OpenRice Index
  
Choo Yao Chuen
This is Choo Yao Chuen living in Holland. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review19 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity91 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos5 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant19 My Restaurant(s)
Follow12 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
Choo Yao Chuen  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 19 Reviews in Singapore
Cheap, simple good food Smile Mar 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Restaurant | Zi Char

A hidden gem nestled amongst many eateries along Joo Chiat Road. From the outside, this is a place which you wouldn't even catch your attention except for the crowd. Often packed with customers during dinner (especially on weekends), this is certainly a no-frills chinese restaurant. 

The menu is not extensive at all with limited items; but you'll get what you what from seafood, to meat and vege dishes. Ambiance is simple and so is the food presentation. 

The best part here is definitely the food. We ordered a fish, to go with fried chicken wings, baby kailan, etc. Excellent food at a very competitive price. Fish was fresh and really well cooked. The baby kailan was also very good and tasty.

Highly recommended! Will definitely be back, many times!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2015 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Soup | Noodles

I have never written a review for  hawker stalls but this one stands out so strongly that I just have to write something for it. 

The stall was introduced by a friend who brought me there himself. I eat a lot of fish head bee hoon but not the ones with XO but tried it anyway on the advice of my friend. Instantly fell in love with everything about the XO fish head bee hoon here.

The bee hoon is of the thicker type and of the right texture. The soup is cooked with evaporated milk and XO, just the right balance making it very tasty and not overly overpowered by alcohol. Might be salty to some but I thought it was OK. I opted for fish meat instead of head for my first try. The fish were thinly sliced and fresh. Definitely one of the best fish head bee hoon I've tasted.

Highly recommended. 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh, fluffy and tasty bread Smile Jan 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery

This is a little known Japanese bakery with only one outlet in Singapore. Understand it has been operating from its present place at Millenia Walk for about 5 years now.

This is one bakery which I will go out of the way to get its bread and pastries. I've become a fan of it. All its pastries here are really good. I would attribute it to its bread, which is awesome. It's different from any other bakery where the bread is really fluffy AND tasty. From the very basic hotdog to my favourite bacon & egg bread and it's flagship curry buns, everything they dish out is seriously fresh and tasty. Their croissant is probably the best in Singapore IMO.

Really hope they open more outlets (especially in the West) so I don't have to travel just to get some bread. Highly recommended.

 
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xiao Long Bao Galore!!! Smile Jan 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

Whenever I crave for Xiao Long Baos, there are only two places I go to; first choice is Paradise and second is Din Tai Fung. Paradise takes the grand prize for serving the best xiao long bao in Singapore.

It doesn't just stops with the Xiao Long Baos. In fact, every dish I've tried here simply beats my expectations. I normally come here for dim sums and everything from the shumai, to the har gows, the lo mai gais, the pork baos, cha siu baos, etc, etc are one of the best in town. Tasty (not overly salty and "fresh"). Honestly, putting up this review already makes me think of going to Paradise for my next meal. My favourite amongst all the dim sums would be the shumais (generously packed with meat) and the xiao long baos of course, all 8 varieties of it!!!

Service here is also another thing worth commenting on. They are all very friendly and attentive, providing prompt service throughout. Presentation is also excellent with a big "fish tank" greeting you as you enter and the chefs highly visible, hard at work. You will also be enteretained to a tea master serving your choice of tea for you.

Pricing may be a bit on the high side, but given the quality of food and service (and ambiance), I am more than happy to pay every cent of it. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for an enjoyable dim sum meal. Satisfaction is assured!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value-for-money Steaks! Smile Dec 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Coffeeshop | Steaks and Grills | BBQ

Collins has become my favourite "steakhouse". The food here is better than more established names such as Astons and Botak Jones. 

I always go for their sirloin steaks or lamb chops, which in my opinion is cooked to perfection, as good as you can get from 5-star steakhouses, at a fraction of their prices. 

I find myself ordering their lamb chops more often. Do take note, that this item sells out often, particularly on weekends. The lamb is well marinated and cooked (grilled) to perfection. Topped with pepper sauce and served with chips and coleslaw, servings are generous; always sufficient to fill me up (and I am a big eater).

Whenever I feel like having western food and feel lazy to dress up, I simply head over to Collins!

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 13, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0