OpenRice Index
  
chichiewchuen
This is chichiewchuen .
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review37 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity477 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos42 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant20 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲24 Follower(s)
chichiewchuen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 37 Reviews in Singapore
Lunch OK Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Teochew

Tried the ala cart buffet lunch. Quite reasonable price (< $30/pax) for the wide range of food.

I like the salad prawn, which combines sweetness and savory. It tastes refreshing with the fresh prawn, pineapples, cherries, fruit cocktail and mayo. Prawns look a bit transparent with crunchy feel.

The chilli crab is only so so, expected it to be more spicy and less sweet. Also, the crab doesn’t seem very fresh. The sauce is a bit on the gluey side.

We especially like the crispy chicken wings. Super crispy and meat is tender. 2 servings is still not enough.

Staff service is ok. Food are served quite fast. Ambience and view is good as on high floor of Orchard Central.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for money Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Seafood | Buffet

Like the japanese section of Buffet town best. Lots of variety of sushi. The sushi filling are all very fresh. Rice is not too soggy.  I like the sweet and savory combination of the egg sushi. The prawn sushi is well made whih which brings out the taste of the prawn. Presentation was also good and appealing.

The peranakan section of the buffet. is also good. It has curry, chap chai etc. the curry chicken is delicious, though the curry sauce is not thick or rich enough. They could have added more potatoes to the curry too. Though the dishes are not very authentic peranakan, it is good enough as a sampler.

The staff clears the table very fast. Staff also takes initiative to help us clarify with the chef when we notice the satay we took from the chicken corner appears to be like beef. Good place for family gatherings, esp for those with children.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yummy Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Halal

We ordered the apple pie with a scoop of strawberry icecream. The apple serving in the pie is generous and the flaky crust just melts in the mouth. It it not too sweet and mushy. The apple pie is warm and nice and goes very well with the strawberry icecream

The icecream's texture is fine, not too sweet and the milk taste is good. Some strawberry bits within and are a bit tiny. This costs around $10 but we think it is value for money. Will be back again. Service staff is friendly, but gotta wait quite a while for seats.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Lunch Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

Peony Jade is always my choice for ala cart Chinese food buffet. The weekday buffet lunch is quite worth it. About $40++/pax, Buy 3 get 1 free for credit card promotion. The following dishes can only be ordered once – whole abalone, salmon sashimi, Hk dim sum, fish maw soup, deep-fried soon hock. Other dishes include seafood, appetizers, soups, poultry, noodles/rice, beancurd, vegetables and dessert.

I like the selection of HK dim sum. For the siew mai, the juices burst from each dumpling as I sank my teeth in, and experienced the wonderful chewiness in each bite. For Har Kow, the prawn is fresh and does not have too much of seasoning. The spring roll is very crispy on the outside, though the vegetables could a bit hard.  

I don’t really like the Fish maw soup though as it taste a bit weird in braised hot and sour soup, more sour than spicy. I ordered the crabmeat bouillon with golden mushroom instead, and I like it. The crabmeat and mushroom are generous and the soup is very tasty with all the ingredients, can taste the natural sweetness of the crabmeat and other ingredients.

They also serve chilled lemongrass jelly as dessert. The lemongrass added great fragrance and taste to the jelly.

Serving are fast and staff are friendly. Good for family gathering. Highly recommended.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cakes Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Pasta | Buffet | Noodles

I like this place for its desserts more than its main courses. Besides the much sought-after durian desserts, I think the other cakes are also worth a mention.

Besides looking attractive, the cakes also taste very delicious. I especially like the chocolate layer cakes. It is moist with two thick layers of dark chocolate icing/cream. Instead of being heavy, that just makes this cake more satisfying. Combined with the rich dark chocolate flavours, it adds up to a slice of cake that leaves you happily full without being too sweet or sickly. One piece is definitely not enough,. 

The staff clears the table quite promptly and they always have a smile on their faces, which makes it a good dining experience. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0