OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 493 First(s)
No. of Review1741 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity12017 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11284 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant576 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1971 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 1741 Reviews in Singapore
Loo's Hainanese Curry Rice Smile Aug 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Coffeeshop | Curries | Rice

I'm always amaze by the length of the queue outside Loo's Hainanese Curry Rice whenever I pass by Seng Poh Road as it is real exagerrating with those hardcore fans of Loo's standing under the hot sun and even at the roadside.
The storefront of Loo's looks rather humble, just an ordinary looking stall tucked at one corner of an old school coffeeshop.
Storefront of Loo's Hainanese Curry Rice

Storefront of Loo's Hainanese Curry Rice

 
The sweet tantalizing sauce over the deep fried fish was as good as the zi char sweet and sour pork with capsicums, cucumbers and onions added, definitely lending a welcome sweetness to the meal.

 
One of the staples in Hainanese Curry Rice which I stumbled upon is its Hainanese Pork Chop. Instead of using bread crumbs, these pork loins were coated with cream crackers and deep fried. The pork chop crispiness was coated under the sweet savoury gravy with a perfect balance between its saltiness and sweetness of the meat. It was really enjoying. At a closer look, the layers of meat, fats and batter were distinctive which I conclude that the quality of the meat was good.

 
The Hainanese Chap Chai which we ordered was simply made with cabbages boiled till softness. Standing alone as a dish, it was nothing special.

 
Besides the pork chop, another dish that hit me right in my stomach was its curry Sotong / Squid. The squid was cooked to perfection whereby each bite was not too rubbery or raw, instead it was easily chewed and swallowed, really tender! Well, it kept us wonder how they were done. Not forgetting that the curry gravy given was generous and blended in well with a little spice.

 
For the masculine who needs more carb, the portion of their rice drenched with gravy may not be at your ideal serving. Do order additional bowls if needed.

 
After trying two famous Curry rice, I will conclude that both of them have their specialties and fans. Some of the dishes were sold out during my visit and this will be one reason added for me to patronise them again. Well, i really enjoyed such Hainanese fare and emphasize that it is definitely worth your while!
http://www.umakemehungry.com/2014/04/loos-hainanese-curry-rice.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tong Yi Congee Smile Mar 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Porridge/Congee

Hungry for porridge? Here's a recommendation for you at Pasir Panjang Tong Yi Congee but one thing is that you have to join in the queues during lunch hours. They have 15 kinds of porridge available and for those who love raw fish, its available, as well as Frog's porridge in claypot.
Tong Yi Congee

Tong Yi Congee

 
Every bowl of porridge was cooked to order and half a pair of fried fritters ("You Tian") is given to every order. Patrons will have the choice of having it as a whole or in smaller pieces. To add on, every pair of fritters were fried by themselves.
Helpers cutting up the You Tiao

Helpers cutting up the You Tiao

 
Enjoy every bowl of steaming hot congee over the lunch hours. If you have limited lunch hours, that will be a challenge taking the time for queuing and the temperature of the food into consideration.
Besides "You Tiao", seasonings like fried shallot oil and spring onion were added to bring in more fragrance to the meal.

 
I had a good stir into the congee and notice the amount of meat given. The liquid content had a good balance with the rice thus the congee in overall was not too watery nor was it too starchy.

 
For those who like minced meat, this is another recommendation for you. 3-5 pieces of minced meat balls were given in the bowl and what's more, they had went through they fryer before sinking themselves into the congee. Just look at those browish meat balls with the congee, simply slurpilcious!

 
Although the shop was manned by 2 ladies, they were considered quite fast and efficient during lunch hours. For those who are queuing, do remember to queue behind the yellow line in front of the stall to prevent knocking over the bowls of porridge while they were serving at the counter.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mixed Pork Porridge - $3.50,Meat Balls Porridge - $3.50,Ingredients in Mixed Pork Porridge
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Athithi Garden Smile Mar 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian

Everytime as we pass by this Corner of Bukit Batok, I will tell him that I will like to visit the restaurant and my guy is rather amazed by my expressions as I told him I am not very sure what kind of cuisine the shop is selling since the facade did not leave any clues for guessing, moreover, its quite a distance from the road (where we are in the car).
Athithi Garden - North & South Indian Cuisine

Athithi Garden - North & South Indian Cuisine

 
Athithi Garden is really a Gem, hidden in among the neighbourhood and probably get miss out from our sight due to its location. For those who are keen on North Indian Cuisine especially, I will highly recommend Athithi Garden as they had left a very good impression to me.
They are a 2 Storey Shophouse with 3 tables of outdoor seatings. I would recommend diners to have the upper level seatings as the lower level were just too stuffy and oven warm due to that the kitchen was just beside the seating place. Here's their stairways up!
Stairways up the 2nd Level

Stairways up the 2nd Level

 
Be pleased by such a classic looking environment ventilated with wall mounted fans and cassette air cons. The comfy cushioned chairs and sturdy semi wooden-glass tables were neat and tidy arranged across the upper dining area. Under the warm lantern lightings, it made the place cosy and one can actually free their mind upon settling in.
Level 2 Dining Environment

Level 2 Dining Environment

 
Each table were readily prepared with a glass jar filled with drinking and a set of cups.
Drinking water with glasses

Drinking water with glasses

 
A mixture of North & South Indian Cuisine from Athithi Garden, these two pages long of menu was said to provide too many but also not too little food to match up with one's appetite.
Page 1 of the Menu

Page 1 of the Menu

 
I dont have much knowledge about Indian food specially when it comes to their small dishes. I'm glad that the lady at the counter was rather friendly and helpful in explaining the dishes.
Page 2 of the Menu

Page 2 of the Menu

 
At the top level where beverages were all prepared. The place is suitable for chilling up with their alcholic beverages like "Tiger".
Beverages Preparation Counter

Beverages Preparation Counter

 
Crispy papadum was included in the meal as expected. The rice came in a pretty rice bowl shape with attractive colors. What's more it had a pleasant sense. Initially we thought that they could have given the wrong order as we had ordered Chicken Biryani and where's the chicken?
Delicious!

Delicious!

 
Hold your horses before asking them for an exchange. The big chunks of chicken were actually well tucked and cover up by these yellow thin and long ginger rice.
I must emphasis that upon having our first mouthful of Athithi Biryani, there was a sudden sparkle in our eyes. This must be the best biryani I ever had thus far in Singapore! The dish was infused with adequate spices and was indeed different from what I had.
Chicken was tender and easily shred off from its bone. Do dip them into the curry sauce given. At times , it might be a little spicy but one little trick - you can add some yoghurt in between for some cooling effects on your tongue. smile
Chicken found!

Chicken found!

 
Butter naan were freshly made and comes in big portion and have to be shared. Each serving come in a basket of 2 and divided up into 2 small pieces with dolly paper attached to its bottom. The melted butter had boost its fragrance on the plain crispy naans.
Love it!

Love it!

 
Perfect, Chettinad is a popular Non vegetables dishes among the North Indian ! Spicy and flavorful with freshly ground masala included. A definite matching for the naans. The taste was consistent and chicken were bite size.
Yum Yum!

Yum Yum!

 
Drinks came last perhaps they had forgotten our order. Lime juice were not too sweet and best of all, that was actually done manually, hand-squeezed.
Lime Juice was freshly squeezed by hand!

Lime Juice was freshly squeezed by hand!

 
Washing down all those yummy food with a cup of soothing mango Lassi to conclude my dinner. Chilled and refreshing drink after the spices, this Mango Flavoured Yoghurt drink is one of my Must Order Beverages in my North Indian Cuisine meal.
Slurps!

Slurps!

 
If you were to ask if I prefer Wala Prata or Athithi, I will not hesitate to choose the latter for a wonderful North Indian Fix. Now that you know for sure, I will be right back in Athithi for more!

http://www.umakemehungry.com/2014/03/athithi-garden-north-south-indian.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Biryani - $6.80
 
Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

De Burg Café  Smile Mar 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffeeshop | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

Ready for burgarasm?

De Burg is arguably said to serve the best burgers in the west in terms of quality and value. Located within a humble coffee-shop which is just walking distance from Alexandra Food Village. The environment has totally gave me a total change of my impression to a neighbourhood coffeeshop as all the stalls were selling westernized food and not the usual rice and noodles stalls that was all along in my mind. Even the usual kopi stall has been transformed into selling German Beers. Perhaps if you want a cup of kopi or tea, we have to divert our steps back into the hawker Centre.
Stall of De Burg Cafe in Coffeeshop

Stall of De Burg Cafe in Coffeeshop

 
Occupying 2 unit space in the coffeeshop, they are considerably one of the biggest stalls. Helpers were all dressed in black polo tee - their uniform. Service was friendly and efficient.

Ordered the 200g heavy Cheeseburger with onion rings and ranch beans for its sides. American serving of burger was big as expected with thick juicy yummy beef patty sandwiched in between and loaded with lettuce. Buns with sesame were spreaded with a thin later of magarine at its bottom.

Sides like onion rings were fried to golden crispy perfection and even for the beans, they were semi-sweet and perfect choice for the dish.
Mushroom Cheese 200G - $15.90

Mushroom Cheese 200G - $15.90

 
Overwhelmed by the availability in its menu, I had finally came to my decision after some struggles and I had chosen a safe choice which was De Burg's signature, with tatter tots and balsamic vinegar over salad.
De Burg's Signature - $18.50

De Burg's Signature - $18.50

 
Tatter Tots was actually mini crunch harsh browns. These bites were good with some sauces to go along.
Tatter Tots

Tatter Tots

 
Looking at the beautifully stacked up burgers were not only eye pleasing but irrestiable as well. Piled up with tomato slices, lettuce, enomous slice of fungi with cheese and bacon over the tender patty, presenting De Burg's signature. Just in case any of them slips off, a wooden stick was used and punched through it to ensure that everyone was in tact.
Nicely Stacked up Burger

Nicely Stacked up Burger

 
Here's even a better shot on its burger. Are you drooling now?
Close shot of the burger

Close shot of the burger

 
With the help of the sharp knife and fork given, I got a cross section view of the burger. I bet you cant hold any longer after looking at these glorious looking stuff ! Enough said, let's head down to have a bite! Have a great sensual pressure indulging them and pamper yourself after a long day of work.
Cross Section of the burger

Cross Section of the burger

 
http://www.umakemehungry.com/2014/03/de-burg-cafe.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mushroom Cheese 200G,De Burg's Signature
 
Date of Visit: Feb 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yeo Keng Nam Chicken Rice  Smile Jan 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chicken Rice

Thanks to my foodie colleague who actually took extra efforts after our working hours by fetching us to Yeo Keng Nam Chicken Rice.

Yeo Keng Nam (YKN) has been established since 1953 with its authentic serving of Hainanese Chicken Rice.

Sharing the same plot of land with the car workshops and some old school looking provision shop, Yeo Keng Nam Chicken Rice stands out among the rest especially with their signature dishes and festive decors hanging all over the shop front.

Even though, it looked pretty traditional but at a closer look, one would actually appreciate that YKN had won some awards over over the years. On top of that, there were pictures of overseas celebrities who actually patronized them.
Yeo Keng Nam Chicken Rice

Yeo Keng Nam Chicken Rice

 
A step into the restaurant somehow had unwind me from the bustling city life. The place was calm and laid-back with the those traditional fore ceilings brightly install with down lights.
Dining Place

Dining Place

 
A usual practice in the Chinese resturant, braised peanuts (appetizers) was served while waiting for order.
Appetiser - Braised Peanuts - $3

Appetiser - Braised Peanuts - $3

 
Barley Drinks - $1.70 per cup

Barley Drinks - $1.70 per cup

 
Let's help ourselves with the power chilli, dark sauce and blended ginger in the condiments tray while waiting for the fowl to be served.
Condiments

Condiments

 
Spot on! Expecting chicken stock in the bowl? No, it's more than what I can think of. It was actually a tasty serving of pig stomach soup, refillable with prompt service. Before dinner had arrived, my stomach was already filled with bowls of it.
Soup

Soup

 
The fluffy rice tasted exceptional, each grain is whole and coated with a light layer of oil and the texture was good. Can you imagine that my colleague can actually finish a bowl of rice alone without any sides? Be-warn, its lip-smackingly good!
Fragrant Rice - $0.90 per bowl

Fragrant Rice - $0.90 per bowl

 
Engulfed by the fragrance of dried shrimps use in this delightful baby french beans. What a wise choice! Though exterior looked abit dry but the crunch and taste was up to the mark, a very good dish to pair with the white rice.
Crispy Baby French Beans - $8

Crispy Baby French Beans - $8

 
Here's come the starring dish that we had been waiting for! Half a poached chicken!
Half Steamed Chicken - $15

Half Steamed Chicken - $15

 
Beside looking at the sensational texture of this glistening poached chicken, enjoy the plump and juicy flesh as you sink your teeth into them.Not only that, this sexy & voluptuous serving would definitely incite more helpings even if your stomach is about to fill.
Yum Yum!

Yum Yum!

 
Having tried preparing Hainanese Pork Chop from home, I would say that theirs was very well done. The meat was tenderized and well seasoned with a light layer of batter that comes with crispiness which gave me the hint that they had adopted the use of crushed crackers pressed again the pork loin then fried it. It seemed that the slab of meat was pounded with mallet by loosening the meat fibers so as to achieve such tenderized standard.
Hainanese Pork Chop - $11

Hainanese Pork Chop - $11

 
The use of sauce was proportionate, not overpowering with taste and crispiness of pork chop maintained at the acceptable manner. Perhaps the only lacking portion was the green peas which looked abit dry and fade in colors.
Hainanese Pork Chop

Hainanese Pork Chop

 
Hainanese Chicken Rice is one of Singapore staples food which tourist would come hunting for. Where competitions were strong among the players, Yeo Keng Nam chicken rice is definitely one of the top 5 I had in my list now serving authentic Hainanese chicken rice and not forgetting its scrumptious plate of Hainanese Pork Chop.

Another highlight was that, customers are spared from the additional charges as no GST and service charge will be incurred. To add on, one can actually skip the wet towels and appetizers to save more cost.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Haianese Pork Chop,Crispy Baby French Beans,chicken Rice
 
Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0