OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1720 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Good Chicken Rice Smile Mar 05, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chicken Rice

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/04/good-lunch-but-quite-ex-kim-san-leng-bishan-on-3mar2016/

went with 2 close friends to watch stephen chow’s mermaid at GV Bishan yesterday on 3.3.2016.
after the show we walked over to kim san leng food centre.
my friend queued up to buy a S$11 plate chicken from the bugis street ming kee chicken rice. he could not recall the price of the beg, which i guess was S$6. we had 2 rice to share among 3.
chicken was good, but nothing special for me really. no much different from xin ji 新记chicken rice at mei ling food centre.
overall the lunch would come to about S$38 for 3, that should be consider ex. maybe we just ate too much…lol! ^^
i like the duck best, chicken & ngoh hiang a toss up. but chicken have to queue so i guess ngoh for my choice. haha!

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Lunch but Quite Ex Smile Mar 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/04/good-lunch-but-quite-ex-kim-san-leng-bishan-on-3mar2016/
went with 2 close friends to watch stephen chow’s mermaid at GV Bishan yesterday on 3.3.2016.
after the show we walked over to kim san leng food centre.
it’s a coffeeshop, and a huge success story. the guy pulled in the good hawker stalls, so it’s crowded, good traffic even though its along the food & away from junction 8. :-)
i like this place & the food, though they are not cheap.
yu kee’s braised duck was good too. i don’t eat this often these days but this was good – flavourful, smooth, not tough.
S$10 for quarter duck with drumstick i guess not that ex too.
the S$3 kueh chap very tiny plate, but also quite tasty. what can you buy with S$3 these days?
overall the lunch would come to about S$38 for 3, that should be consider ex. maybe we just ate too much…lol! ^^
i like yu kee;s duck best, chicken & ngoh hiang a toss up. 

c.h.e.f andy

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

So-so Perankan Food  OK Mar 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/02/so-so-perankan-food-dulukala-peranakan-restaurant-beauty-world-centre-on-29feb2016/

had another expiring groupon to use, and went with sis & bil to dulukala peranakan restaurant at beauty word centre on 29.1.2016. ^^
we had 5 peranakan dishes
i had a S$80 groupon voucher. we ordered 5 dishes including the S$25.90 assam fish head. it came to S$83.70 including service no GST, so effectively about S$51.50 (S$47.80 for S$80 voucher). :-)
restaurant was simply furnished, just some display & framed sketches.
they had a classic nonya silver belt. this one has 4 tingkat layers on interlocking rings.
assam fish head was ok. fish was fresh, quite meaty. assam was ok, we still finished all the gravy, but it was not like specially tasty, just average, so-so really.
overall the dish fell far short in terms of shiokness c/w the thai style fish head at forture, the zi char at old holland road.
the sotong hitam was quite poor. it was artificially sweet – sugar…a small serving for S$13.90. my first impression was we got a small serving because of groupon discount?? but i didn’t think so as except for this & the small serving of chap chai, the other dishes seemed ok.
i would say this was quite poor dish. the very nice unique squid ink flavour was absent.
the ayam buah keluak did not resemble anything like the restuarant photo (which looked wonderful!)
chicken itself was very so-so, dry, but the serving was substantial & the gravy was quite excellent, didn’t feel so at first taste but it gets into you. like the dish overall though it is easy to have the chicken a lot more tender.
the chap chai also did not resemble the restaurant menu photo.
a very small serving. taste was pretty good with the tau jeon.
the lady fingers with ikan bilis was tasty. i must try cooking some dishes with ikan bilis.
the simple ikan bilis bee hoon (very ex at S$4) we had recently at ayer rajah food centre also very tasty.
overall with the groupon discounts, S$51.50 for 5 dishes including fish head was quite good price.
still it didn’t give me the same satisfaction of a good S$10 curry rice for 2pax like that at hoower food court in haig road; or a
good nasi padang like that at sinar pagi nasi padang at geylang serai food centre.
on balance, ok to try but for myself don’t think i would want to take this again.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 29, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good S$5 Prawn Noodles Smile Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/02/23/good-sgd5-prawn-noodles-adam-road-noo-cheng-on-20feb2016/
came by adam road & decided to try the noo cheng big prawn noodles on 20.2.2016. ^^
i had not taken from this stall for many many years. some how the impression was that it was so so, so didn’t really want to try it.
turned out that it was really not too bad la!
i recorded on my facebook post as –
It’s actually not bad for $5…though I ordered the bakut but they don’t have only gave me sliced pork…chilli pretty good actually..
soup tasty & intense don’t have why eat har’s smoothness with underlying sweetness…I think why eat har chilli better also…
but this noo cheng far better than I expected
they gave 2 medium prawns + 1 small prawns for S$5.
i asked for bakut but they gave me sliced pork. i guessed they ran out of bakut…i had the bakut when i tried again the next day & it was good too.
overall i think it was quite good leh…maybe comparable with ah hui prawn noodles at balestier food centre.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good 1-for-1 S$55 Lunch Buffet Smile Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Steaks and Grills | Buffet

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/02/23/good-1-for-1-sgd55-lunch-buffet-furama-riverfront-on-23feb2016/
a friend bought lunch today. we were to meet at the square @ furama riverfront on 23.2.2016.
the square on level 2 serves buffet. there is 1 for 1 promotion at S$55 for lunch, so quite ok, not too pricey.
we were seated near the window area, very pleasant.
started with the sashimi station. with the current GBS (Group B Streptococcus) scare, there was a sign stating it was “salt water salmon”.
salmon was very good sweet & fresh. i took very few by my usual standard, just 4 slices.
had the cooked prawns (good), tako, skipped the shell fish.
took a pieces of slami & some smoked salmon.
& 2 maki – a reverse roll & a spider maki.
but these were quite good. turkey salad best, asparagus was good, the prawn salad was good (nothing unusual but good), sundried tomatoes, and the vegetables confit tasty too. i didn’t quite like the beetroot, had much better beetroots before.
i had to try the curry chicken noodles. it was nothing like (no comparison with) the ah heng curry chicken noodles of course. i would say basically 2 quite different dishes. still the curry was very tasty as a curry dish.
i was surprised by the main courses too. i almost w/o fail avoid main courses in buffet except for semi-buffet as a single alacarte order. i guess buffet main courses have improved!
i tried nearly every dish.
pork rib was good, tasty. roast prime rib was competent. fish au gratin was good, but the steamed fish was overdone (both were the same cheap sutchi fish. i am thinking of doing this for my community meals so tried both). oxtail was competent, the braised sauce & vegetables were good. my friend especially liked the deep-fried belly pork. it was just ok for me. there was a mid-eastern lamb preparation i think, very nice too.
& the pork collar casserole, surprising quite good. meat looked (& felt when cutting) tough & overdone ut it was actually quite tender.
as said earlier, fish au gratin was the better preparation.
i took the 3 cheese – a brie, a blue & another cheese, some dried apricots, sultanas & walnut.
the peanut paste was unedible & should not be served. need a hong kong chef.
i quite enjoyed this lunch, chat with friend & trying out different food. one of the few times i actually bordered to try out the main courses, usually just took lots of sashimi…lol..

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $33

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0