OpenRice Index
  
vnuss147
This is vnuss147 living in Dover. I am a Research Fellow, work in Buona Vista. I like to hang out in Holland, Dover, Clementi. Italian, Fusion are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Café.
Member 59 First(s)
No. of Review412 Review(s)
編輯推介數目38 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity4406 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3127 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲974 Follower(s)
vnuss147  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 412 Reviews in Singapore
Cozy little place Smile Aug 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Tiong Hoe Speciality Coffee is a hidden gem at Stirling Road, but it's no stranger to the neighbourhood as it's been around for 50 years now. The owner, Mr Tan, is insisted on the traditional method of roasting 100% pure coffee and providing quality coffee beans to households and food and beverage establishments. Only just few months ago they decided on exploring the cafe concept, while still maintaining the wholesales/retail business.

 
It's still not a fully deco cafe I must say, but you will definitely feeling cozy being in this tiny little place. It looks real and sincere. By just walking around, you will gain so much insight about the coffee processing.

 
Tiong Hoe Speciality Coffee carries coffee beans from different regions of the world. Different beans are well kept in the respective drawers and labeled with descriptions. Coffee lovers who are interested to know more about their cup of pleasure can have a good read. What's more, Barista Juliana is so friendly and generous to share with you her experience and love about coffee.

 
After the brief sharing about the coffee origins from different continents, Juliana went on to demonstrate the beans roasting process. What attracts me the most is this antique looking coffee roaster, which apparently working perfectly fine. The irresistible aroma of the roasted beans filled the whole cafe, very pleasant smell.

 

 
The highlight of the coffee appreciation session is to learn the arts and science of making coffee. Juliana is very enthused with her sharing of useful tips and simple technique of brewing the perfect cup. Don't worry if you have very little knowledge about coffee, ask her anything and she is more than willing to answer with big smiley. That really makes one feel extra relax in enjoying the cuppa.

 
It's a very informative session on coffee, from weighing the beans, grinding, to the skills of brewing coffee (the water temperature, the way of pouring water if using the V60 pour over system), smelling the aroma, and finally the tasting and identifying the variety hint of flavours (nutty, floral, spices etc).

 
v60

v60

 

 
Apart from the specialty coffee, Juliana is also good in brewing the expresso-based coffee. However, there is no sign board for price if you realized! You just tips after enjoying the coffee, whatever price you reckon it worths. Sounds cool hey!

 
I personally love the piccolo latte for the aroma, the silky froth and the full bodied flavour. And of course, not to forget the pretty latte art too! smile

 
I really enjoyed my time at Tiong Hoe Speciality Coffee immensely. Coffee drinking is simply about pleasure, the sincerity of Juliana in engaging the coffee lovers will make one feels warm. I would say, a visit to Tiong Hoe Speciality Coffee is worth your time!

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 17, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Awesome meal with gorgeous view! Smile Jun 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bars/Lounges | Seafood

Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro (QSFB) is located in Sentosa Cove, with the splendid waterfront view just in front of the door step. Slow stroll to the restaurant in such a grogeous sunset setting will definitely make you happy and improve your appetite I reckon.

 

 
The interior design is minimalist, with a big mirror hanging on the wall to create a spacious feeling. Love the wine rack for sure! That sets the dinner mood just right.

 
To kick start the meal, Rekorderlig Cider is a good choice. The light alcoholic drink with a hint of sweetness is very easy to drink.

 
You can choose to pair it with strawberry, lime or wildberries. Mine was the strawberries + blueberries, I purposely left the strawberries to the last, let it soaked up the Cider before eating them. Try it, you'll love it.

 
Salad of The Day is designed according to what's fresh on that particular day. Ours was the Scallops, Tiger Prawns, served with Yellow Frisee. The seafood is really fresh here, I particularly like the firm texture of the Tiger Prawns.

 
Another starter, we have the Tuna Tataki. One of my favourite dish of the night. The sliced tuna was seared very briefly over a hot flame, giving you a charred outer layer but maintaining the tenderness of fresh sashimi in the middle. Topped with avruga carviar, the tuna slices were resting on a bed of salad, consisting of pear crumble and wakame seaweed. You will have a sweet after taste from the yuzu and caramelized onion sauce, a pleasant feeling.

 
Main course was the QSFB's Signature Chilli Crab Linguine. The "very normal" looking dish was definitely a surprise! Topped with a deep-fried soft-shell crab, the linguine was cooked with chilli crab sauce and generous amount of fresh crab meat! You get both the sweetness and spiciness, very well-balanced. Thumbs up!

 
The Baked Barramundi was served with pumpkin puree, red wine poached pear and a dish of lobster butter sauce. The fish was very fresh, although not as tender as I was expected. However, the rich lobster butter sauce has won my heart. It's very flavourful, slightly more savoury than what you usually get from the loster bisque.

 
Main course was paired with a cocktail - Sex at Quayside. It's a mix of prosecco, peach schnapps, cranberry juice and orange juice, a relatively strong drink with a kick!

 
A scumptious meal won't be completed if it's without dessert hey! We had the Homemade Tiramisu. The well-balanced coffee and liquor taste was to my liking, it's moist, but how I wish it can be more creamy and rich bodied.

 
We had the Chocolate Dreams (vodka, kahlua, cocoa brown and milk) to go with the Tiramisu. Not overly strong, just the perfect closing for a wonderful meal.

 
QSFB is definitely a good place for chillax. Fresh and yummy seafood, very nice drinks, and gorgeous view! Cheers! smile

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Rekorderlig Cider,Rekorderlig Cider with Wildberries,Salad of The Day,Tuna Tataki,QSFB's Signature of Chilli Crab Linguine,Baked Barramundi,Sex at Quayside,Chocolate Dreams,Homemade Tiramisu
 
Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Nice chill out place Smile Mar 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

I first had costa coffee when I was in UK. Didn't like it in particular as I reckon their coffee is too diluted. Happened to come across costa coffee again in Singapore, and decided to give it another go. I'm glad that I did, because I'm totally in love with their cappuccino. Aromatic tasty, bold in taste, leaving a good palate behind. Their layers carrot cake is superb too. Very nutty and not overly sweet! Must try.
cappuccino and carrot cake

cappuccino and carrot cake

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 24, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Below average Cry Mar 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel

You can get a set meal at $22++, which consists of a salad, soup of the day, main course, desserts and a cup of tea/ coffee. Sounds like a big bargain seeing the amount of food that you'll be getting. However, the food quality is kind of below average, not to mention about the service.

For salad, the dressing is overwhelmed! Too much and too rich in taste. I can't taste the freshness of the greens. The deep-fried bread slice on top is just way too oily. 
salad

salad

 


Soup of the day is mushroom soup, made from soup powder, and served with a bread roll that's being microwaved. Too 'elastic' to be chewed off. Main course wise, seafood pasta tastes descent though the presentation could be slightly better. 
seafood pasta

seafood pasta

 


Chicken chop is Ok. Served with crispy hash brown, this is properly the best dish of the night. However, the side dish (salad with too much dressing) is a spoilt. 
chicken chop

chicken chop

 


Dessert is replaced by fruit plate. And served with the bitter tea/ coffee. Not pleased. 
fruits

fruits

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 26, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Vietnamese pho OK Dec 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese

NamNam Noodle Bar is a very crowded eatery. The tables are arranged very close to each other, and the waiting queue can be pretty long too. You need to order the food at the counter, pay first, then take a pair of chopsticks to your seat and wait for the food.

 
My recommendation is to have the Pho beef combination ($9.90), where you get to taste everything in one go. However, of all the ingredients, I reckon the beef balls taste the best.
pho beef combination

pho beef combination

 
Iced coffee with condensed milk ($2.50) tastes authentic too, thick and cooling.
iced coffee with condensed milk

iced coffee with condensed milk

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0