OpenRice Index
  
x2dino
This is x2dino living in Bukit Panjang. I am a Executive, work in Toa Payoh. French, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Buffet .
Member 16 First(s)
No. of Review192 Review(s)
編輯推介數目9 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity1374 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos557 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant80 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲118 Follower(s)
x2dino  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 192 Reviews in Singapore
Poor customer service Cry Dec 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads

We visited Pies & Coffee for their DBS 1-for-1 breakfast set promo and ordered a set of Hearty Brekkie and Smoked Salmon Stacked. Both breakfast sets come wither either a cup of orange juice or apple juice.

Hearty Brekkie

The set consisted of toasted Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, cheesy chicken sausage, and mesclun salad with homemade citrus dressing. My only gripe was that the Belgian waffles were a little cold and could have been crispier.

 

Smoked Salmon Stacked

Toasted bagel stacked with scrambled eggs, mashed potatoes with green peas, sautéed button mushrooms and two slices of smoked salmon, this breakfast set lacked punch as it was rather bland and light. I was expecting a little more smoked salmon slices but for the promotion, it was still acceptable.

 
Service was poor as staff were not very professional. They had some issue with my card initially and instead of checking their own system, insisted that my card was faulty. I ended up having to call the bank’s customer service to confirm that my card is in order before they checked their own system. Honestly, if not for the promotion, I would have simply left.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Breakfast)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cravings satisfied Smile Dec 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Roasted Meat

The husband was suddenly craving for Chakey’s Chicken and drove all the way down to the East just to satisfy his tastebuds (we live in the West, so you could image how much he was yearning to sink his teeth into the famous salt-baked chicken).
At $18.80 for a large chicken, I would say it was slightly above average pricing. However, for the taste and quality, it was all worthwhile. The chicken was extremely soft and tender. Paired with their signature sauce which was rich and aromatic, this dish definitely was addictive!

 

 
By the way, the shop does not have any dine-in facilities, so you could only do take-away and savour the marvelous treat at the comfort of your home.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chakey’s Chicken
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 17, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Overpriced :( Cry Dec 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean BBQ

We ordered their Samgya Tang Set ($60++) which I thought was overpriced.

The Samgya Tang was light though the ingredients were quite hearty. There was a lot of glutinous rice stuffed in chicken which absorbed the soup’s flavours. The chicken was also soft and tender.

 

The side dishes were pretty standard, but what truly disappointed us was that not all were refillable! For the price, I would expect more variety and refillable side dishes.

 

 

We would unlikely visit again as there are better and more authentic Korean restaurants around the vicinity, and most importantly, at a more pocket friendly price-tag.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Christmas Feast! Smile Dec 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bars/Lounges | Steaks and Grills | Fine Dining

We celebrated Christmas at Wooloomooloo as we thought their 4-course Christmas Set Lunch ($68++/pax) was a steal.

We were first served a huge loaf of warm, fluffy focaccia bread topped with cheese, onions and rosemary. It was one of the tastiest breads I’ve tried!

 
Crispy Duck Salad
Served with braised red cabbage, orange segments and candied walnuts, the duck confit was well prepared with its crispy skin and tender meat. It was not too salty or oily; making it light enough as an appetizer.

 
Lobster Bisque
Their lobster bisque was quite unique in taste as it was scented with Kaffir lime with a hint of chili (or perhaps curry spices?). The soup was smooth and mouth-watering and was complemented with a large chunk of lobster meat. I especially like their presentation in the iron-cast bowl which brought about a rustic country feel.

 
Traditional Christmas Turkey
Their turkey was flavourful and tender. The rosemary potatoes were surprisingly delicious too!

 

Grass Fed Warrnambool Australian Filet Mignon

The beef was a disappointment. The texture was tough and lacked the natural juices of the meat. What totally spoiled this dish was however, the mismatching side dish (peanut kale salad) which tasted somewhat like CNY’s yu sheng. Perhaps it was meant to be a fusion creation which somehow backfired.

 

Sticky Toffee Pudding

Served with Armagnac caramel sauce, the pudding was moist and not overwhelmingly sweet. The vanilla ice cream was light and complemented the dessert well.

 
Panna Cotta
The soft creamy panna cotta instantly melted in your mouth and burst into full flavours, thanks to the zesty sloe gin infused forest berries. This was definitely the star of the day and a perfect ending to our Christmas feast!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy Duck Salad,Lobster Bisque,Traditional Christmas Turkey,Panna Cotta
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2014 

Celebration:  聖誕節 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Catch at Oceans of Seafood Smile Dec 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | International | Seafood

One of the highlights at PasarBella, Oceans of Seafood serves up quality sashimi and seafood at reasonable prices (not exactly cheap, but for the quality, it was still worth it).

Bamboo Clams ($16++) & King Prawns ($15.10++)
We opted for the boiled version and it was a great choice! The natural sweetness of the seafood was perfectly retained, exactly how quality seafood should taste. The accompanying lemon butter sauce was a wonderful complement that enhanced the overall flavours of the seafood.

 
Grilled Rainbow Trout ($25++)
The rainbow trout was very fresh and grilled to perfection. The meat was moist and flavourful.

 
Bluefin Tuna ($13.30++)
A fresh plate of sashimi is always a welcoming sight. The texture was firm and succulent.

 
Grilled Seafood Nabe ($16++)
They were quite generous with their ingredients and portion. There were slices of fish, mussels, clams, sotong, and a giant prawn. The soup base was not too salty and exuded a natural sweetness. A hearty bowl of hot piping seafood nabe never fails to warm my heart.

 
Overall, Oceans of Seafood was a good catch!mad
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bamboo Clams & King Prawns,Grilled Seafood Nabe
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0