanthemum-infused apple ($12) is very light and refreshing. Nothing too spectacular. Also, it's a shame that the 'nest' on top of the glass is not crispy. Mascarpone cheese with blueberry gelo topped with raspberry sorbet and poached snow pear ($15) on the other hand, has a stronger flavour. I love the crispy rice bubbles coated with chocolate too. It has so much in the glass, and they are all very good
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-05-20
人均消費
$70 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Braised pork belly
  • crab claw
等級3
2011-11-02 24 瀏覽
I like the decoration of this ,it look classy & cozy They have few set course which cost start from $80++ & all the potion is quite small for mesoya duck tongues with XO chilli sauce-They were perfectly stewed so they were soft but still had some texture, served with a home made XO sauce & dried chillies.marble goby fish -It had an intensely flavourful sauce, steamed tofu with preserved vegetable & garlic-It came with a fragrant soy sauce commonly served with steamed or fried fish, it was so s
更多
I like the decoration of this ,it look classy & cozy
They have few set course which cost start from $80++
& all the potion is quite small for me
soya duck tongues with XO chilli sauce-They were perfectly stewed so they were soft but still had some texture, served with a home made XO sauce & dried chillies.
marble goby fish -It had an intensely flavourful sauce,
steamed tofu with preserved vegetable & garlic-It came with a fragrant soy sauce commonly served with steamed or fried fish, it was so simple but the flavours were excellent.
oie gras with smoked duck breast -quite light,not very rich nor oily
Overall i rate 7/10
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2010-07-31 28 瀏覽
Besides ala carte, there are a few set menus available and we settled for the 8-course menu at $80++ per person (minimum 2).First up was Chinois’s version of amuse bouche: cucumbers wrapped with chilled sliced pork and minced garlic; chilled vegetable rolls with sesame peanut sauce; lobster and ham salad on a spring onion pancake; and egg-potato cake wth cheese. I like the last two a lot cuz of the great flavours and textures. And it doesn’t hurt that they are, well, so un-Chinese too, hah.I lov
更多
Besides ala carte, there are a few set menus available and we settled for the 8-course menu at $80++ per person (minimum 2).

First up was Chinois’s version of amuse bouche: cucumbers wrapped with chilled sliced pork and minced garlic; chilled vegetable rolls with sesame peanut sauce; lobster and ham salad on a spring onion pancake; and egg-potato cake wth cheese. I like the last two a lot cuz of the great flavours and textures. And it doesn’t hurt that they are, well, so un-Chinese too, hah.

I love soups, though I don’t drink them often enough. Unique to the local Chinese culture, the double-boiled Ginseng consommé was a big hit! Crystal-clear and so light. Plus, the large pieces of shark’s fin and bitter ginseng sealed the deal for me.

Another deftly prepared dish was the steamed spotted garoupa on a bed of bean curd knots. The preserved vegetables and X.O. sauce were not too salty and didn’t overwhelm the natural sweetness of the tender fish.

The next 4 dishes were so humdrum that I wonder why they are even on the menu in the first place. Oven-baked tiger prawns swathed in a too heavy Asian spices sauce; so very average crispy fried chicken cutlet with mango salad and sour plum sauce; pathetic portions of sauteed wild shell mushrooms with spinach and braised egg noodles with crab meat.

Fortunately, desserts pulled the score safely back to a draw of 4 hits and 4 misses. Though I don’t like Chinese cuisine, desserts are another matter entirely. I love mango sago pomelo, yam paste, black sesame paste, and anything pumpkin is sure to get a thumbs-up from me, like this chilled purple rice topped with pumpkin and pistachio nuts. The golden liquid is very bland but eaten together with the vanilla ice cream, the sweetness is just right. Refreshing!

For photos/reviews, feel free to drop by www.myfoodsirens.wordpress.com =)
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食