OpenRice Index
  
chinchaijiak
This is chinchaijiak living in Sengkang. I am a Foodie, work in Raffles Place. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Serangoon, Macpherson. Thai, Singaporean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Coffeeshop and Burgers and Sandwiches, Roasted Meat, Rice, Nasi Lemak.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review18 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos47 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲43 Follower(s)
chinchaijiak  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 18 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Café | Desserts and Cakes

This place specialise in Bingsu, a currently super popular dessert in South Korea. The dessert here is very authentic and is even better than what i had in Seoul. The most well-received dish is their Injeomi Bingsu (Sweet Rice Cake Bingsu) and i personally love their Butter Honey Toast. Price wise is to the higher side but i feel it's worth it. The location is really really ulu and require some effort if you are going their by public transport.

For more photo, menu and review, visit:

https://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2015/01/27/nunsongyee-the-korean-dessert-cafe-and-their-signature-bingsu/

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 25, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quite decent, provided no queue Smile Jul 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

After the craze is over, i went Kin Kin on a weekday at about 5.30pm then the restaurant is almost vacant. No queue is required so i got that going for me.
A bowl of dry noodle cost S$5 and comes with a generous serving of braised minced meat and fried anchovies, meat balls and a soft-boil egg (it cost S$2.80 in KL. Come on!)
The handmade noodle is not the soft and soggy kind. It’s a little firmer which makes it enjoyable to chew on. Kin Kin also added Pork Lard as part of the recipe, which works out pretty well.
As for their signature chilli, it’s surprising salty, as I was expecting it to be sweeter. If you taste it carefully, it taste like grinded chilli (with seed) pan fried in salt and some kind of chicken seasoning powder. This chilli therefore enhances the noodle like how a seasoning pack enhances the shaker fries.
The overall taste isn’t exactly mind blowing but is more of like “kind of nice”. Every mouthful comes in a blend of egg yolk, crispy anchovies, sweet minced pork, pork lardy chewy noodles and strong spicy kick from the chilli.

For menu, more photos and full review, please visit:
http://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/kin-kin-chilli-pan-mee-handmade-noodle-at-macpherson/

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Roasted Meat

This Pork Belly Char Siew is quite different from those that we find in Hawker Centre or even Chinese Restaurant. The thick spice-infused caramelised coating makes the Char Siew slightly crispy on the outside and the pork belly cut completes the dish with a melt-in-your-mouth texture.

The fragrance of the five spice powder is evidently stronger than the traditional Char Siew and the texture of their fatty Char Siew is one of it’s kind in Singapore. Comparing to a typical Hawker Char Siew, this is much more tender but the thick caramelised coating makes it much sweeter. It’s more like a grilled Kong Ba and is the must-order.

For menu, more photos and review, visit: http://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2014/07/03/char-restaurant-the-chinese-roast-with-a-twist/

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Char Siew,Roast Pork Belly
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

I was quite surprised when I saw that they are offering a waffle, a scoop of ice cream and a cup of gourmet coffee at $10.00. At most places, a waffle already cost more than that and a cup of Caffe Latte already cost about $4.50 to $5.00.

The portion of the waffle is smaller (but not by a lot) but it’s good enough for an after-meal dessert. The waffles is crispy and not too dry. The red velvet waffle actually doesn’t taste very different from an ordinary waffle just that there is a hint of chocolate flavour and red food coloring.

The difference is actually the cream cheese that comes with it that completes a red velvet waffle. I enjoyed Oblong’s cream cheese very much. The cheese salty taste doesn’t overpower the cream’s sweetness and i love it for it’s moist and creamy texture. I don’t even need the ice-cream and I can finish just the waffle with cream cheese.

For more photos, menu and in-depth review, visit:
http://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2014/06/07/oblong-serangoon-garden/

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

For more photos and in-depth review, feel free to visit:
http://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen-claypot-noodle-the-japan-ramen-version/

Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen originates from Osaka Japan and they specialise in Hot Stone Ramen and Rice. Hot stone rice typical range from S$10.00 to S$12.00 and a hot stone ramen cost S$15.00 for a small and S$18.00 for a big size.

A small Kazan Kara Miso Ramen cost me S$15.00++ and i think this is good enough for two people (if you are not the super big eater kind) as apart from the noodle, it also comes with a bowl of rice. What i love about this ramen is – The broth and noodle remains piping hot for the whole time due to the hot stone bowl!

The heat from the piping hot stone bowl made every bite of the ramen and ever
y mouthful of the Tonkotsu broth really enjoyable, especially during this cold, rainy monsoon season.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kazan Kara Miso Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0