OpenRice Index
  
HungryBytes
This is HungryBytes living in Eunos. I am a Marketer, work in Orchard. I also love Hawker Centre and Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Zi Char.
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review10 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1004 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos860 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant30 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5913 Following
粉絲2707 Follower(s)
HungryBytes  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 10 Reviews in Singapore
Awesome lunch sets Smile Apr 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Lunch sets at Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya

Lunch sets at Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya

 
Sometimes, I come across something so good, that every bite felt soul shining and that I momentarily lose myself in my food. Lunch at Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya @ Orchard Central is just that and perhaps abit more.
Hidden in a little loft at Orchard Central, this gem of a restaurant is one of Orchard’s best kept secret that I almost didn’t feel like sharing.
Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

 
Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

 
Sumiya is offering an awesome lunch set deal where you can get a Mix Bara Kaisen Don set for a steal of $18.80 and other equally irresistible options.
Mix Bara Kaisen Don

Mix Bara Kaisen Don

 
The delectable set is food-coma inducing, with a generous bowl full of assorted sashimi cubes, avocado and blanketed with toboki and salmon roe. It comes with sesame sauce should you need that additional umami kick but its hardly required here. Completing the set are other side kicks like chawanmushi, an appetizer, miso soup, salad and mochi. This set is a force to be reckoned with.
Ni Anago Don Set

Ni Anago Don Set

 
Less belly bursting but still delicious is the Ni Anago Don Set (Simmered Conger Eel) with delicately simmered conger eel. Look Ma! I can’t see my rice!
Teriyaki Chicken Don

Teriyaki Chicken Don

 
A hearty choice would be the Teriyaki Chicken Don set. Tender morsels of teriyaki chicken makes a satisfying lunch. I’m not sure how long the lunch set promotion would last, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be visiting Sumiya again and again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mix Bara Kaisen Don,Ni Anago Don
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Restaurant | Halal

After much convincing, I agreed to give PapaRich @ OneKM a try and lets just put it out there that it would probably be the last time I step into another restaurant by that name.
Sad food makes one sad. The interior of the restaurant is lavish but does nothing to elevate the food.
Super Rich Combo

Super Rich Combo

 
As advertised, The Super Rich Combo includes aromatic nasi rich, served with fried chicken drumstick, aromatic braised beef, sweet & spicy squid, potato, hard boiled egg, lady finger, papadum and sambal. With all the haphazard mishmash of ingredients, the dish just doesn’t add up. The nasi is flat and dry, the braised beef is fibrous and tough, egg (as you can see with the grey ring) is over cooked, sambal is spicy and not aromatic at all… Granted, having tried really good nasi in a foodcourt at half this price didn’t help either. Lets just skip this altogether.
Ipoh Kuay Teow Soup with Steamed Chicken

Ipoh Kuay Teow Soup with Steamed Chicken

 
On a slightly better note is the Ipoh Kuay Teow Soup with Steamed Chicken. The soup base is average and abit on the sweet side. The first few mouthfuls were enjoyable but it went straight downhill the more you eat. I’m guessing there’s too much msg in it but I could be wrong.

 
The saving grace of the mains we ordered is the Steamed Chicken that is has a silky and tender texture. However, the sauce again is over cloyingly sweet. Its more like a sugar gravy instead of one that includes soy sauce.
Chendol

Chendol

 
The chendol is so ordinary, I have problems describing it.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Impressive Indeed Smile Jan 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Food Court | Noodles

Just when I thought foodcourt fare has reached the point of hopelessness, that it compromises taste for profitability, I came across Red Ring Treasures @ Wisma Atria Food Republic. Its relatively new an outlet, having just opened sometime mid 2014. Prices are very reasonable for a stall situated in the heart of town and the taste… I’m won.
Onion Blossoms

Onion Blossoms

 
The highlight of the meal to me is their Onion Blossom. I ordered it out of curiosity. I seen it at restaurants, pubs but being adverse to onion, it never justified me ordering it. First of all, the onion blossom served resembled a gorgeous golden flower. Fried perfectly, not a single burnt spot. Unlike some under cooked onion rings, these are timed just right such that the onion is sweet yet retaining some crunch.
Double Pork Cutlet Noodles

Double Pork Cutlet Noodles

 
The noodles had a good bite to it. Not too dry or soggy. I like that the pork cutlet doesn’t taste too greasy, or smell like stale oil. On hindsight, I probably should have added some chili to the noodles as the taste, though good, tends to plateau after afew bites.
Dumpling Soup

Dumpling Soup

 
A huge bowlful of soup, the dumplings were well made. Its pillowy and soft to the bite, the thinly skinned dumpling encased a robust core which falls apart when you eat it.
I eat my words. Foodcourts does indeed have restaurant quality food at very reasonable prices. When I come across a gem like this, I feel excited about sharing it.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Sin Lee Foods first piqued my interest when I found out that its a pet friendly establishment. I'm always looking for places to bring my cat. Their decor got my hipster senses tangling and their signature dish was Fried Chicken Waffles - named The One and Only.. So why not?

Since then, I visited twice already and in my humble opinion, there were more hits than misses and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. On the plus side, the service standards and the food quality is consistently good and the constantly changing, creatively managed menu means there will never be a dull moment. Its adventure on a plate. Bring it on!

(oh, and prices are nett. No GST / Svc charge)

Getting there is a bit tricky because its neatly tucked away at a corner. Its a short walking distance from Tiong Bahru MRT station.
Bukit Ho Swee View Neighborhood

Bukit Ho Swee View Neighborhood

 
Neatly tucked away along Bukit Ho Swee, just up a short flight of stairs, with the black and white striped blinds.
Sin Lee Foods

Sin Lee Foods

 
Hipster styled decor with telling vintage signboard
Magazine Rack

Magazine Rack

 
Hipster Magazine Rack

The staff is very friendly and I find that they are very knowledgeable about their dishes and recommendations. I love the coffee so much so that, I do not have a photograph of it. #truestory. Too impatient to drink it. Both iced latte and the hot version are good. Thumbs up. I can't say the same for so many other places though.

Now on to the food....
Feels better having it seperately

Feels better having it seperately

 
The One and Only - Fried Chicken on Waffles ($22.00)

The One and Only, is touted as their signature dish. Its a daring combination of Fried Chicken and Waffles which attempts at balancing the sweet and the savoury but unfortunately didn't work at all for me. The fried chicken was done perfectly, crispy yet juicy and moist but the waffle base was a let down by being rather flaccid and bland. The sweet caramel sauce didn't help either. The dish comes across as confused and doesn't complement each other. Much better off eaten separately and perhaps without the coleslaw totally.
Addictive

Addictive

 
Aburi Broccoli Salad - $10.00

This dish isn't particularly attractive but I realise that once I start digging into it, I can't stop. I had some problems sharing this dish. Its simply not enough for me. Aburi here refers to the cooking style that is the partial grilling of the broccoli. The salad is tossed with white balsamic vinegar, garnished with smashed papadums, a dash of mayo and orange sugar. Its really very addictive and I can't recommend this enough.
Good! More sauce pls!

Good! More sauce pls!

 
Soft Shell Crab Bun - $17.00

The soft shell crab bun was another sinful favourite. Perfectly battered soft shell crab with the most amazing spicy, tangy sauce, lying seductively on a sinful bed of toasted, buttered buns. Only one request.. can we have much more of that sauce please??
Comfort fusion food

Comfort fusion food

 
Beef & Grains - $23.00

Orzo pasta, served with tender seared beef striplion, topped with a runny egg, pickled ginger slices and generously blanketed with furikake. Its western, japanese and local food rolled into one comforting dish. I was surprised how well the pickled ginger elevated the dish and I usually shun that thing.

 
Resident catboss

Sin Lee Foods // Blk 4 Jalan Bukit Ho Swee #01-164 Singapore 162004

Opening Hours: 10am – 9pm (Tues-Sun), Closed Mon except PH

Prices on the menu are nett. (no gst/ svc charge)

Supplementary Information:
Dishes are nett priced. No GST or service charge
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Aburi Broccoli Salad,cafe latte,softshell crab bun,beef and grains
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 30, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $22(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Underwhelmed by the Cakes OK Mar 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Been hearing about the much hyped about Mille Crêpes from Lady M and decided to try it for ourselves.
Personally, I am rather underwhelmed by their service and the desserts.

Even though the restaurant was practically empty, with only 3 tables besides us, it took ages for our order of a slice each of the Vanilla Mille Crêpe, Green Tea Mille Crêpe and Gâteau aux Marron to be served.
Lady M cakes - Mille Cr�pes & G�teau aux Marrons

Lady M cakes - Mille Cr�pes & G�teau aux Marrons

 
There's too much cream in the cakes which made the cakes mushy and overall everything was too sweet. Of the three we tried the Green Tea Mille Crêpe was probably the best as the matcha took down the sugary sweetness a notch. Not the best Mille Crêpes I've had definitely. I found the sponge layers in the Gâteau aux Marrons too dry.
Coffee was normal.

We ordered:
Vanilla Mille Crêpe - $8 per slice
Green Tea Mille Crêpe - $ 8.50 per slice
Gâteau aux Marrons - $7.50 per slice
Cafe Mocha - $5.00 per cup
Lady M Ice Cafe - $5.50

Prices subject to 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0