OpenRice Index
  
picturemainstream
This is picturemainstream living in Bishan. I am a Student Italian, Japanese, Fusion are my favorite cuisines. I also love and Sushi/Sashimi, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 7 First(s)
No. of Review34 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity387 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos148 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲50 Follower(s)
picturemainstream  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 34 Reviews in Singapore
Average tasting OK Mar 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bakery

Came here for dessert.

 
It is quite a small shop. There are a total of 16 chairs. 8 outdoor and 8 indoor.

 
Everything that was displayed had limited quantity. 

 
I decided to buy the Ginger Brulee Tart($4.10 after discount). Because I love ginger. Took one bite and I could taste the sweet custard and the spicy ginger. It tasted a little like gingerbread cookies. However, the ginger was very overpowering with it's spiciness. My tastebud could not really take it so I did not finish my tart. Not suitable for kids or for people with strong tastebud. It's a pity. If only they tone down the ginger, it would be better.

 
My friend bought the Fuji- A light green tea mousse complimented with a lychee gelee insert and a soft green tea sponge base. The mousse was not the light and fluffy kind but more of the thick and kueh-like kind. The lychee from the jelly was quite mild. You could not taste the lychee unless you were looking for it. Quite a weird combination, lychee with green tea. However, I like the shape of it. Looks like Mount Fuji.

 
The Ispahan- Layers of rose bavarian cream and raspberry mousse with a lychee gelee middle and lychee fruit. This mousse was lighter than the Fuji. The top layer is sweet while the bottom is acidic. Not a nice combination.

 
Strawberry Shortcake- Lightly sweetened whipped cream and juicy fresh strawberry, sandwiched between layers of soft sponge cake. The cream really was not too sweet and the strawberries were acidic. It goes well together unlike the Ispahan. The sponge cake could be softer and lighter.
To me, this was not a trip worth making.
Supplementary Information:
Student Weekday Special- 15% off all cakes and pastries till 5 pm from Tuesday to Friday.

Teatime Special- Any cake/pastry and a cup of tea at $6.80 nett, 1 pm to 5 pm from Tuesday to Friday.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $4.10(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Whoa, Delicious! Smile Mar 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Came here to eat their waffles.

 
My friend almost walk passby the shop withour realising it. Lucky I was there. 

 
I love the decor of the shop. Something like Alice in Wonderland feel. You can even play with the stufff toys there.

 
The wall also shows what they are selling.

 
So I went to the counter to order. Some of the desserts looked really tempting. However I was set on ordering the 'whoa'ffles already. I ordered the 'Whoa'ffles, Pandan Ice Cream Drizzled with Gula Melaka($8.90) and Vanilla Caramel Dream($3.20).

 
The drink came first. It had hints of vanilla and slight caramel. But tasted like normal black tea.

 
Finally the 'whoa'ffles came. It looks really nice. So picture worthy. The waffles were crispy and fluffy. The gula melaka was really delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness. Pandan ice cream had a slightly familar tasted. A little like the Lapis Sagu(9 layered kueh) from beganwan solo. Somehow I like everything more when I taste them seperately then together. But overall it still a lovely dish.
Will be back for more of their 'whoa'ffles!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  'Whoa'ffles Pandan Ice Cream Drizzle with Gula Melaka
 
Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice Brunch  Smile Mar 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Came to Lola's Cafe for brunch wth two of my friends. When we came, the place was packed so we had to queue. They have a machine on the spot for you to get your queue number and once there is a table, they will give you a call. 

 
They also would ask if you would not mind the sofa seat which is actually the one you can see in the picture. It looks okay but in front of the sofa seat is a few rows of table. It's a little awkward as you will be looking at other people when you look straight.

 
Finally recieved a call and went back to the place. The waiter led us to an indoor seat but forgot to give us the menu so we took one ourself.

 
I ordered the Mushroom Melt($10)- Brioche Bread, Swiss White Mushroom, Mozeralla Cheese Cream, Garden Salad, Balsamic Dressing. Took my first bite and could taste the yummy mushroom-y taste with the savoury chewy cheese and light creamy sauce. The bread was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Really delicious. Definitely a must to order if you love mushroom. However it can get a little overwhelming after more bites. The salad dressing was not to my liking. It was citrus-y and sweet. Not so nice. However my friend was okay with it. The only thing I like from the salad was the cherry tomatoes.

 
We also ordered the Honey Paprika Crispy Wings($8)- Wings, Honey, Spices. True enough the skin was crispy and the meat was tender. You could taste the spiciness from the paprika and the sweetness from the honey. A nice combination.

 
Asked for plain water and it came in this bottle with shot glass. Quite cool.

 
Some of the tables if you look below, you can see that it looks something like the lower part of a sewing machine. You can even step on it and it will move.

 
Some of their decor. 'Beauty is in the eyes of the BEERholder'.
This is definitely a good place to bring your friends for brunch but do make a reservation if you do not want to wait.
Supplementary Information:
No GST or Service Charge.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Honey Paprika Crispy Wings,Mushroom Melt
 
Table Wait Time: 16 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $12.50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

NETT price OK Mar 26, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Pasta

Came here for dinner. 

 
1 table is big enough to fit 6 people.

 
I looked through the menu and could see that all the food was priced less than $10 except for some of the grilled meat. Also for $2.80 you can get free flow of drinks.

 
After deciding what we wanted, we press the service button and waited. When a table presses the button, the LED sign will change to whatever table number that presses it.

 
I ordered Potato Omelette($5.90)- Egg, Bacon, Potato and Corn. Shared it with my friend. Potato was cooked. Corn was sweet. Bacon was yummy. Not bad I guess.

 
My main dish was the curry baked rice($5.90)- Rice, chicken, bell peppers baked with cheese and curry on top. Beware, this dish is spicy. 4 big bites and you will start to open your mouth. I like the chicken, it was crispy but a little overcooked. 

 
At the end we went to the counter to make out payment.

Supplementary Information:
Prices are NETT.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Weekday Lunch OK Mar 26, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Buffet

Came here to celebrate my friends birthday. When we arrived, there was a long queue of people. Luckily we made a reservation. However, even the reservation side had a queue. But it was only a queue to pay money and get a stamp on your hand so that you can enter in. 

 
The first thing I went for was the tempura(battered, deep fried items)- Ebi, dango and a vegetable. It tasted okay,was kinda expecting more since I like tempura stuff.

 
Tried the seafood pasta next. So so. But it is definitely not something for people with low tolerant of heat to take. It was very spicy. One strand and you could taste the spiciness. It something you can give a miss.

 
Took the sashimi. The fish wasn't nice at all. The rest was okay. They also had cold prawns. The prawn shell were a little hard to peel for some. But still it tasted sweet and nice. 

 
The best thing served at the buffet I feel is this hotpot. I love the soup- sweet and slightly bitter? A nice taste. We even use it to cook some of our sashimi. 

 
The chawamushi- comes with crab meat and a ginko nut. The egg was a little saltier than what you normally get but still it was nice. 

 
For the rosti my friend said it taste somthing like the one at Marche. Quite nice. 

 
Chicken is good to try. Crispy, tasty and yummy.
Sushi were available as well, however they were okay only.

 
Now on to desserts!

 
The best thing was their waffles! Thick, fluffly and yummy. They have a few sauce to go with it- jam, honey, chocolate and one other that I forgot. The waffle tasted best when drizzled with honey. 

 
The cake. Bleh. Definetly not worth trying. Same with the strawberry mousse. Also can't really taste any strawberry.

 
Not sure what they are, but also something to avoid. One bite and I spat it out. Didn't really like it.

 
The jelly are not bad. I took the grape one. It was nice. They also have ice cream. One of them was wasabi. The wasabi was quite mild and a little sweet for me.
Not sure if I'll be back. But If my friends would like to try this place I would not mind going again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hot Pot,Rosti,Waffles,Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Mar 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0