OpenRice Index
  
nekyouto
This is nekyouto living in Tiong Bahru. I am a Developer, work in Bukit Panjang. I like to hang out in Chinatown, Paya Lebar, Tiong Bahru. Japanese, Indian, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Coffeeshop, Hawker Centre and Curries, Dim Sum, Ramen, Spicy Stuff.
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review31 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity125 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos60 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
nekyouto  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 31 Reviews in Singapore
Not just Pasta and Sausages... Smile Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

This would be my first visit to the new shopping mall 'Jem'. Rather than walking around the shopping mall aimlessly, I was actually invited to a food tasting event at a 'European Restaurant'. And the following are the list of items that we have tasted that day. lol

 

 

 
'Roasted Pork Knuckle (Half)' served with Sauerkraut, Light Brown Sauce and Mashed Potato
'Pork Knuckle', a difficult delicacy to savour. So why is it a difficult delicacy? While trying out the 'Pork Knuckle' that different types of restaurants are offering, I find the part of cutting the extremely crispy skin to be the most annoying. Some of the 'Pork Knuckle' out there in the market are as hard as a rock and the dining experience could easily turn into an unpleasant one. As for the 'Pork Knuckle' over here, they have nicely sliced it up into small slices, which makes it much more easier to be shared among a group of friends. Although I find parts of the skin to be a bit too tough, but the meat is pretty tender and it goes well with all the side dishes.

 
'CurryWurst'
Though it's known as 'CurryWurst', it's actually 'Bratwurst'(a type of German Sausage) topped with 'Curry Powder', 'Ketchup' and 'Onions'. The 'CurryWurst' were crispy on the outside and it's juicy, bouncy and tender on the inside. On top of that, the nice mixture between the taste of the 'Curry Powder' and the 'Sausage' is heavenly and it's worth a big (+). Fries wise, isn't something special, but you can dipped it in the sauce to enhance the taste of the fries even further.

 

 
'Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce'
This is a plate of 'Black Coloured Pasta' topped with Japanese 'Hotate'(Scallop). Though the overall texture of the 'Pasta' is slightly a bit oily, but the overall taste is pretty interesting. In fact, there's a mix of butter and squid ink in every single bite, which is amazingly interesting. tongue

 
'Apple Crisp'
Probably because I'm not a big fan of chocolate, therefore out of all the desserts that I have tried over here, I find the taste of this to be the best. It's a slice of apple pie topped with a scoop of 'Vanilla' ice cream and sweet 'Caramel' syrup.

For a much more detailed review and more photos, do visit:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2013/10/not-just-pasta-and-sausages.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roasted Pork Knuckle,CurryWurst,Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce
 
Date of Visit: Oct 05, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Pawn to Checkmate Smile Oct 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

 
Prawn Noodles - S$3

Depending on my mood, sometimes I will go for the Dry version and sometimes I will go for the Soup version of the 'Prawn Noodles'. For a start, ingredients like 'Prawns'(Of course lah), 'Meatballs', slices of 'Fish Cake', 'Beansprouts', 'Kang Kong' and few slices of 'lean meat'. If you are into spicy stuff, the dry version of the 'Prawn Noodles' over here can really be very spicy. Besides for the powderish 'Chilli Powder', you can also add the 'sliced chilli', which can really spice up the overall taste of this dish to the MAX and that's where the bowl of non pepperish, tasty soup steps in. lol The reason why I keep going back for more 'Prawn Noodles' was mainly due to the fresh ingredients and the tasty soup that they are offering over here. On top of that, the stall owner is pretty polite and he keeps saying 'Thank You' for patronising his stall and he really puts his heart in ensuring the quality of the delicious bowl of 'Prawn Noodles' that will be delivered to all the customers everyday. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

水粿 - ABC? (A Broken Chinese) Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 
S$2.40 for 8 pieces.

Everyone has a different way of judging a good 'Chwee Kueh'. Some goes for the 'Dried Radish', some goes for the texture of the 'Chwee Kueh', some goes for the 'Chilli' and some of them would be looking at the combination of all 3 factors. As for myself, I go for the chilli of the 'Chwee Kueh' and the chilli that they are offering over here are fantastic and I love it... The crunchy and generous portion of 'Dried Radish' and the soft 'Chwee Kueh' are a big (+) too.

Even though, the overall taste of the 'Chwee Kueh' have dropped over the last 20+ years, but it's still remains to be pretty good. And I can empty the whole plate of 'Chwee Kueh' and all the ingredients effortlessly.

However, I still prefer the taste back then where 'Chwee Kueh' were once offered at a price of S$1 for 5 pieces and Tiong Bahru Market used to be a wet market. tongue
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chwee Kueh
 
Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai Food Feast... Smile Sep 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

I have been invited to a food tasting event at this Thai restaurant in Katong area. Even though I'm late for the event, but I still managed to reach the place as they were about to dig into the first dish...

 
'Dry Curry Pork' - S$8
This would be my favourite dish that night. Although, it's given the name 'Dry Curry Pork', but in actual fact the succulent 'Pork' have this nice aroma and taste of good 'Curry'. On top of that, the bite size pieces of 'Pork' not only makes it easy to chew, it also acts as a pretty good finger food too. lol

 
'Claypot Tung Hoon Prawn' - S$16
This is actually very good. The 'Tung Hoon'(Vermicelli) is pretty moist and even though it's dark in colour, it's not too salty. Too bad, I have to keep a bit of space in my stomach for the desserts, else I would have emptied the whole claypot of 'Tung Hoon' within minutes. By the way, there's lots of prawns inside this small little pot of 'Tung Hoon' too. lol

Click here for more photos and a detailed review:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2013/09/thai-food-feast.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Dry Curry Pork,Claypot Tung Hoon Prawn
 
Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Chinese Soup

 
In the past, I was a frequent user of the National Library located near Bugis Junction. Before stepping in and after stepping out from the National Library, I would never miss the opportunity to savour the delicious Pig Organ Soup(猪杂汤) located in the coffee shop located at Level 1 of Bras Basah Complex.This is the Pig Organ Soup that I'm referring to. The ingredients thrown into every one bowl of Pig Organ Soup is satisfactory. Besides that, peanuts were provided for free too. Best of all, you can choose to have the soup with either white rice or yam rice. Isn't that great? On top of that, the soup itself was clear enough for you to actually see the amount of ingredients thrown into each and every one bowl of Pig Organ Soup. There's meatballs, lean meat, livers, salted vegetables, etc... which is a big whao... tongue

For a start, the meatballs are bouncy and chewy. The liver isn't too raw and too overcook, which I love it. The rest of the meaty stuff are pretty average though. However, the best is yet to come. For me, the best part about this soup would be the crunchy salted vegetables. They are crunchy and not to salty. Just for the salted vegetables alone, I could easily pop down a whole bowl of Yam Rice easily. By the way, the Yam Rice over here also comes with a nice fragrance of Yam and if you are into red chillies, you could emptied a whole bowl of Yam Rice with the help of the fiery sliced chillies too. I guess the biggest drawback would be the taste of the soup. Although it's tasty but it doesn't comes with a over concentrated meaty taste.

 
Here's a photo of the stall and the uncle behind all the cooking... tongue

For full review and more photos, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/have-breakfrom-reading-have-pig-organ.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pig Organ Soup,Yam Rice
 
Date of Visit: Jul 16, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0