OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Nydc Christmas Special 2013 Smile Dec 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

We attended the Xmas party at nydc hosted by food blogger, ladyironchef and sponsored by nydc. We get to sampled 10 festive dishes nydc has specially came up with for this year's Christmas.

 
Here are some of the highlights of the dishes we had at nydc's Christmas party. One of the festive beverages we had, Gingy's Butter Rum Bath Elephanccino ($8.80) It's warm chocolate w ginger bread cookie dipped. Sweet! We started off with Elves' Salmon Logs and Elves' Mini Meat Munchies, $9.80 each. The crepe is stuffed with Smoked salmon and cream cheese filling, while the meat munchies is served on toast topped w jam on the top. Very good combination and love it!

 
Main courses - We were given to choose from Santa's Wagyu Steak Frites ($28.80), Merry Merry Mixed Grill ($26.80) or Traditional Cornish Hen ($16.80). We tried the Merry Merry Mixed Grill and Wagyu Steak which is our favorite. Steak grilled to perfection with the pink meat within, tender and juicy! And it satisfy a steak lover like myself. Nydc is famous for their desserts and mud pies. And for this year's Christmas, nydc has specially came up with Tutti Frutti Mudpie ($11.80). It's really good, must try! Thank you Brad for having us!

 
For complete review of the 10 festive dishes, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/12/nydc-singapore-christmas-dinner-special.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Merry Merry Mixed Grill
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best table side view Smile Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Hotel | Fine Dining | Brunch

The first thing you notice at Equinox is not its food. It's the beautiful view at 69 floors high, that overlooks Singapore’s CBD and all over Marina Bay. Overall, it's a good experience with such an idyllic setting, view, service and spread. Everyone should dine at least once up there! We made our reservation days back for a high tea buffet which is 330-5pm.

 
There were the breads, scones, the local snacks such as egg tarts, kueh lapis, malay kuehs etc. Other side were the chocolate mousse cakes, walnut carrot cakes & etc. Other worthy bites are the mini lemon meringue tarts and chocolate fruit tarts. The tart itself were really crunchy and simply delicious.

 
Western selection include salmon sandwiches, baked pasta, stew beef, meatballs and some main dishes. There were Beijing roast duck wraps and salads. The Chinese selection includes dim sum buns and dumplings - and there are bentos of sushi assortment for sushi lover. Despite it being a high tea buffet, I find the spread rather wide. The buffet includes free flow of TWG teas such as Honey Chamomile, English Breakfast, Grey Earl etc. However, Premium tea flavors are additional charged. Ice cream of diff unique flavors is available as well! The food quality for its high tea buffet will definitely simpler in comparison to the lunch and dinner buffet.

I find the high tea duration is too short, it's only 90 mins & we were chomping our food down quickly. It would be great if it's 2 hours or so. Read more on the food here, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/06/swissotel-equinox-restaurant-high-tea.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemon meringue tarts, Chocolate fruit tarts
 
Date of Visit: Jun 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chocolate fix! Smile Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

You may have already heard of Wimbly Lu, which is a little cafe popular for its desserts and chocolates. Wimbly Lu is hidden in a private estate near Serangoon, 15 mins walk from Nex. I love the design and ambience of the place, it gave a cozy and homely vibe to the cafe. There were a huge selection of chocolate desserts to choose from. We were spoilt from choices.

 

 
There were the highly raved Root Beer Cake, which I feel it's something interesting but tasted average. Must try dishes are waffles, molten chocolate cake and sticky date pudding w caramel. I personally like all their chocolate cakes and it nv fails to satisfy a sweet tooth like myself. One of my favorite place I would go for a dessert fix!

Read more at, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/08/wimbly-lu-chocolate-cafe-singapore.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Unique & Affordable! Smile Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Stall / Kiosk | Burgers and Sandwiches

Super Cute Taiwanese Bear Paw Burgers has now arrived in Singapore at *SCAPE, Orchard. I noticed these cute paws burgers on Instagram and I knew I had to try this with it's uniqueness of flavours in their steamed buns and looks appealing. But do note that strawberry flavour is seasonal. So in the mean time, there are 5 flavours. Set meal starts from $7.80 which includes karaage crispy chicken/ fried rice steamed bun + fries + bottled drinks. Add $1 to upsize to cheese fries. Ala carte bun starts from $4.80. I would suggest getting a set meal, it's much more worth it. We tried the paw bear gelato as well! Really good. Here how you order and it's simple,

Step 1: Choose a Meat - Karaage Crispy Chicken ($4.80) / Oishi Fish Fillet ($5.80)

Step 2: Choose a Bun -Original Milk / Brown Sugar / Yam / Curry / Oat / Squid Ink / Strawberry (seasonal)

Step 3: Choose a Sauce - Mushroom / Sweet & Spicy Thai / Black Pepper / Tartar / Honey Mustard / Golden Cheese3

Overall, I would perfer the Karaage chicken to the Fish Fillet. If you're in town and wouldn't want to spend more than $10 on a meal. Check this out! Blogged and read more at, http://www.jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/08/bear-bites-singapore.html
 
Date of Visit: Aug 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Halal | Buffet

If you're looking for buffet spread of local cuisine served from a Halal certified kitchen, this is for you. We had Citibank 1 for 1 promo so we decided to check out Tiffany. I was a little disappointed w the Seafood section, there were the Mussel, Sashimi & Prawns on that day. I was expecting more than these since it cost $50++ for a dinner buffet. I read some reviews there were chili crabs, but there weren't any. I feel the range of food selections needs to be extended. Sashimi is fresh and loving it!

The best of all in the buffet were the dessert portion, it offers a variety of cakes to choose from. If you're a Durian lover, you will be delighted to know that Tiffany serves one of the best Durian Pengat and I had numerous bowls! Their food tasted average and was nothing much worth remembering. Some tasted slightly above average, while others fell short of it. There were the local delight segment - Chicken rice w roasted chicken or duck. On the other side were the Dimsum (Custard Bun & Har Gao) & Kimchi noodles. Sadly, the noodles they call it were maggie mee D: It's not that Tiffany is bad but for the price I'm paying (Without 1 for 1 promo it's $52.80++), I would choose to dine elsewhere w more seafood selections & not just pure local cuisine.

Blogged, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/09/tiffany-cafe-restaurant-furama-city.html
 
Date of Visit: Aug 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0