OpenRice Index
  
Choo Yao Chuen
This is Choo Yao Chuen living in Holland. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steaks and Grills.
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review12 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity75 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos5 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant12 My Restaurant(s)
Follow11 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
Choo Yao Chuen  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 12 Reviews in Singapore
Best prawn noodles in Singapore Smile Nov 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

Was introduced to this place after a morning run at ECP with friends.

As I was already hungry, I went for the Large pork rib prawn soup noodle which goes at $10 per bowl. Quite expensive for prawn noodles but they were generous with the fresh prawns (BIG) and ribs.

Honestly, the first bite blew me away. This was simply the best prawn noodles I've had. The broth was simply awesome, rich in prawn fragrant taste. The broth is so good, everything else from the noodles to the prawns and ribs didn't matter. Every moutful taste soooo good, I finished everything in quick time, including the broth, to the last drop.

I'm definitely coming back again.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Top Five in Singapore Smile Mar 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chicken Rice

So happened to be visiting my friend in the East and was brought over to Five Star for dinner. Dinner crowd here is quite big but even more queing to "take away". First impression, chicken rice here must be really good.

Ordered the white chicken drumstick for myself. Took a while because of the many customers on the go. Service was OK. When dinner finally arrived at the table, must admit the chicken didn't look as attractive as expected. However, was pleasently surprised at the tenderness and well-cooked chicken. They use "kampong" chicken but the drumstick was quite big. Meat was lean and tender, cooked to perfection. The rice was also very good; fragrant and not sticky.

Really enjoyed the meal and would ranked it amongst the top 5 chicken rice in Singapore. Only setback was that it is pricey, more expensive than the other restaurants. 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best dessert cafe in the East Smile Mar 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Kids-Friendly

Was having dinner with friends at I12 Katong and we decided to head over to Old Skool as my friends had already been to the place before.

It was my first time and I have become a fan of this place. I had the mango snowflakes while my friends went for the durian. The snowflakes here are simply awesome; the best I've had in Singapore. The ice is sliced very finely and it is really smooth. Topped up with generous servings of fresh mango fruits, really enjoyed it. The durian snowflake was equally good. 

Ambiance is cozy and not overcrowded. Price is also competitive.

Can't wait to be back again to try out their other desserts. Highly recommended.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cheap, simple good food Smile Mar 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Restaurant | Zi Char

A hidden gem nestled amongst many eateries along Joo Chiat Road. From the outside, this is a place which you wouldn't even catch your attention except for the crowd. Often packed with customers during dinner (especially on weekends), this is certainly a no-frills chinese restaurant. 

The menu is not extensive at all with limited items; but you'll get what you what from seafood, to meat and vege dishes. Ambiance is simple and so is the food presentation. 

The best part here is definitely the food. We ordered a fish, to go with fried chicken wings, baby kailan, etc. Excellent food at a very competitive price. Fish was fresh and really well cooked. The baby kailan was also very good and tasty.

Highly recommended! Will definitely be back, many times!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2015 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Soup | Noodles

I have never written a review for  hawker stalls but this one stands out so strongly that I just have to write something for it. 

The stall was introduced by a friend who brought me there himself. I eat a lot of fish head bee hoon but not the ones with XO but tried it anyway on the advice of my friend. Instantly fell in love with everything about the XO fish head bee hoon here.

The bee hoon is of the thicker type and of the right texture. The soup is cooked with evaporated milk and XO, just the right balance making it very tasty and not overly overpowered by alcohol. Might be salty to some but I thought it was OK. I opted for fish meat instead of head for my first try. The fish were thinly sliced and fresh. Definitely one of the best fish head bee hoon I've tasted.

Highly recommended. 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0