OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
上海人家  OK Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Dim Sum

 

 

 
I stayed nearby & decided to drop by the place to try their food. There are only about 8 tables inside the shop & the seats are prety close to each other (practically can hear the next table's conversation).
The boss is from shanghai, very friendly but very hard core. We ordered only 3 dishes to try for our lunch but we spend more than one hour inside the shop, not because of eating but waiting for the dishes. They cooked their food items in batches, thus you will see all tables getting the same dishes at the same time. If you ordered an item different from the rest, then you need to prepare to wait sad

We wanted to order beef noodles initailly but were not available that day. Thus, we tried 排骨鸡丁葱油面 instead. Frankly speaking, the presentation does not look appetizing at all. I would dare to say the presentation of any fishball noodles at hawker centre beats them. However, as you dig in, you will find the meat well seasoned & flavourful. Their noodles were handmade as well & is quite chewy.

上海生煎包 is a must to order. The fillings were very flavourful. Accordingly to the boss, they only handmade the dumplings when there is an order. Thus, the dumplings served were piping hot straight from the wok.

I love the 南瓜饼. Basically it is just red bean paste wrapped in pumpkin dough & pan fried till slightly crispy. The sweetness is just right to my liking.
Overall, even though the food is nice, it is definitely not worth the wait or value for money.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  排骨鸡丁葱油面,上海生煎包,南瓜饼
 
Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ajisen Ramen Smile Feb 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

 

 
We had pork shabu tom yum ramen($14.90) & kumamoto ramen ($14.90) set with side dishes (choose one out of 12 items) cuttlefish & fish cake & 2 glasses of cold green tea. We ordered extra osaka ohsho cripsy gyoza. The gyoza fillings were very flavourful wrapped in a thin layer of skin. Best to dip the gyoza in vinegar before eating =) My hubby love the Cuttlefish very much as they were deep fried till very crispy! I love the fish cake as it resembles thai fish cake & are very yummy & chewy. Thumbs up for the side dishes!

I love my pork shabu tom yum ramen. The pork shabu is sliced thinly, paired really well when eaten with the noodles & bean sprouts. I really don't mind eating this everyday tongue
The kumamoto ramen is very yummy too. Thick flavourful pork broth, meat is very tender also. Probably too much MSG is added to the soup, we felt quite thirsty after the meal. Overall, the food is decent & we will surely go back to try other dishes again smile
 
Date of Visit: Feb 22, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Menya Musashi Kodou OK Feb 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

 

 

 
This restaurant serves a variety of japanese food with reasonable prices. They had free flow of cold/hot green tea & complimentary hard boiled eggs for customers.

We tried their Tsukemen this round for lunch. There are 4 types of soup base to choose from - orginal, black, spicy or tomato. There are also free upsize of noodles from 2x up to 5x for those super hungry ones. We ordered a orginal & black soup base Tsukemen. The taste was quite good but we find the soup not hot at all, just lukewarm & turns cold very fast due to the powerful airconditioning. The Cha Shu was very tender & flavourful, thumbs up for that. We will definitely go back to try their other ramens/dishes.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hock Lam Beef OK Jan 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

 

 
Went to have our lunch at Hock Lam Beef. My hubby ordered a angus beef set meal ($15.90) which consists of a serving of braised Australian Angus beef paired with beef flavoured rice ($2.50), braised egg, firm tofu & completed with a serving of fruits. The beef is pretty good. Tender, juicy & flavourful. The little braised egg & tofu is really nice, soft & delicate. Very appettizing when eaten with rice & paired with the thick salty braised sauce.
The rice on the other hand is cooked with beef broth for the extra beef flavour.

I had beef noodles ($9.90) instead. I choose yellow mee (or kway teow / thick mee hoon) with beefballs & ribeye slices in herbal broth. You can choose beef tendon, brisket slices or even mixed beef depending on your preferences. The broth is very flavourful as it is stewed overnight in 13 herbs & ingredients. I love the tender ribeye slices & slightly chewy soft beefballs very much. I add on $2 to have a braised egg, a serving of fruits, salad & a drink which I think is quite worth it.

Overall, we think the food is pretty decent & reasonably priced. However, the variety is very limited so I guess we may not return for dinning again.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mado cafe OK Jan 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

 

 
This is our first time having a meal at Mado cafe. They serve western food, pastas & desserts (waffles, ice creams & cakes).

We had a prime ribeye steak ($24.90) & chicken parmigiana ($16.90). The ribeye we had was 200g, medium rare. The ribeye was really tender, juicy & full of flavour with a tinge of herb taste. It comes with a big spoon of black pepper sauce & a bit of mustard with some salad & fries. Pretty presentation & very yummy!

The chicken parmigiana was a southern Italian recipe- breaded chicken layered with cheese & tomato. The breaded chicken was fried till very crispy & goes very well with the melted cheese & tomato, very flavourful indeed.

Unfortunately, we do not like the salad. The menu picture shows broccoli but we were served salad instead. I reckoned they ran out of broccoli? The salad dressing is not very nice, my hubby said it had a weird taste.

Overall, the food is still quite good.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 10, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0