OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Swatow Dim Sum Buffet OK Nov 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Teochew | Dim Sum | Seafood

We love the old school push-cart dim sum experience. The restaurant is very big, probably enough for 30 or more tables. However, there were only 2-3 dim sum trolleys that were going around, which means most of the time food were all gone when the trolley comes by. Thus, it is better to be seated along the sides so that chances of you getting your plate filled were higher (esp on wkends!).

Liu Sha Bao is a must try =)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Molten Egg Yolk Bun & Fried Salmon Skin
 
Date of Visit: Nov 26, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shinkei Restaurant OK Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

 

 
Shinkei japanese ala cart buffet is priced at $32++ for lunch & $38++ for dinner. We must say that the food is not exactly of premium quality, but considering the wide selection of food, I guess the price is still reasonable.

 
Buta Kimchi Itame (Stir Fried Pork with Kimchi) is pretty good. Tangy crunch & flavorful pork slices, quite appetizing. Gyozas & tako yaki were yummy. The outer skin of tako yaki is thin & crisp, with generous filling within. The octopus meat is quite chewy.

We recommend their Garlic Fried Rice, very fragrant & the garlic taste lingered in your mouth. Sashimi Moriawase is so so, we had tasted better  & fresher ones. There were many grilled dishes to choose from but noting too fancy that worth mentioning.

Will we go back to the restaurant again? well, probably not unless you are nearby the area & wanted some japanese buffet.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Jack's Place OK Jan 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

 

 

 

 
Went to jack's place with my family for lunch today & tried their set meals . The set meal includes soup of the day (broccoli), a slice of garlic bread, main course (choose either grilled chicken or sirloin steak), dessert of the day (panna cotta), complete with either a cup of tea/coffee.

The broccoli soup was good & creamy with tiny bits of prawns in it. Love to dip the garlic bread into the warm soup to enjoy maximum flavours =) My mum & sister ate grilled chicken with orange sauce, mashed potato & broccoli while my father & I had medium rare sirloin steak, mashed potato & broccoli. The chicken is pretty yummy, tender & flavourful paired very well with the sauce. The steak however is not very delicious. I guess is due to the cut of the beef - too much tendon, making it too tough to chew & slice. We all love the mashed potato as it was very smooth & creamy. The broccoli on the other hand was a bit too hard.
Panna cotta was served in a very small dessert glass, topped with red bean. It is a nice combination but I guess it will be even better if the panna cotta is softer.

I guess I will not return to Jack's place for meals again. The set is considered reasonable & cheap but the food is not really that nice.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

 

 

 

 

 
This is our first time dining here & we were totally disappointed. We needed to pay at the cashier before going into the restaurant. To our dismay, this place is not an aircon restaurant. Though there were fans around, but can you imagine eating steamboat & bbq for lunch around 12pm? Totally discomfort, hot & sweaty++ due to the scorching sun. All seats are placed outdoors with insufficient shelters and the unbearable heat that is coming out from the bbq & steamboat stove. The fans were also blowing hot air/fumes from other tables bbq stove from different directions. Thus we reckoned eating lunch is definitely a no no but was too late.

We proceed to get some ready to eat food from cooked food section. There were glutinous rice, stir fry broccoli with mushrooms & baby corns, fried nuggets, fried prawns, herbal chicken, shark fin soup. The herbal chicken is quite tasty, the meat is tender & flavourful. We like the herbal chicken soup with a tinge of herbal taste. There is a sushi section with assorted sushi. Nothing special or worth mentioning as they were just basic sushi. We tried a few sushi but they were not very yummy, can't taste the usual vinegar in the rice & the rice was a bit hard.

There were meat section, where different kinds of meat (chicken, beef, duck, chicken wings) can be found. All were marinated (black pepper, cajun, oyster, spice, etc) & put on big plates for people to take. As the meat were prepared & marinated in huge quantity, those meat on the top of the plate appears dry. We must say that the chicken satay were quite good, very flavourful & taste almost like those satay sold outside. The beef were not as good. We tried a few different beef flavours & they all had a bit of weird taste sad Chicken wings were all time favourites for bbq. Most tables including us ate quite a fair bit of the chicken wings. Well marinated wings!

As for the steamboat, there were many ingredients to choose from. Sad to say that my favourite 'tau pok' & beancurd were not very fresh & had a sour taste after we tried them sad The fu zhou fish ball, mushroom balls, fish balls were not bad. There were free flow of drinks & desserts (fresh fruits, 'Cheng Teng', jellies, cream puffs, mini eclairs, mini cakes, assorted ice cream).

The plates & utensils appeared to be not washed properly with stains. We had to wash them ourselves before they were fit for usage. I am really glad that I got a habit to look at my food before I consumed. Guess what did I find? Lots of dead ants & some still crawling in the pool of water where the ice cream scoop was being soaked! I showed my hubby & reminded him to pay attention to his food before consuming.

We are not going back to this place again for dining definitely due to the poor hygiene & dinning atmosphere. Even though there were a variety of ingredients to choose from, but we believe the quality is more important than quantity. I should say this is the worst dining experience we had so far.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Saizeriya Cry Dec 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

 

 
Went with my friends to Sazeriya for dinner as we are around Orchard area. We wonder whether the food is good as there were super long queue. We tried a few side dishes togther with our mains. Escargots were not nice at all, full of garlic but the escargot were so tiny tongue
Beef stew was not that nice either. Beef cubes were too tough & I need to chew very hard sad Squid Ink Spaghetti was not too bad, pretty decent portion & is cheap. My friends ate salmon set & chicken set & they mentioned was quite ok. We all top up extra $3 for a bowl of salad & free flow of drinks (can choose from soft drinks to tea/coffee). 

Overall, do not have too much or high expectations of the food since the prices are very cheap & yes, there are no services charge! However, personally I will not go back & eat again (once is enough, I would rather eat in food court tongue) Quite disappointed with the staffs' services as well. We pressed bell & waited for quite sometime for them to take our orders. 

 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0