OpenRice Index
  
Alamakgirl
This is Alamakgirl living in North. I am a Engineer, work in Buona Vista. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, North. French, Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Dim Sum, Chinese Soup, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 369 First(s)
No. of Review1521 Review(s)
編輯推介數目35 Editor's Choice
Recommended25 Recommended
Popularity22041 View(s)
Replies in Forum3 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11486 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow247 Following
粉絲1474 Follower(s)
Alamakgirl  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 1521 Reviews in Singapore
Brunch OK Oct 23, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Chinese Noodles

There was both indoor air con and outdoor alfresco dining by the river. As the weather was extremely hot, most preferred the cool indoor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
The menu was in a newsletter style and quite worn out. Although there was a queue, it moved quite fast. There was free wifi with password written at the cashier counter which I did not notice until I make payment.

 

Kagoshima-Style Braised Pork Cartilage in Fish Soup with Mixian 鹿兒島豬軟骨米線 (S$8.50++)
The soft bones were very soft and the meat was well braised and fork tender. The broth was very flavourful without fishy taste, although it was more on the milky side.

 

Crispy Bun with Condensed Milk 脆嘩奶油豬 (S$4++)
Wish that it was served with knife so that it would be easier to eat. Instead one had to tear it apart with just fork and spoon. Would prefer it with more butter.

 

Almond Milk with Egg White 生磨蛋白杏仁露 (S$7++)
The drink was served hot. Not too sweet without any powdery texture which was usually found in almond drink in cafe.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Fusion | Restaurant | Seafood

The place was packed for lunch during Saturday. I decided on the omakase lunch which was consisted of 7 courses (S$97++). My only request was the dessert not to be the restaurant's signature Wild Rocket Chendol which I just had a couple of weeks ago. Ice water was served after placing order.

 
Course 1 : Bah Chor Mee
Negitoro (minced fatty tuna) topped with chopped spring onion and chilli padi, crispy lards, fried shallots, on top of a bed of warm glass noodles.

 
Course 2 : Thai Pomelo Salad
Served with tiger prawns & frozen coconut dressing
The dressing was like a scoop of ice cream and made of coconut, chilli, fish oil, and shallot. It tasted quite lemak. Having it with mint leaf, pomelo, and cilantro, it tasted quite refreshing with hint of spicy and sweetness of fruit.

 
Course 3 : Chilli Crab
Crab cake made of blue crab and spanner crab, served with chilli crab sauce.
The crab cake was packed with nothing but crab meat. Quite juicy and yummy on its own.

 
Course 4 : Hokkien Mee
Fresh pasta cooked with prawn stock, and hae ko (black shrimp paste). It was quite flavourful but a bit too salty for me.

 
Course 5 : Wild Rocket Strawberry Cheesecake
It served deconstructed style in a Martini glass. Creamy without too sweet or sour.
I was surprised that I was served dessert before my main. I later asked the staff who thought I already had it. In the end I went through what I had with 2 different staffs and decided that there was 2 more courses.

 
Course 6 : Black vinegar iberico pork jowl with pickled cabbage and chestnut puree
The meat was quite tender and pulled out easily. Quite appetizing with the pickled vegetables.

 
Course 7 : Lychee sorbet with lychee martini gummy
The sorbet was topped with ginger flower and blue pea flower. Interesting flavours of the light lychee and the slightly stronger ginger flower. Quite refreshing.

Overall the food was not bad but was a tab upset about my course of dishes being overlooked. By the way as the place was full house, it was quite noisy too.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 29, 2018 

Spending per head: Approximately $114.5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Flavours Smile Oct 03, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fast Food

The outlet was located next to the mrt station, sharing space with Tip Top. It was a fast food restaurant, specializing in fried chicken wings. This month the outlet was offering 3 new asian flavours : Tom Yum, Garlic and Nonya Assam, at S$1 per wing until 5 October 2018.

 
The Nonya Assam wing was coated all over with a layer of sauce and tasted tangy spicy. The Tom Yum wing was topped with some crispy bits and tasted hint of lemongrass but lacking of spicy kick. The Garlic wing was topped with lots of crispy garlic bits on top and it was my kind of food.

 
Accompanied the meal with Rendang Bolognese Fries (S$6.50) and a soft drink (S$2.20). The fries was not bad, topped with minced beef, spring onion and nacho cheese sauce, but the meat was kind of quite chewy for some parts.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2018 

Spending per head: Approximately $11.7

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch Smile Sep 24, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Teochew

At the first sight, it looked like a small eatery located in the middle of a row of shophouses, off the main road. But you would surprised at the long history behind this place. Many years ago the family started an eatery called Chye Seng Huat which was located in Tanglin road. Various relatives helped in the place which built up the menu with dishes such as Hainanese Pork Chop (made with cream crackers), and otah (which originated from an relative who was from Muar, Malasyia). The eatery was later closed when government took over the land for redevelopment.

About 15 years ago the current owner's mother fell in with the current location, when she drove past the place and decided to setup a restaurant with the family's recipes. Most of the ingredients were bought fresh daily.

 

Sambal Brinjal & Lady’s Fingers (S$10)
While spicy, there was no slimy around the lady's fingers (a sight of very cooked) which was no easy to get it right. Like the firm texture of the vegetable.

 

Beef Rendang (S$13)
Made of beef shank, the meat was very tender and flavourful. Could feel it melt in the mouth without much chewing.

 

Home-made Ngo Hiang (S$11)
Unlike the usual version (Hokkien version?) which had water chestnut in them, the version here was replaced with leek (Teochew version). It was different kind of sweetness in the dish.

 

Chilli Prawns 🦐 (S$13)
The flavour was similar to the sotong version, but packed with crunchy prawns.

 

Century Egg Tofu (S$10)
While simple in look, the strong flavoured egg was balanced by the sauce and bland beancurd.

 

Nyonya Chap Chye (S$10)
The version was slightly different from the usual braised until very soft version. Here the vegetables remained with a slight bite and crunch.

 

Sambal Sotong (S$13)
Well cooked with the squid still tender, while the sauce was spicy with a sweet aftertaste.

 

The meal was accompanied with Grass Jelly with Milk (S$2.50) which was grass jelly strips topped with evaporated milk. Quite refreshing.

Overall the dishes had a home cooked feel. No wonder the busy residents staying around have been packing the food for takeaway.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Poor Service OK Sep 13, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant

2 of us queued up just before the outlet was opened for business. Yet we were treated like invisible. The rude woman just waved and the staff showed the 3 of them to a table, bypassing us. When I proceed indoor to take the last table, the staff made us to take the outdoor table which was pretty hot given it was noon time and there was no fan blowing outside whereas indoor there's fans on. Reason given that we were 2 persons, whereas the other groups got 3 persons. What kind of treatment was this!
Yet when I was paying I could spot guys of 2 taking the tables for 4 indoor.
Bad experience!
Don't come here for small groups!
 
Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0