OpenRice Index
  
Choo Yao Chuen
This is Choo Yao Chuen living in Holland. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review19 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity91 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos5 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant19 My Restaurant(s)
Follow12 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
Choo Yao Chuen  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 19 Reviews in Singapore
Xiao Long Bao Galore!!! Smile Jan 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

Whenever I crave for Xiao Long Baos, there are only two places I go to; first choice is Paradise and second is Din Tai Fung. Paradise takes the grand prize for serving the best xiao long bao in Singapore.

It doesn't just stops with the Xiao Long Baos. In fact, every dish I've tried here simply beats my expectations. I normally come here for dim sums and everything from the shumai, to the har gows, the lo mai gais, the pork baos, cha siu baos, etc, etc are one of the best in town. Tasty (not overly salty and "fresh"). Honestly, putting up this review already makes me think of going to Paradise for my next meal. My favourite amongst all the dim sums would be the shumais (generously packed with meat) and the xiao long baos of course, all 8 varieties of it!!!

Service here is also another thing worth commenting on. They are all very friendly and attentive, providing prompt service throughout. Presentation is also excellent with a big "fish tank" greeting you as you enter and the chefs highly visible, hard at work. You will also be enteretained to a tea master serving your choice of tea for you.

Pricing may be a bit on the high side, but given the quality of food and service (and ambiance), I am more than happy to pay every cent of it. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for an enjoyable dim sum meal. Satisfaction is assured!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Chinese BBQ Smile Sep 20, 2021   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : BBQ | Kids-Friendly

One of the more popular Chinese BBQ in town and there's a simple reason for it: Its the BEST!

I can't have enough of the wings (comes in few flavours and all are good) and lamb. Everything is good and you can choose your level of spiciness. I would also recommend the sweet potato but leave out the mala fish.
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2021 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Amazing steaks for the price Smile Aug 29, 2021   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Western | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

This is not my first time dinning here but every visit is satisfying. Very surprised no one has given a review which I feel is long overdue.The steaks are amongst the best in Singapore in my humble opinion.  Bonus is they certainly know how to cook their steaks. My choice of medium rare is always cooked to perfection.  
Side dishes are fixed i.e. fresh garden salad and a choice of truffle fries or mash potatoes. I would recommend the mas potatoes. 
If you are looking for no-frills steaks, this is certainly the place.
Highly recommended!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ribeye 250gram
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2021 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best dessert cafe in the East Smile Mar 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Kids-Friendly

Was having dinner with friends at I12 Katong and we decided to head over to Old Skool as my friends had already been to the place before.

It was my first time and I have become a fan of this place. I had the mango snowflakes while my friends went for the durian. The snowflakes here are simply awesome; the best I've had in Singapore. The ice is sliced very finely and it is really smooth. Topped up with generous servings of fresh mango fruits, really enjoyed it. The durian snowflake was equally good. 

Ambiance is cozy and not overcrowded. Price is also competitive.

Can't wait to be back again to try out their other desserts. Highly recommended.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh, fluffy and tasty bread Smile Jan 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery

This is a little known Japanese bakery with only one outlet in Singapore. Understand it has been operating from its present place at Millenia Walk for about 5 years now.

This is one bakery which I will go out of the way to get its bread and pastries. I've become a fan of it. All its pastries here are really good. I would attribute it to its bread, which is awesome. It's different from any other bakery where the bread is really fluffy AND tasty. From the very basic hotdog to my favourite bacon & egg bread and it's flagship curry buns, everything they dish out is seriously fresh and tasty. Their croissant is probably the best in Singapore IMO.

Really hope they open more outlets (especially in the West) so I don't have to travel just to get some bread. Highly recommended.

 
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0