OpenRice Index
  
Elina Toh
This is Elina Toh . I am a Baker, work in Tai Seng. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Restaurant and Zi Char.
Member 14 First(s)
No. of Review104 Review(s)
編輯推介數目9 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1598 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos249 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲61 Follower(s)
Elina Toh  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 104 Reviews in Singapore
Ice Cream Feast @ Swensen's! :) Smile May 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Halal

After having dinner, my cousins and I had cravings for ice-cream, so we decided to have some at Swensen's. Swensen's have a wide range of ice cream flavours, so naturally we thought of having ice cream there. We ordered their 'Giant Earthquake', which consisted of 8 scoops of different types of ice cream, topped with cherries and whipped cream.

Giant Earthquake was served it with dry ice in the middle, making it look really grand and delicious. As there were 4 of us, each of us got to choose 2 different flavours of ice-cream. We chose Butterscotch, Hazelnut, Durian Supreme, Milo, Mocha Almond Fudge, Ol' Fashioned Vanilla, Mango and Lime Sherbet. However, to our dismay, our ice cream arrived half-melted. Apparently, it was left on the counter for quite some time before it was served to us as the staff forgot about it. sad

Butterscotch: This tasted just alright to me. Plain boring butterscotch, nothing special.
Hazelnut: Light hazelnut flavour.
Durian Supreme: The BEST of the lot. Strong durian flavour, smooth and yet you could feel bits of durian meat in between. A definite must have!
Milo: Just milo. But still nice nevertheless. A must try if you're a Milo lover like me! smile
Mocha Almond Fudge: Mocha flavoured, with bits of almond in between. Nice combo.
Ol' Fashioned Vanilla: Nothing could go wrong with vanilla right? smile Smooth texture, and have a strong vanilla smell to it. Must-have in every ice-cream feast.
Mango: Nice and sweet mango-flavoured. I love mango ice-cream, so this went down with me well.
Lime Sherbet: This hit the right notes with me. Lime flavoured, with the right amount of sourness to it. Refreshing!

Overall, the price is worth it since we got to choose our own flavours for the ice-cream, and the ice cream itself are not bad too. Definitely will go again! Just hope our ice cream will be served frozen! tongue

 
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pastamania Delivery OK May 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Halal

It was noon and as I did not felt like cooking, I decided to order Pastamania via delivery. Ordering was fuss-free using the internet, and the food arrived in approximately 45mins. The food was still warm when it arrived, and utensils were provided with a packet of chilli flakes and cheese. They even provided me with a packet of tissue paper, which had the word reserved stamped on it. Uniquely Singaporean! Haha, as it could be used to 'chope' a seat when we dine out.

Back to the food; I ordered a Turkey Bacon Cheesy Crumble (S$8.10) with Spaghetti. I like the fact they allow customers to choose from a range of different pasta, depending on what you prefer. Not only that, customers with a big appetite could upsize their meal too. Delivery charge was an additional SGD3, which was a tad expensive in my opinion. Minimum order was SGD10, so I ordered a drink - Minute Maid Pulpy Citrus, which cost a hefty S$3.40, compared to supermarkets selling it for about S$1.45. However, since it's delivery and to my convenience, one should not complain. tongue

The Turkey Bacon Cheesy Crumble was quite dry, probably because all the sauce was already soaked up by the pasta during delivery. The bacon was also hard and dry, and I had a hard time biting them. Cheese sprinkled on top was really little, and luckily they provided a small packet of cheese to add on. The spaghetti was was cooked just nice though, and portion was just right for me; not too much or too little. smile

Overall, I would not order this again as I felt the bacon was not to my liking, and I had a hard time eating it. I would try their other pastas next time.

 
 
Date of Visit: May 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Crazy Queue-ing for Dim Sum!!! Smile May 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

It was Vesak Day and since it was a public holiday and I did not have to work, my friends and I decided to go down to Plaza Singapura to eat the famous Tim Ho Wan dim sum. We have heard many rave reviews about it and decided to check it out ourselves.

Maybe because it was Vesak Day and many people have gone to the temples to pray, the queue was surprisingly not that long, and to think it was dinnertime (6pm). Nevertheless, we weren't complaining about that, since we get to eat faster. tongue After queuing for approximately 1hr (which we thought was okay since people have queued up to 3hrs), we were ushered to our seats. The restaurant itself wasn't very big, and due to the crowd, some people had to share tables. The tables that were separated were quite close together too, so there wasn't much privacy. Luckily for us, we got a table at the far end corner. smile

The menu itself was not very extensive, and after ordering 2 rounds of dim sum, we found that there wasn't anything we wanted to try already. Service was good though, despite the crowd. Price wise, their food start from $4.50/basket/plate, which was quite affordable considering that it is a Michelin 1* restaurant.

Char Siew Bun: This was admittedly the best among all the food we tried. Despite having really little filling in it, the outer crust made up for it. It is crumbly and buttery, and goes well with the char siew filling. The char siew had just the right among of oomph to it. It was so delicious that we actually bought another 2 plates to takeaway. No wonder there's a limit to how many plates a table can order for this. And although the staff said they don't pack takeaways, customers who wanted to bring the food back were given a takeaway box to 'tabao'.

Chicken Feet with Black Bean Sauce: This was another dish that I liked. The chicken feet was cooked just right, sweet and soft. With the black bean sauce, it was just heavenly!

Prawn Dumpling: The prawns inside are HUGE! I've eaten at countless dim sum places, but this is the 1st time I've eaten prawn dumplings that have such big prawns. Not only that, they are succulent and fresh! Only thing is, I don't really like the skin of the dumplings. They felt abit too tough and dry for my liking.

Pork Dumpling with Shrimp: The taste was so-so for this dish. Maybe it's just me, but the taste didn't hit a chord with me. I only managed to eat one and gave the rest to my friends.

Overall, I felt that the food was ok, but I certainly will not queue again if the queue was long. Will patronize again for the Char Siew Bun, but only after all the hype have died down.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 24, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

1st Visit to Ambush Smile May 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

It was my cousin's birthday and I brought him to Ambush for dinner. It was our 1st visit there and the ambience was to to my liking. The lights were not too bright and it was a relaxing environment. I ordered the Crispy Chicken and Seaweed Pasta (S$13.00), while he ordered the Salmon with Thai Basil Sauce Pasta, which I forgot to take a photo of. sad

The staff who served us was friendly, and answered our questions promptly regarding the food available. Although the time it took our food to come was quite slow (we waited for about 20 minutes), but the food was totally worth the wait! smile

Crispy Chicken and Seaweed Pasta: The pasta was cooked to the right texture; not too hard yet not too soft. It was aglio olio style, and the chicken was really very crispy. The portion was pretty big, and I didn't manage to finish it all. However, I did finish the chicken as it was just too nice to waste! tongue The outside was crunchy, and inside was tender. Not like those popcorn chicken we usually buy in frozen packs from the supermarket.

 
Overall, 100 marks for this really nice place. Food is good, service was thumbs up too. Will come again! smile
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Burgers and Sandwiches

It was Mother's Day and I decided to treat my mum to a meal at Empire State. It was dinnertime, so there was quite a long queue. We queued for approx. 20minutes before we were ushered to a table for 2.

The restaurant was full, and there were limited staff. It took me a good 10minutes to catch the eye of a staff before he came over to take our orders. We weren't served any water and there were no utensils for us when the food came. We even had to use our own serviettes as they were just too busy to set the tables. The place was also quite hot as there was no air con, and with the crowd, the heat was quite unbearable.

I ordered their fish & chips, which came with a side salad and mashed potatoes. The amount of salad given was pretty pathetic, but the taste made up for it. The veg was fresh too. The potatoes gave a really smooth mouthfeel. The fish fillet was crunchy but a tad oily, and although it looked small, I was really full after finishing it.

 
My mum ordered this mushroom pizza for herself. We thought it was a small portion, but it was so big it looked more like it was for 3 people. Nevertheless, my mum enjoyed it so much she ate 6 out of the 9 slices. She gave me a slice, and after eating it, I could see why she enjoyed it. The pizza was just the right texture, not too hard or soft. The amount of cheese added on top was just how I loved it; you could taste it in every bite! It was simply heavenly.

 
Last but not least, we ordered drinks each, an ice chocolate for me and a root beer float for her. The serving for my mum's float was huge! I took a sip and the taste was divine! One can't go wrong with root beer and vanilla ice-cream! tongue My ice chocolate was not bad too. It was chocolaty and had bits of chocolate biscuits in it. Managed to finished it all although I was full to the brim. smile

 
Overall, the food was not bad, but their service could be better. It will be some time before I go back again as I'm marred by their service; I had to go to the counter and pay because the staff was too busy to bring us the bill.
 
Date of Visit: May 12, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0