OpenRice Index
  
leehcken
This is leehcken living in Sengkang. I am a Manager, work in Jurong East. I like to hang out in Serangoon, Hougang/Kovan, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Coffeeshop, Food Court, Restaurant and Zi Char, Chinese Soup, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 10 First(s)
No. of Review40 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity185 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos263 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant52 My Restaurant(s)
Follow18 Following
粉絲44 Follower(s)
leehcken  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 40 Reviews in Singapore
ok dinner with lots of choice OK Jan 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Army Stew

There are lots of choices here. The set meal is very worth it as it comes with dessets and a side dish. Taste wise, the army stew is so so only, despite having chesse in the hot pot, which kinda makes the soup a bit sticky and thick. To me, it has too many flavours and none stand out. Really taste like rojiak. I prefer to have Chinese steamboat.

The stewed pork is a real surprise though. The meat is very tender and flavoured. It must have been stewed for a long time. We loved it.

The rest of the dishes did not wow us as they were just passable. Service was ok. I dropped a chopstick and asked for a new one. It was swiftly replaced. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

tastes of "home” OK Dec 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Kids-Friendly

Came here to try the Assam fish head so many raved about but is disappointed. It is not as sour, spicy and fragrant as I have expected. The fish head is not big enough and the dish does not give the wow factor. I recommend that if they serve in a claypot,the dish might taste better - so that the dish can retain the heat and flavors.

Dining in air con comfort is nice of course. The service is really good and the ambience is great. We also tried the mushroom with toufu dish. The sauce is good and toufu is soft. 

Overall, the main dish did not meet our expectation but there may be other Tze Cha dishes to try here if you prefer to dine in a nice ambience. This place is crowded during dinner so it might also be a good idea to make reservations.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Average Steam boat OK Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Steamboat/Hot Pot

This place seems to be a fav place for the old folks, huge place with many staff serving. The unique thing about this place is that on top of steamboat (main course), they offer other Tze Cha dishes as well, on top of the hainanese chicken as a side dish.

Good place for gathering, perhaps. But location here not very good - at the basement. Anyway, this has been a long time establishment. 

The steamboat is passable. Soup is ok. Not especially flavoured. It is cheap though. In summary, there are contents (quantity) but not quality. will not be back specifically for the steamboat. The Hainanese Chicken is slightly better that the steamboat. But after tasting Tian Tian, this one is far behind as the chilli sauce is not up to the same std. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good comfort Noddles OK Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Noodles

Tried the noddles in black sauce here. It was ok for me. The Yun Tun is crispy but the fillings could have been more. Overall, it is avearge in taste only.

The noddles are soft though and when seasoned with the dark sauce it looks good. However, it lacks a dash of oil to bring up the texture of the noddles. The Cha Siew is passable as well. Could have been thicker, that will be nice. Replace the vegetable with Kai Lan will be great! 

There's plenty of seats around here, so no problem finding a place. The ambinence is only average. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Malaysia Ban Mee OK Nov 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

With the hype on this place, we went down to have a bite of the famous mee. Honestly, it did not wow me much. The noodles were ok and the ingredients passable. We ordered the fish ball soup and they have nice touches of spinach in the soup which we like. The soup is also very tasty too. 

I do feel thirsty drinking the soup and guess it might be the generous amount of MSG inside. Overall, I will not come back specially for the noodle. If I am nearby, it's a maybe. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0