OpenRice Index
  
zjlow1
This is zjlow1 living in Bukit Panjang. I am a student, work in Pioneer. I like to hang out in Boon Lay. Japanese, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café and Burgers and Sandwiches, Coffee.
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review15 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity69 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos31 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant4 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲24 Follower(s)
zjlow1  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 15 Reviews in Singapore
dinner at ootoya Smile Oct 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi

This place has quite a homely ambience which I like. The ambience was matched with the presentation of the food, which just makes one feel rather warm. However, prices are not really cheap though.

I ordered the ebi seiro set, which comprised of steamed rice with tiny shrimps, some grated pumpkin, pickles, miso soup and some cabbage soup.

The tiny shrimps were mildly flavored but still a joy to eat with the warm rice. The miso soup is one of the nicest I ever had, it was packed with some tofu and chicken bits too! As for the cabbage soup, well, I am not a fan of soggy overcooked cabbage, so I did not enjoy it.

Overall, the meal just makes one feel satisfied without the sin of health damaging 'bad food'.

I will definitely come back here again!
close up pic of the tiny shrimps

close up pic of the tiny shrimps

 
ebi seiro set

ebi seiro set

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  ebi seiro set
 
Date of Visit: Oct 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $21(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ramen at men-ichi Smile Oct 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This place can be rathered crowded even on a weekday night. The limited seating means that it is not a place for dwelling too long. Food is served rather promptly and tables are cleared pretty fast.

On this night, my partner and I ordered the shoyu tonkotsu ramen, which was approximately $15 each. It came with some slices of char siew, which was well-flavored. As for the soup, it was strong, without being too salty. The portion size was decent enough for a single person eating.
shoyu tonkotsu ramen

shoyu tonkotsu ramen

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  different types of ramen
 
Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seafood dinner Smile Oct 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Zi Char

garlic bamboo clam (1 for each person)

garlic bamboo clam (1 for each person)

 
stir fried kai lan

stir fried kai lan

 
stir fried clams

stir fried clams

 
steamed frog with chicken essence

steamed frog with chicken essence

 
black pepper crabs

black pepper crabs

 
Had a wonderful dinner at ming kee live seafood. The seafood here is really fresh and well prepared.

This was my first time tasting bamboo clam, and it was really a delicacy! The clam was huge and steamed with butter and garlic, which gave it a special aroma. The meat was fresh and succulent. Though expensive, it's definitely a must try!

The kai lan was pretty poor though. It tasted slightly undercooked and wasn't even cut into decent portions. Though it had that wok hei taste, it was too hard to chew.. sad

The stir fried clams were fresh but it tasted average at best. It was also a chore to filter through the shells for the small pieces of clam meat.

The steamed frogs tasted good, with the essence of chicken lending much flavor to the fresh frogs.

As for the crabs, the black pepper taste was strong but the sauce was abit too salty. Not poor, but average at best.

Freshness is really what you can expect from ming kee. Everything tasted fresh, even though there were hits and misses tastewise.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  garlic bamboo clam
 
Date of Visit: Oct 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

chicken samurai burger meal OK Oct 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Ice Cream and Gelato | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

chicken samurai burger

chicken samurai burger

 
close up shot of the patty

close up shot of the patty

 
Well, it may be fast food, but since this is a promotional 'time limited' item, its worth a review.

First of all, the chicken samurai burger alone cost $4.8 shocked For that price, you will be able to get a decent meal in any kopitiam. An extra value meal will cost $7.10, pretty expensive for the quality of food given.

The chicken samurai burger had a nice teriyaki sauce aroma with it, however, the size of the grilled chicken fillet was just too small for that price. The only uniqueness of this burger was the teriyaki sauce, but personally, i dont feel that it is worth the price (roasta burger from KFC is much better). sad
 
Date of Visit: Oct 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

chicken bibimbap Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Food Court

The Korean food here is prepared by Korean and is authentic yet reasonably priced. Long queues are expected during Peak hours. However, it is totally worth waiting.

I ordered a chicken bibimbap set ($4.5), it came with rice, soup and a small serving of kimchi and anchovies each.

The chicken was well marinated and had a mild spicy taste without being too hot. It complements well with the rice and makes a good filling meal. The soup was light on the palate and could be added to the rice to make it less dry. As for the kimchi and anchovies, the only regret was its small portion.

It was really worthwhile at just $4.50. smile
chicken bibimbap set

chicken bibimbap set

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken bibimbap
 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0