OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Food for thought indeed. Smile Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly


I have a liking for cafe or restaurant that embraces the concept for their customers to customise their own dish. I guess it's a little more of a hassle for the chef but definitely more pleasing to the individual customers since all of us have unique taste.

Like eighteen chef, Food for thought also have the similar interesting concept that I love, one which allow customers to be adventurous to customize their own dish.

 
As you can see, the price of the various 'ingredients' are stated individually and you can easily customize your own dish according to your taste bud and also, financial practicalitly wise, according to your budget.

Now that there is also circle line that leads to Botanical Garden, makes travelling alot easier.

 
The garlic mushroom smell and taste really good and does not have a too over powering garlic taste. People like me who do not prefer too heavy garlic taste would still love it i'm sure.

Salad is freshly made and vegetables are really crunchy and good.

Sausage is grilled(I supposed) nicely and not too geasy. Chewy and tangy.

Love my own customized dish! smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Customize your own dish
 
Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Buffet | Korean BBQ

 
Korean KBB provides not only a range of meat available for BBQ, ranging from chicken to beef and to pork but also a wide spread of selection for soup base ingredient.

If you are a lover of both BBQ steamboat/ Steam boat and Korean food, then this place is for you. This place serves 2 kind of free drinks as well. Limes juice and Rice tea to help ease the greasy feeling after too much of BBQ meat.

The lettuce provided there however is of much smaller size. Harder to wrap, but easier for consumption.

Meat on the other hand is slightly far too sweet and easily gets the jelak feeling if not eaten with lettuce and with the soup.

Personally I would prefer ssikkek BBQ over KBB since ssikkek honestly have a wider range of cook or raw food selection. The only plus point for KBB is only the pot of soup which can aid in clearing the greasy feeling after too much bbq.

venue is rather too cramp and on peak hour, the walking space is rather limited.

Bought groupon and paid $18.90 for Dinner deal.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

If you love the concept of starbucks, a place where you can savour on drinks/desserts and have a chitchat session with your friends and families or say, while doing some work with a laptop plucked in, then this place is for you. (except that this place is not very condusive in terms of noise control since everyone is talking at the same time at a small cafe)

Ranging from cone ice-cream, japanese ice-cream dessert, waffles to hot drinks, there bound to have something that you can savour while you sit and have a chat away session.

 
Personally, I think Azuki bean paste(basically mashed red beans) goes best with matcha ice-cream, naturally I picked these desserts as our choice. I picked the one with Mochi while Le sister picked the one that comes with matcha jelly cubes.

In my opinion, the concept of the cafe is better than the desserts provided. Desserts are slightly over-rated for the price we paid. $8.20 each. The disappointment for me comes when the mochi is not chewy at all. Is'nt mochi suppose to be chewy. sad And on the otherhand, the matcha jelly is far too chewy too. Would really prefer the texture to be softer instead of feeling lik agar agar. And the matcha taste is not strong enough. The only compensation is the blend taste of the mochi and matcha jelly win points for neutralising the combination of the ultimate sweet vanilla ice-cream + Azuki bean paste.

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Roasted Chicken Smile Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French


Situated directly opposite Jamie's Italian yet able to sttract their own group of crowd.

 
When My sister and I was waiting for our turn to get a table into the restaurant, on the first look, the first comment my sister made was: Ayer, the chicken looks kinda dry and tough.

Thank God I never listen to her. I thought since the poulet chicken is their signature dish, it should'nt be that bad after all and decided I should still give it a try.

There is a saying of don't judge a book by the cover. Well, I 'll say never judge a chicken by how the skin looked.
The chicken came in their special mushroom sauce and the skin taste kinda sweet like some honey roasted chicken. The meat on the otherhand, is totally not what we expected but rather the opposite. It was tender and juicy and goes well with their sauce. However, do note that the sauce given i guarantee you is not enough for the half chicken. Suggest you request for extra sauce since it wont be charged to your bill anyway.

 
On a side note, the Oxtail stew taste kinda like the kind of canned food braised pigs trotters which our mom would have feed us with during our childhood days during her busy day. Beef is marinated well but it is rather on the tough side and really taste like the canned food. If you prefer tender beef then I guess more or less this dish ain't gonna please you.

Service wise, somehow the server will 'forget' to give your change back once you make payment(it happened to the couple next to our table as well) and we ended up waiting aimlessly for 15minutes until we enquire again while the servers stand around doing nothing.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Poulet Roasted Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good food. Not enough manpower. OK Sep 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Food taste awesome. Just portion is really not enough for a guy. Not too bad for a small eater girl though.
The Duck Confit taste a little like the Ayam Penyat in my opinion. Just too salty. The mash potato taste really superb with milky taste yet not too over powering. Skin of the duck confit can be rather tough. The mash potato wins more points from me.

Plus points: great service from great attitude servers.
Down side: waiting time during peak hour is horrible. Even when you get to go int the restaurant, it will probably take 15 minutes before your order is taken and 45mins to 1 hour for the food to serve. It's a small little place so don't expect it to be a quiet place but rather, the opposite spectrum instead.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0