OpenRice Index
  
huiyuan89
This is huiyuan89 living in Teck Whye. I am a student, work in Queenstown. I like to hang out in City Hall, Clarke Quay, Orchard. French, Italian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Desserts and Cakes, salads.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review110 Review(s)
編輯推介數目70 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity6497 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos442 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲193 Follower(s)
huiyuan89  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 110 Reviews in Singapore
Pleasant dining experience Smile Mar 11, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Hotel | Pasta

Zambuca was once part of the Michelango’s Group but now it has been taken over by Pan Pacific Hotel. Zambuca has gone through a transformation and now it is located at the 3rd floor of The Pan Pacific Hotel and it is led by Chef Dennis Sim and his team.

The decor of the interior adopts an elegant style- High ceiling , dim-lighting and comfy sofas. There is a wine cellar featuring exotic wines and a private room for intimate dining.

The menu is printed in a form of a large menu board. They have limited selections on the appetitzers and mains and focus more on their pasta, risotto and the pizzas. Based on reviews, their risotto is quite popular.

They also offer a 3 or 4 course set lunch priced at $35 ++ and $45++ respectively. Due to the limited selections on the ala-carte menu, I decided to have the 4 course set lunch.


Semi-dried tomato & Spinach salad with pine nuts, parmagiano reggiano with chilli & garlic dressing


The small serving salad came in an over-sized blue plate. I had the salad without the pinenuts.This was a simple spinach salad but was on the oily side as the chef uses a large amount of olive oil in the salad.


Soup of the day- Cream of vegetable soup



I am not a fan of soup except the fabulous Lobster Bisque I had at Le Saint Julien. This vegetable soup taste like carrot soup with cream and I was feeling thirsty after having a few spoonful. Perhaps due to the MSG reaction???


Grilled cod fillet with tomato salsa & Balsamic reduction
Other choices for mains includes the Grilled King Prawns, Pork Escalope and the Rack of Lamb. I didn’t took notice the Grilled King Prawns on the menu until I took a picture of the menu. I actually would prefer having the King Prawns to the Grilled Cod but I didn’t make the change to save the trouble. I was glad I made a wise choice for my mains. The cod fillet was baked, presented beautifully on a bed of spinach, topped with salsa and garnished with two jumbo and juicy tomatoes.The cod, was crispy on the outside but so soft and tender on the interior. The fish flakes off easily using my fork, I have nothing but praises for the baked cod. However, the balsamic reduction was a little on the greasy side (see the oil!) . I hope the oil is either olive oil or the fish oil from the cod. The tomato salsa and the orange segments added a refreshing after-taste after enjoying the cod! Love the cod!



I simplyyy love tomatoes and when I popped each of the jumbo tomatoes into my mouth, the juice of the tomato just burst out! I had to cover my mouth to prevent it from spilling and of course, the unglam scene.


Maraschino ice-cream


Dessert was a choice of the Maraschino ice-cream or the Basil marinated strawberries. Seriously, I have no idea what is Maraschino until I did a goggle search on the net. I was told that the ice-cream had a bubble-gum flavour and was worth trying. The scoop of *Maraschino ice-cream is served with some gooseberries and blueberries in a tall glass. When I first tried it, it taste quite funny and unique. It reminds me of some sort of cough syrup but was generally quite ok.



Overall verdict: Generally, I am very pleased with the food, ambience and service here. The food that I had was pretty good (just a little on the greasy side), the ambience scored at least an 8 as I like the design and decor of the interior. The service was professional and attentive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 15, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointing food Cry Mar 10, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant | Seafood | Kids-Friendly

Cafe Novus, nestled within the National Museum of Singapore is set to take the culinary by the storm. Cafe Novus, part of the Novus Restuarant, is a cafe that serves simple sandwiches, cakes. The concept of providing a quiet respite in an urban city right in an edifice with so much heritage and culture. It’s good to chill out with good company at the perfect city enclave.

Serving all day breakfast from 10am, they also serve simple pasta, sanwiches, pizzas and milkshakes.

Veggie Delight($8++)

Grilled sliced vegetables served with foccacia bread with balsamic vingear and olive oil. The sandwich comes with 2 slices of eggplants, cucumbers, some lettuce and tomtoes relish. The grilled vegetables were served cold but they were all well-seasoned with herbs therefore it’s not too bad. I like the tomtoes relish that is grilled till soft and melts in my mouth.

The foccacia bread, was a let-down. It comes with 2 large slices of bread.Focaccia is quite popular in Italy and is usually seasoned with olive oil and sometimes herbs, and may be topped with onion, cheese and meat, or flavored with a number of vegetables. However, their version is different. . The bread is orange in colour, probably flavoured with orange zest, taste weird. I thought that the bread is dry and taste flat.

All sandwiches are served with potato chips. It’s great for some munch. I feel that the potatoe chips tatse better than the bread!

The service is generally good here. The cafe is quite crowded especially when there are tourists or visitors visiting the museum as they would pop by and have some cakes and coffee here.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 17, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Closed Smile Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant

Many had raved about their restaurant, the signature Foie Gras and the cod. Sage’s kitchen chef’s are trained are les amis which explains the standard of food being served. The consistency of the food had always maintained after many years.


Sage had relocated from Robertson Walk to one of the Mohd Sultan Road’s conservation shophouses. I would have never notice it’s existence if I had not search their website of the exact location. The interior is cosy, perfect for intimate dining.


The 3 course set lunch are priced at $38++ and 4 course at $45++. Some of the dishes require additional top-ups such as the foie gras and cod. Do not miss their signature foie gras here even if you have to top up additional $15. Do try their” Asaparagus & egg” and the ” Mushroom Cappuccino.



Asparagus & Egg

Deep-fried hen’s egg coated in Parmagiano on steamed green asparagus & brown butter Hollandaise.
This dish is ”highly” recommended by many reviewers and diners. I was certainly impressed with this starter that I had. The 4 spears of asparagus with lightly steamed and topped with a deep-fried egg and drenched with hollandaise sauce. The hollandaise sauce is something unique, it taste like some hard-boiled egg mixed with mayonnaise. It is rich in flavour and not heavy and goes well with the asparagus too.


Runny egg yolk

The Egg is really crispy on the outside & when you cut it open with your knife, the runny egg yolk just flows out, blend in with the hollandaise sauce and ”soaking” the crispy skin…. woooh! it was marvellous!


Sauteed foie gras with cherry compote on pain d’e spices

Please do not invite your family doctor here for the foie-gras. This 2 pieces of artery-clogging liver is going to make him scream at you! The foie gras was pan-fried and presented on the gingerbread with sweet red wine sauce. The foie-gras really lift up it’s name. It is really crispy on the outside and when you bite in it , the juice just burst out , lingering around your tongue. It melts in my mouth in every bite.


It’s simply too delicious that I can’t find any fault or excuse not to like it. I had to savour it slowly…
The red wine accompanying sauce is sweet & pleasant to the taste-bud. The sweetness complements with the foie-gas very well.
I like the ginger-bread, it is not too soft and it taste good when you actually ”soak” it in the red wine sauce. May I proclaim that this Foie gras is damn fxxxxxg good!!!


Fillet of cod topped with prawn and cognac butter, roasted mini ,spanish red peppers stuffed with salt cod brandade, caramelized lemon confit and saffron cream
The cod is highly raved as well but it just failed to impress me. The fish was not warm enough when it is being served to me. I was a little disappointed as the fish is little tad over-cooked, resulting in a little rough in the texture. The fish is topped with prawn& cognac butter which was rather interesting but I find it just normal.



Spanish Red peppers

I was deceived by it’s colourful appearance. The red peppers were fiery hot! They were stuffed with salted cod brandied which taste like the spicy dried shrimp. Personally, I did not really like it. Avoid this if you can’t take spicy food.
Overall, there were some hits & misses. Generally, I felt that it’s worth coming here for the Foie gras alone. The foie gras was indeed a dish that I would really come back for.
The bill came up to about $80 as I had to top up additional of $30 for the foie gras and the cod. I do agree that the price is on the higher side but it all depends whether you feel it’s worth it.
The service here is friendly and attentive.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 07, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

average food OK Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

Located by the Singapore River at The Pier at Robertson, this authentically Parisian brasserie combines a casual and relaxed ambience with the culinary standards and service of a fine dining restaurant.
Brasserie Wolf is under the Esmirada group and swept the votes at the 2006 Singapore Gourmet Hunt competition to win the Most Popular Western Cuisine Restaurant award.

I took advantage of the 2 course set lunch priced at $25++ . There are a few choices for the starters and the mains.
P.S: The pictures are a little blur due to the lighting in the restaurant and light rays from the sun .

Marinated Tuna with balsamic and Rocket salad

The tuna is marinated with some balsamic and lightly seared. I felt that it was a little over-done . It was diffucult to master the skill of searing tuna till middle rare… I can taste the hint of balsamic in the tuna. The rocket salad looks wilted and indeed it was not that fresh after all… + salty!


Roasted chicken roulade stuffed, crabmeat, Risotto milanaise & mushroom sauce

I think they used the chicken breast instead of the thigh/Leg as the meat is slightly dry and rough.
The chicken is rolled up with minced crabmeat, mushrooms and carrots and roasted.
However, I can’t taste any crabmeat in it and could only find finely chopped carrots and mushrooms. I would prefer the outer layer to be slightly charred since it is roasted .

I actually requested for them to replace the risotto to mixed vegetables and apparently they have forgotten my request. They still serve the risotto on my plate… I gladly accept it as I do not want to waste food. However, they kindly prepare a mixed vegetable as a side dish for me ( as an apology).
I like the mushroom sauce which was quite mushroom-y and there were some black fungus in it. I requested for extra sauce to go along with the slightly dry chicken.


Sauteed mixed vegetables (FOC)

The mixed vegetables( cannelli beans, asparagus, brocolli, sweet peas and mushrooms) were light sauteed with garlic.
Indeed, all the veggies are green in colour! The only fault I can find is the saltish flavour…. pass me the water pls!!!
Overall, there were some hits and misses here. The staff are generally friendly and attentive but can be a little absent-minded.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 24, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden gem  Smile Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Swiss | European | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

It was my third time here @ The Black Sheep Cafe. Lunch was preferred as I can have enjoy my food here in ”peace”. It was quiet during lunch but expect the restaurant to be running full during dinner. A piece of advice – Call ahead to make reservations !

The Menu

The food that regulars come back for- Baked Brie cheese & The Duck Confit.

Caesar Salad with prawns ($12.50)

I am a fussy eater.
This Caesar Salad with prawns supposedly to come with bacon, croutons and parmesan cheese but I requested to omit all of them. I wanna have a simple & light Caesar salad with prawns. What stands out in this Caesar salad was the dressing. The dressing was home-made and it tasted very different from the traditional caesar dressing . It was slightly yellowish in colour and had a milder flavour. I enjoyed it ~


Snapper fillet ($22.50)


The daily specials for fish/seafood was the Snapper fillet. Although I had the similar the previous visit, I gladly would like to have this again. Anyway, there aren’t any choices.
The fish was fresh, thick and firm. It comes with some potato mash and side vegetables which I enjoyed it. The potato mash has cubes of potatoes unlike some that are too mushy or creamy.


It was a simple way of presenting the dish, no fanciful stuff. All I can say is” home-cooked food’.

Verdict: Basically, there are 3 french food places in Little India and I asked Chef Ratha whether his business would be affected. He smiled and answered me with confidence ,” My style of cooking is traditional and many regulars still come back for my food after they have tried the another 2 ”. The confidence level is high and I’m glad this chef takes pride in his cooking.
Do try out The Black Sheep Cafe if you wanna enjoy home-cooked food .
No GST & SERVICE CHARGE

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 24, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0