OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Farewell Venue Smile Sep 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steaks and Grills

Somehow or rather, it seems that everytime a colleague is leaving, Aston become the first choice for farewell lunch gathering since we have one that is situated so near our company and the price is relatively not wallet-taxing.

 
If you are a Kenny Roger's macaroni & cheese lover like me, you will really enjoy the cheesy macaroni that Aston serve as well. Simply to put it, they taste absolutely the same. A cheaper alternative for an expensive meal at Kenny Rogers instead. If I did not remember the prices wrongly, Kenny Roger does sell their cheesy macaroni for $3 or lightly more than that as a single side dish each. And if you make a typical singaporean comparison, Aston is selling their side dishes for 50cents cheaper. Volla! you save yourself a good 50cents.

As for the chicken, well, not over done and is still tender. good enough for me. and if you find that you need more sauce, you can actually make request for more for absolutely free. talk about saving money.

Personally I still feel the potato salad still taste the best at the branch found at THE CATHAY instead. I kind of feel that the potato always either taste less cooked or harder in anywhere else instead.

Lunch crowd will start flooding in starting from 1130am onwards and if you are coming in for lunch, do remember to come in early or make early reservations.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hickory BBQ Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Mar 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nathan's low profile 21st OK Sep 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches


Just turn right and take a 15mins walk after you exit from Exit A from Mountbatten Mrt station will lead you to a stretch of shophouses with various pubs, cafes and restaurant at the opposite side of the road. Along the way you will pass by a school at your left. The cafe is just somewhere at the opposite side after you pass by the school.
Not too hard to locate this place.

 
I ordered their Honey mustard chicken kebab (Boneless chicken filets seasoned with honey mustard , skewered and grilled) for a try since I was'nt really craving on burgers as much as I have heard that their specialties are actually their burger dishes. I would really have to say this dish is best eaten hot. The honey mustard sauce makes a great combi that goes along with the kebab and bell pepper. Mash potato I would say its a little on the dry side though.

 
On the other hand, my date of the day, a.k.a the birthday boy ordered the Bolly Wooly burger (Juicy lamb patty, on a bed of lettuce and tomato, smothered with homemade curry remoulade and topped mango chutney on a honey oat bun). In my opinion, the burger really taste and smell very bolly wood. The patty itself taste and smell like the usual mutton curry you can get in prata stalls. Say, if you are not a indian spice fanatic, then I suggest you to give this dish a miss. Again, the main dish only comes with 1 side. Either a coleslaw or mash potato. For a heavy eater, I am pretty sure they will probably still have alot of stomach space for some dessert to end their meal.

 
Ended our meal with a sweet note. The ice-cream taste like Wall's Ice Cream and not Ben & Jerry. A little disappointed. Taste rather common and nothing special about it.

Venue is rather small but this place has long tables that can accomodate lasge group gathering up to 10pax each long table which they have 2 long stretch of tables. And few bar counter look alike tables. (We end up sharing table with 2 other strangers on 1 of the bar counter look alike table. That is how small the cafe is.)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Honey Mustard Chicken Kebab
 
Date of Visit: Aug 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Ramen! Smile Sep 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen

Spicy Minced Pork Tonkotsu Ramen

Spicy Minced Pork Tonkotsu Ramen

 
Ramenplay Crispy Dango & Gyoza

Ramenplay Crispy Dango & Gyoza

 
Business is very thriving at this outlet. Even at 8+pm, the whole restaurant is still buzzing with business full of patrons walking in. Be sure to wait up to 15 minutes at least before getting serve by the attendance.

If you are a takoyaki ball lover like me, you would really enjoy the Ramenplay Crispy Dango. Ramenplay Crispy Dango is made up of mouth-watering crispy chicken balls topped with mayonnaise and plum sauce. Sure to spice up your meal and add on a different flavour to the usual ramen meal.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ramenplay Crispy Dango
 
Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting concept OK Sep 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Fusion

 

 

 
This restaurant offers a wide range of selection of Western and Japanese fusion food. The only place with the interesting concept that allow me to eat spaghetti with chopsticks! Personally, I feel that the prices offered for their spaghetti is rather acceptable.

Only thing that I feel they should reconsider is the fact that they don't allow pre-reservation on a weekend. (And I thought all the more because of the large pool of weekend crowd they should allow a certain percentage of the patron intake as pre-reservation.)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Yuba,Shrimp,Mozzarella & Onsen Egg
 
Date of Visit: May 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food at wee hours! Cry Sep 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

Beef Lagsana

Beef Lagsana

 
If you visit café cartel after 9pm, side dishes/desserts/cakes would be on 50% discount. great place for gathering and after food dessert with friends.

NEVER TRY THE BEEF LASAGNA from the branch in Nex. The amount of salt they use for this dish seems free. salty to an extend that I cant even finish half of the dish. Bad one. meh. not worth a try.

Service seems slow or rather, maybe due to the timing I visit(10+pm), the service attendance seems slacken. And took really their own sweet time to attend to both my friend and I. Bad impression number 2.

Like I say, the only attractive part is the 50% discount for desserts and cakes.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cakes,side dishes
 
Date of Visit: Jul 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0