OpenRice Index
  
Blacktulip
This is Blacktulip living in Tampines. I am a HR Generalist, work in Tanjong Pagar. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Bedok, Tampines. Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food Court, Hotel, Restaurant and Seafood, Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 32 First(s)
No. of Review155 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity2689 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos502 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲2 Follower(s)
Blacktulip  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 155 Reviews in Singapore
Authentic Ipoh Chee Cheong Fun Smile Jun 13, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Dim Sum

 
Saw a friend recommending this kiosk on facebook and decided to head down to Carrefour to try it out. There's 2 different sauces to choose from: savoury brown sauce and curry sauce. I ordered the Chee Cheong Fun with brown sauce. After sharing that I'm a reviewer of Openrice, the kiosk owner gave me a small portion of their Chee Cheong Fun with curry sauce to try. Didn't quite like it coz I like the brown sauce better. Then again, different people has different taste smile

Opened in 1 March 2012, Fan Play aims to bring the authentic Ipoh street cuisine to Singapore with a tinge of local taste. No, you will not get your normal hawker centre kind of black sweet sauce. Instead, this brown sauce isn't that sweet so it's very easy on the throat!
Authentic Ipoh style Chee Cheong Fun

Authentic Ipoh style Chee Cheong Fun

 
I order Set A with add-ons. Instead of having 3 add-ons, I got 4!! All for the price of $3.90!! The add-ons were actually cooked before adding into your orders so it comes out crispy and hot! It was basically a brilliant idea adding additional pieces of meat into the Chee Cheong Fun because I reckon that Chee Cheong Fun alone will not be filling enough. It is really good value for money! You got to try it!!

 
I cleaned up the entire plate!
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Back to the stone Smile Jun 09, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Restaurant

After a short break from this fine diner, I am back to try more of their dishes. This time, it was through a friend's suggestion. One fine day, we will definitely conquer the entire menu!!

 
First on the list is, of course, their yummy Rosemary and parmesan garlic charcoal bread. There's no better way to start the meal than a warm, sweet smelling bread with their soft butter.

 
The next item that was served to us was the Irish oyster with tsukiji seaweed. The presentation alone was impressive. The sweetened taste of the oyster is something different from the tobasco sauce and lemon juice taste I normally have.

 
For starters, I ordered the Jamon Iberico with black mission figs, reblochon, passionfruit quenelle and rockmelon gel. This is a must have! It was quite a good idea to include the passionfruit quenelle as palette cleanser because the taste from the meat was quite strong.

 
My friend had the Snake river farms pork belly with kakuni, blood orange & chili jus, yukon chip and karashi paint. I must say that the presence of the yukon chip was quite fascinating. If not for the fact that this wasn't the dish I ordered, I would have finish the chips for my partner. The meat was soft and it simply melts in your mouth! I would love to order this dish the next time I come.

 
For main course, I had the Green eggs & pulled pork with agria espuma, atsina baby cress and tsujiki seaweek soil. I know I had this the previous time I was there but hey, if the dish is good, I wouldn't mind stuffing it into my stomach again! And it is still good. The softness of the pork aids in the speed I put the meat into my mouth. If I have the stomach for 2 main course, I certainly wouldn't hesitate to do that.

 
My friend ordered the Blackmore wagyu slider with grilled mantou, aged English cheddar, vine-ripened tomato and mustard rémoulade. Didn't get to taste it but I like the east meets west presentation. I never thought that anyone could have mix the chinese mantou into a french cuisine!

 
To end the meal, I had Silken curd with mikan mandarin, compressed thompson grapes and vanilla bean. The curd is smooth and slides down your throat easily. The fascinating part was the dehydrated mandarin. It was almost like sugar but with a tinge of tangy taste. The curd alone was abit blend but with the sweetness of the mandarin and grapes, the overall taste was almost perfect!

 
My friend has the 360 Brulee texture with caramel custard foam, salted maple and valrhona equatoriale. This is still my favorite dessert not only because the brulee was presented in an egg shell, but because I am still impressed with the way the entire brulee was inverted and stuffed into a shell! Since it's inverted, the best way to eat it is to plunge your spoon all the way inside the egg (touching the bottom) and make up way up!

I still feel that the food and service is worth every cent. Not because they remembered what I ordered before but their personal service and the ambiance made my friend and I really comfortable. On the whole, it was another excellent dining experience!
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cheap and good sushi Smile May 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

One of the cheapest sushi train in town. Whether it's sashimi or mere sushi, everything goes at $1.50 per plate and it comes with free flow of green tea. Nope, you do not order the green tea, you make it yourself. The tea bags and hot water tap in where you are sitting.

 
The miso soup contains lots of ingredients. There's seaweed, toufu and salmon (lots of salmon slices). The soup is yummy too. If not for the fact that I wanted to try different kinds of sushi (not forgetting that I have an extremely tiny appetite), I have to choose to stop at one bowl.

 
Many doesn't know what this is. For those who don't, this is actually the rim of the scallop. I like how chewy the meat is.

 
The jelly fish is nice. Not too spicy nor too sweet. But just right.

 
Salmon sashimi with 3 thick slices. I hope they could slice slightly thinner abit. But it's only $1.50 the thicker it is, the better it might be to some. I still like my salmon about 0.3cm in thickness.

 
For some reason, the salmon on the salmon sushi didn't taste as nice as the sushi. It didn't quite bring out the flavor.

 
Took the mango pudding as dessert. This one has nata de coco in it. Not bad...taste exactly like those instant ones I get from cold storage.
 
Date of Visit: May 03, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $11.50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sabotening! Smile May 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

With a history helm all the way from 1966, Saboten is one of Japan's largest Tonkatsu restaurant chain. The name "Saboten" means "Cactus" which is admired for it's ability to survive without water for at least 6 months. With the finest chefs and freshest ingredients, guests around the world get to enjoy quality and authentic Japanese food.

 
The cabbage was the first to be served. I heard that the cabbages were stored in the freezer and were sliced while still frozen. This is probably why the sweetness and freshness of the cabbages were retained. Since it's free flow, we did not hesitate to ask for top ups. It tasted really good. Tried the sesame sauce but didn't quite like it. I still like the yuzu vinegar sauce better.

 
Each of us are given a small bowl of sesame seeds where we are suppose to grind down. I remembered that I used to do that in another Japanese restaurant that sells ramen. This is definitely the first time I had to grind my own sesame for rice. Quite interesting though.

 
I ordered the tenderloin katsu set. The breaded pork tenderloin cutlet is crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Tasted great even after leaving in the open for a while. ($22)

 
The green tea ice cream comes with the set. It has strong green tea taste and very smooth.

 
The entire set consists of sesame seed, rice, pork cutlet, pickled radish, refillable cabbage, refillable miso soup, refillable green tea (hot or cold) and one scoop of green tea ice cream.

Great service and would definitely visit again!!
 
Date of Visit: May 05, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mango beer Smile May 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean

It was after our dinner and we decided to go somewhere to chill. Actually, somewhere where we can watch soccer. A friend suggested Nabins. The interior was most interesting. It has an Arabic flavor the moment you step into the reception area. The entire place makes it seems like you are in some Arabic country.

 
Being a lover of fruit beer, I decided to order the mango beer. The mango flavor is very strong so much as that it covered the beer taste that would otherwise be there. I hardly taste anything that resembles that of a beer. The sweetness is interesting! ($9.90)
 
Spending per head: Approximately $9.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0