OpenRice Index
  
peace_in_u
This is peace_in_u living in Tanglin. I am a Admin Assistant, work in City Hall. I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Dhoby Ghaut, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café.
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity2839 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos923 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant113 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲200 Follower(s)
peace_in_u  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Fried Hokkien Noodles OK Feb 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel | Chicken Rice

Must we eat Yusheng on Lunar New Year.  Why not do something different. 

I tried the Fried Hokkien Noodles (富见me) reads this as Mandarin and translates it as Propersity Sees Me in the New Year.

This dish is served with thick vermicelli fried with Abalone clam, squid, pork, egg and bean sprouts.

What surprise me what the dish was served in white banana leaf.  This adds to the fried aroma and keep the food warm.  I was busy capturing the food picture for 10 minutes and yet the food can still keep warm.

The chef used fried lard and this add the smoothen texture of the gravy.  The ingredients used was generous.  I was happy to enjoy the king size prawn, 2 slices of abalone clam.

The noodles is also served with Chatterbox home-made chilli.  It is not spicy hot.  My preference is not to add chilli and the noodles is already tasty.  

This service was fast and waitress was attentive to my needs. 

This dish costs $27.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $27

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Buffet | Mookata

I had food tasting at Charcoal Thai@Nex. The restaurant has a good ambience.  The seating is usually long which can take 4 to share a pot.  The waiting time is about 5  minutes.

The first dish is the Thai Mookata BBQ Steambook Set ($39.95). As new customers, we asked what are the differences using the golden pot and silver pot.  The waitress advised that the golden method is cooked by electric method while the silver pot is the charcoal method.  Using charcoal method will give the food a better taste. 

In order to prepare for the BBQ, mwe melted the fat on top of the cover.  This serves as a layer of oil and will not get the meat from being burned.  We placed all the meat to be cooked.  Other items like prawns, vegetables, sauage, ham, fishball and stong etc are placed into the soap base with a choice of either tom yum or chicken soup.  Both soap bases are tasty.  I did not feel thirty after my meal.  The BBQ meat is tender.

 

 

 

 

 
We moved on to the second item ie thai Beauty Collagen Hotpot ($57.95).  The waitress put the solidified white jelly ie collagen into the pot and it will slowly melt.  We were told that collagen is made of several chicken which boiled for several hours and then freeze the soap.  It does not take very long to melt the collagen to be the soap base.  While were waiting, it was a good form of bonding relationship.  As the collagen melted, we poured all the ingredients like pork, chicken, vegetables, cherry tomatoes and get them cooked. 

 

 
My feedback of this dish is that there is real taste beside salty.  In order to enhance the taste, perhaps ginseng and add wolfberry to bring up the colour of the dish.  The texture of collagen is thick and stick if the soap is left to cool. 

As the theme of the dish is collagen, chef could consider food like fried pig skin, salmon fish skin, sea cucumber, chicken feet, fish belly. These are rich in collagen. 

I am disappointed with this dish.

The third dish is thai chicken Hotpot set ($19.95).  The Chef sahred with us little trade secret of preparing the sauce.  It lies in the fermentation process of the soya beans to cook this dish.  The taste is not salty but there is lack of unique aroma of the sauce.  If a little spice such as sesame oil or dry chilli, onion and garlic to fried the hotpot first and then add the sauce to cook before serving will make a great difference.  The taste is moderatelly spicy.
This dish is suitable to serve as a main dish and to be eaten with rice.

 
I had Lemon Grass Drink to go with the dishes.  I order the Lemon Grass Drink ($3.95).  It was served lukewarm.  The taste and aroma were perfect.  I enjoy the drink. 

 
Seating Station

Seating Station

 
The Waitress Working Station

The Waitress Working Station

 
Dining Table

Dining Table

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 18, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Berry Berry Nice Smile Dec 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | French | Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

I love the new cake created by Cat & the Fiddle.  It is the Berry Berry Nice.  It is topped with berries and filled with cheesy pistachio texture.  With the berry taste, it reduces the cheesy and will not fill full after eating.

it is a good combination to go with half of berry and half of cheese.

 
 
Delivery Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $39

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Tasting  Smile Jun 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

Thank you OpenRice for the Food Tasting event.
The group had a wonderful meal and sharing session.
The group was offered the first dish Big Breakfast at a promotion price of $12.  After the promotion period, the dish will price at $16.90.  Curious to know what is hidden in the big breakfast for healthy goer.  It comprises 2 scrabled eggs to fill your belly for the day.  Together sergved with chicken sauage and bean as the meat items.  Hidden in the middle of the dish is the sauteed mushrooms fried with black pepper to go with the carbohdyrate hash brown and toast.  A big breakfast needs to end with fresh fruits in sweet yoghurt.  Well, you are right that the yoghurt has apple cube marginated with yoghurt.  This is served in small cup.

Next excitment is the Portobello Burger ($12.90).  It is grilled portobello mushroom with onions and capsicum, tasty cheese, lettuce and sliced tomato on toasted brioche bun, served with fries.  I would recommend this for vegetarian.  If vegetarian diner is sick of bee hoon, what not give a try to this unique mushroom burger.  Please do not mistaken that it is the modified Buger King or KFC Mushroom Burger.  I would be surprised and pleased to see such a big mushroom sitting on the burger.  The taste is great and juicy. 

The 3rd dish is the Seafood Laksa Pasta ($16.90).  It is pan fried spaghetti with prawns and squid rings in special laksa sauce.  This is my favourite dish.  The laksa sauce is sufficient to moist the spahetti.  The prawns are of reasonable size.  I would suggest to take a little colour with berry tomatoes to brighten the dish.

The next dish is the Mixed Grilled Platter ($18.90).  It is grilled chicken and beef on skewers, black pepper chicken sausages served with fries and coleslaw.  I am disappointed with this dish as the meat was dried and not juicy.  There are too much sauage.  I would consider replace the extra sauage with maize

The finally long waiting dish is the Chocolate Waffle ($9.90).  It is cocoa flavoured waffle topped with chocolate ice cream, marshmallow and dark chocolate sauce.  The group learnt the ice cream is made in the restaurant.  The chocolate waffle is not too dry.  I wish the waffle could be a bit thicker. The price is reasonable and it can be on sharing.  The menu can be modified asking the customer for choice of ice cream cream or choice of fruit.

I thank you Open Rice for hosting the event and I could see the happy expression on every Openrice fan having enjoyed wonderful dinner at Orchard Area.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Seafood Laksa Pasta
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xiu Cai Mi Xian Smile Jan 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Noodles

I visited the Honguo restaurant for interesting meal.  This time I saw an interesting dish with 9 items.  It is the Xiu Cai Mi Xian comprising quail eggs, chiva, beancurd thread, dried shrimp, fried meat, spring onion, fish, dou miao and sze chuan vegetables comes in some plates and a hot bowl of delicious soup to be added to the hot soup with vermicelli. 

This created excitement to taste the soup.  Wah!  The soup was great, smoothing to the throat.  It is not spicy and the serving was more than sufficient for one person.  One thing for sure,  I did not feel thirsty. 

The staff was patient to teach me how to prepare for this meal such as adding all the ingredients into the hot soup. I enjoyed the meal.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0