OpenRice Index
  
Blacktulip
This is Blacktulip living in Tampines. I am a HR Generalist, work in Tanjong Pagar. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Bedok, Tampines. Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food Court, Hotel, Restaurant and Seafood, Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 32 First(s)
No. of Review155 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity2689 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos502 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲2 Follower(s)
Blacktulip  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 155 Reviews in Singapore
Chicken Rice Fast Food Smile Nov 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chicken Rice

I love bringing overseas friends to this chicken rice eatery. I call this the chicken rice fast food because the moment you sit down, the staff will come to you immediately and ask if you want black or white. Moments after ordering, the rice and soup arrives and closely followed by the chicken. The entire wait today didn't go beyond 5 mins!
Roast and white chicken

Roast and white chicken

 
As I love roast chicken and my friend wanted to try the white one, we ordered both. Unlike some chicken rice I have tasted, the sauce is not overly salty! Chicken meat is also very tender.
Vegetable

Vegetable

 
There is only one type of vegetables available in this shop. So you don't need to fret about what kind of vege to order. I find this dish rather fresh and I like the crunchiness of the greens!
Feasting

Feasting

 
Our entire feast inclusive of one soft drink cost $13.20. Do note that ice is not provided for drinks. Do remember to try their chili sauce when you are there.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A very crabby meal Smile Oct 11, 2011   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood

After the dinner on 2 Oct, we decided to go back again with another group the next day to try other dishes this little eatery has. This time, there's 7 of us.
Crab bee hoon

Crab bee hoon

 
We thought it'll be good to have at least a staple food, so we ordered the crab hee hoon again. And YET again, we didn't request for rice just so we could have the capacity to order more variety of their yummy dishes. The bee hoon is still good considering that fact that this is the second day in a row I am having the same dish. The vegetable is still sparingly added and not overcooked. Of course, the star of this dish is the crab which, I have to stress, is very fresh.
Salted egg yolk crab

Salted egg yolk crab

 
We were really spoilt for choices with so many ways they cook the crabs. As salted egg yolk cooked with anything is almost always nice, we decided to order the salted egg yolk crab. True enough, it is nice. The salted egg yolk doesn't overpower the taste of the crab and yet, you could taste the fragrance of the yolk.
Chili crab

Chili crab

 
The gravy is a little too watery for my taste and I felt that it's not spicy enough to be considered chili crab. On top of that, they do not sell those little brown buns. So if we want a dip, we would have to supply our own buns or bread. Taste is ok.
Black pepper crab

Black pepper crab

 
This is the star of the meal....at least to me. I love the peppery taste and the spiciness that comes with it. I swear that I can finish this entire dish (2 crabs) on my own. Maybe even more than 1 serving. The sauce seeps right into the meat making it a heavenly dish. MUST TRY!!
Crab meal

Crab meal

 
Our feast for the night. This is perhaps the time to forget about the calories.
Crab roe

Crab roe

 
Look at the roe.....I think I had 3 of those shells.

7 of us spent a total of $120 which comes up to $17 per person. Very worth it!
 
Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Good value Zi Char Smile Oct 04, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood

Fried crab with bee hoon

Fried crab with bee hoon

 
Fresh crab with good value. Best part of the crab is always the roe and there's a whole of them. 2 crabs with bee hoon and generous portion of cai xin cost only $32.
Tofu on hotplate

Tofu on hotplate

 
Interesting dish. There's mushroom, cuttlefish and prawns added to the toufu. I like the smoothness of the toufu and how it glides down my throat when I swallow.
Kar Pin's Special Pork Ribs

Kar Pin's Special Pork Ribs

 
The sauce is good. I'm not a big fan of pork ribs cooked in Chinese style but this one is a must have! The meat simply melts in your mouth and it's really juicy.
Salted Fish Kailan

Salted Fish Kailan

 
Abit salty for my taste but hey, what is SALTED fish stir fried without the salty taste? Would taste better if goes with rice because the blend taste in the rice could balance the saltiness. The kailan is pretty fresh and crunchy.

The entire meal cost $69 for 4 pax. Each comes up to about $17.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

All for the spicy buffalo wings Smile Sep 17, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | BBQ | Kids-Friendly

Interior

Interior

 
Interesting interior with red indian artifacts all over the compound. What is more amazing is that although is nestled in the midst of some private estates and not really near to public transport, it is still able to draw a good amount of crowd.
onion rings

onion rings

 
For starters, we ordered the onion rings. The presentation is very interesting. Normally, when you have onion rings, the dish will be served on a plate. But this one is served on what looks like a kitchen towel holder. Love the onion rings because it is not too oily and you can still taste the entire piece of onion underneath the flour coating. S$11.80.
Level 3 spicy wings

Level 3 spicy wings

 
We decided to go for Level 3 after our not-so-fantastic experience in Sunset. The service crew, a Burmese guy, told us that he has not tried level 3 because he could only take level 2. After trying level 3, we realise what he meant. The spiciness numbs the mouth and burns from within the walls of our stomach. We didn't manage to finish the wings. $28.80 (1 dozen)
Escargot

Escargot

 
I'm not an Escargot fan but because my friends love it, I went with the flow. Tried 2 and still have not acquired the taste. Maybe I haven't tasted the best. $26.80 (1 dozen)
pork loin chop

pork loin chop

 
For main course, I had pork loin chop. I was given 2 choices to choose from. Either apple sauce or mushroom sauce. I selected mushroom and it was good. The pork was juicy and thick. One of the better ones I tried. The portion is just right for one. $24.80
 
Date of Visit: Sep 15, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mystery in the food Smile Sep 08, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Interior

Interior

 
My friend suggested we try this cafe out because he drove pass and saw it once. And so we did. I must commend on the service staff, they are really friendly and took the effort to recommend dishes, teach us how to cook when our orders arrive and had a time or two to joke to us. Would want to try out one of their mystery games on day though. You won't know what games they will be playing until you arrive. How cool is that! The atmosphere was good and I truly enjoy my dining experience. Will definitely go back again.
Grilled sotong

Grilled sotong

 
Ordered the grilled squid simply because I love seafood. It came on a piping hot stone (hot stone meals is their signature dish). The service staff reminded us every single time he serves up a meal that the stone is very hot. DO NOT TOUCH! Well, I can see that.....my squid was cook in seconds! The raw squid came marinated and the crew told us that it's easier to cook if we cut it up. And I did.
Cooked sotong

Cooked sotong

 
The cooked squid looks yummy and taste yummy too.
Drumlets

Drumlets

 
For side dish, we ordered the drumplets. Love the taste too!
Ice cream

Ice cream

 
Ended the meal with free flow of ice cream. We were given an empty ice cream bowl and were given a good variety of ice cream to choose from. The free ice cream came with my set of hot stone meal.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0