OpenRice Index
  
peace_in_u
This is peace_in_u living in Tanglin. I am a Admin Assistant, work in City Hall. I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Dhoby Ghaut, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café.
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity2842 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos923 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant113 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲200 Follower(s)
peace_in_u  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
My Favourite Duck Noodles Smile Mar 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles | Rice

The Duck Stall at Redhill Market is my favourite hawker food. Whatever I pass this stall for meal, the food is always finished. Today I came exceptional early to beat the finishing line.

I was happy that I could get a bowl of duck dry noodle. It was not oily and the meat was substantially generous for a bowl of $2.50. The meat portion was greatly to be visible. There was no vegetable but the sauce used was sufficient to make the bowl of noodle moist. The meat was tender.

What I ask for extra soup, the owner was very happy that there was a secret admirer enjoying the soup. The soup was not made of herbal but it will not make my feel thirsty after drinking.

The ducks are sold out by 1 pm.
The Noodle and Soup

The Noodle and Soup

 
The Stall

The Stall

 
The Ducks

The Ducks

 
The Queue

The Queue

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Duck Noodle
 
Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointing Lunch Cry Mar 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Seafood

I had an executive lunch at a Chinese restaurant. It was a 6-course dinner. The restaurant setting was quiet as I had lunch at a private room.

The first course was the doubled boiled chicken soup in fresh ginseng. The soup was clear and refreshing. It had a strong smell of ginseng which made the soup very refreshing. The soup was boiled with breast chicken.

The second dish was the marinated salted chicken. I was rather disappointed to see chicken again as I just had a chicken soup and the second dish was chicken again!. Never mind, just hope that the chicken would be surprising. However, it turned out to be disappointment as it was worst that Hainanese chicken. The chicken portion offered to me was wing portion and I had no meat to enjoy.

The third course was vegetable. The portion had already allocated in individual serving. This time, it was Prawn with Pepper and Cashew Nuts. The prawn was shelfless. It suspected that the prawn was frozen and not fresh prawn.

The fried rice with diced seafood wrapped in Lotus leaf was the satisfying dish. The fried rice was wrapped with lotus leaf which made the rice smell strong and aromatic. The diced seafood had nothing to be seen by the time it was cooked. It was as good as dissolved with the fried rice.
The last course was the dessert, chilled aloe Vera Dessert Topped with Fresh Fruit. It was a colourful dessert with the cut mango and fresh fruit. The dessert was watery.

The waitress was very fast in serving.
Restaurant

Restaurant

 
Overall, I was not satisfying with the meal.
Dish 1 : Double Boiled chicken with gingseng

Dish 1 : Double Boiled chicken with gingseng

 
Marinated Salted Chicken

Marinated Salted Chicken

 
Prawn with Pepper and Cashew Nut

Prawn with Pepper and Cashew Nut

 
Dish 4 : Fried Rice with Seafood in Lotus Leaf

Dish 4 : Fried Rice with Seafood in Lotus Leaf

 
Alo Vera with Cut Fruits

Alo Vera with Cut Fruits

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lotus Rice
 
Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tea Reception Smile Mar 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Halal

I had refreshement and the host served us CJS refreshment. There were two main courses ie the Laksa Goreng and the vegetarian mee hoon. The Laksa Goreng was dry and used the laksa paste to fry. Ingredient to go with the Laksa Goreng are egg and prawn. The taste was great and spicy. The vegetarian mee hoon used the mock flour as char siew together with green vegetable. The two staple dishes tasted good and spicy.

The other side items were the golden lotus pau. The pau is round and rich with lotus paste. At one bite, the lotus paste flows out from the pau. The next side item to go with the staple items is the fish ball. The fish ball has gravy and it does not make dry. The sauce was tasty. The other hot item was the baked chicken pie. The pie was hot and the top crust of the pie raised up.

The other cold side is the Éclair. The Éclair was still chilling while serving.

I love the all the food as it was served as the right time with warm and right taste. The food was wonderful. I enjoyed and had many servings.
Eclair

Eclair

 
Table Setting

Table Setting

 
Laksa Goreng

Laksa Goreng

 
Vegetarian Bee Hoon

Vegetarian Bee Hoon

 
Golden Lotus Pau

Golden Lotus Pau

 
Fish Ball

Fish Ball

 
Baked Chicken Pie

Baked Chicken Pie

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baked Chicken pie,laksa goreng
 
Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Taiwan Special Titbits OK Mar 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

I bought a box of Sweet Musing. Inside the Sweet Musing, it comprises 4 boxes of Taiwan special teebits. It has the dried longan. The longan is soft and not sweet. The other box is a almond thin biscuits. The almond thin biscuit is coated with spread of syrup on top. There are about 4 pieces in the packet. The other packet is pineapple tart. Again, there are 4 packets. The pineapple tart is not soft. It is 7 cm x 2 cm. The pineapple filling is prepared with brown sugar. The other box is the soft nuggets. There are 6 soft nuggets with fresh and crispy almond.
Almond Biscuit

Almond Biscuit

 
My preferred choices are the almond biscuits, longan and the nuggets. The box costs $33.
Outside Packaging

Outside Packaging

 
Inside Packaging

Inside Packaging

 
Longan and Almond Biscuit

Longan and Almond Biscuit

 
Pineapple tart and Nuggets

Pineapple tart and Nuggets

 
Pineapple Tart

Pineapple Tart

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Almond Biscuit,Longan
 
Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $33(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting Food Mobile Van OK Mar 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese

I had food served by Hock Hoe Heng Restaurant. The meal was served in an open pavilion and the restaurant had its moveable van drove to the dinning area. It was rather interesting.

When the meal was really to serve, I thought it would be a course concept but rather wrong. It was like dinning in a house based setting. I had carrot and pork rib soup. When the soup was placed on the table, the strong aroma of carrot was excellent. There was no stain of oil. The soup was clear. I was given the option to have rice or porridge but I chose porridge to go with my meal. Woh! I had not eaten such teochew porridge for a long time. The grain was boiled to finest and the porridge water was sweet and not starchy.

The next dish was the fried bean curd. The bean curd was plain but yet it had done it well. Next I had fried dory fish. It did not like the dory fish as it was heavily covered with flour to dry. One unusual dish was the steamed minced pork. The restaurant used metallic plate to steam. This steamed pork has nothing to go with, just meat only. If only carrot had added to steam, then with the good colour combination, I would think that the minced pork meat would add a better taste.

Teochew like hong bak. The hong bak was good. It was not fatty. The fried cabbage with black fungus was the best grap. Everyone made a dip to the vegetable dish.
Though the meal was light yet I did not feel hungry. Most important, I did not feel thirsty.

I enjoyed the meal.
Dish 1 Carrot and Pork Rib soup

Dish 1 Carrot and Pork Rib soup

 
Dish 2 : Fried Egg Tofu

Dish 2 : Fried Egg Tofu

 
Dish 3 Steamed Minced Pork

Dish 3 Steamed Minced Pork

 
Dish 4 Fried Sweet and Sour Fish

Dish 4 Fried Sweet and Sour Fish

 
Dish 5 : Hong Bak

Dish 5 : Hong Bak

 
Dish 6: Cabbage and Black Fungus

Dish 6: Cabbage and Black Fungus

 
Porridge.jpg

Porridge.jpg

 
I enjoyed the meal.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carrot Soup with Pork Rid
 
Date of Visit: Feb 23, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0