OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity736 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Nice ramen!  Smile Jul 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Ippudo Mandarin Gallery- 2nd overseas outlet outside of Japan with the first being in NY.

After doing my 'research' online, ie by reading various reviews on blogs as well as food websites... I decided to pay Ippudo a visit on a Thursday late afternoon.

There are a few types of soup base you can choose from . There is the Shiromaru Classic which is tonkotsu soup ( pork ) , the Akamaru Modern which is the same pork broth but enhanced with their special miso paste ( see photo below--the red/orange paste in the middle ). There is also the Shoyu ( soy sauce ) and Ippudo Karakamenwhich is served with a spicy paste. After reading so many reviews tongue it was Akamaru for me! It was served in a red bowl

You can choose to add on the egg, and pork belly ( two slices ) to your ramen ( $17 before taxes ) . The server will ask how you would prefer your noodles to be done- hard, medium or soft.. I chose medium tongue I hate noodles that are too hard and soggy.. so medium seems to be the right choice and yes it was smile I finished the whole bowl lol

What's inside?

 
Black fungus , two slices of pork belly ( yums!) lots and lots of spring onions (If you want to sound abit atas- scallion) special blend of miso (has minced meat), pieces of cabbage.

A closer look at the broth, it is thick and flavorful with garlic oil.

I love the soup.. it has crunchy onions in them too! I had a great time picking them out.. has three of my favourite! Spring onions, onions and garlic

 
I was disappointed with the egg though, I had better ones
this isn't perfect... some parts were overcooked. I would have preferred that they serve, the egg separately in a dish and also to half the egg for us..

 
As I was alone, it seemed impossible to be ordering any other side dishes or desserts.

My late lunch/ early dinner consisted of the ramen and a cool glass of ice lemon tea. I was set back by $23 after taxes. Service was prompt and smiles were aplently. Well it may be different if it it during the peak meal time periods.

During meal times :
Prepare to be seated in the communal dining area and prepare to be overheard.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $23(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wholesome food  Smile Jul 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

Many cafes have mushroomed in our little island in the past 2 years. It's really a matter of too many cafes, too little time / too little money tongue Eating at such cafes don't come cheap. One breakfast plate can set you off by $16 .

Was at the Duxton area not long ago with my friends and we decided to pop by Group Therapy for dinner.

This cafe is located on the 2nd level of a shop house. The counter and preparation area (kitchen?) is flushed to one side of the shop house. It is not a big place but can prob.take up to 60-70 persons. There are two areas where you can sit. One area is nearer to the kitchen and the other side seem to be more spacious with sofa seating and a long dining table for bigger groups. Probably smaller groups can share the table.

Selection of food is okay. There are finger food if you just wanna chill and talk..also has some selection of beers. For meals there are breakfast sets and stews smile Here's what we ordered.

Chicken Cacciatore (Hunter’s Chicken)
Whole chicken thigh braised in traditional sauce of tomatoes, onions,
peppers & a dash of white wine.
Served on a bed of mashed white potatoes & salad leaves

Chicken is tender...quite delicious

 
delicious egg benedict served in an old school bowl!~

Poached Eggs
with thick toast, smoked salmon, gruyere, hollandaise

 
Beef Shank Stew, carrots, potatoes
served with rice.
this is quite home cooked..
okay if you like beef but nothing special

 
Would very much be going back for more at this cafe!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fish and veg lunch Smile Jul 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant

 
This is another cozy outlet which i love spending my lunch at.. go slightly earlier or slightly after the lunch time crowd for a quiet alone time smile

TCC's main dishes are generally wholesome and quite healthy. I opted for the yummy salmon that day. I love the veggies that comes with the fish. The wait staff are quite nice, they even ask how well done I would love to have the salmon cooked. Always enjoy my meals at TCC smile
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

 
This outlet is very conveniently located at the basement food street of Bugis Junction. I have always love the selection at Jollibean and love the pancakes the most. They are unlike other similar ones with very thick layer of flour and very little filling.

I love the rolled one as seen here. Can you see that the red bean filling is almost oozing out of the roll? This is definitely value for money! This is only $1.20 if i am not wrong smile and I can't even finish it.. always eat it some and save half for later smile
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The best French Toast ever  Smile Jun 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Café | Coffeeshop | Desserts and Cakes

I am totally surprised that there are no reviews for this wonderful coffeeshop bread! It is a pity that the coffeeshop is moving as the building has been sold recently.

it is of coz not the best coffeeshop to dine in but the toast and coffee are awesome~~~ It's also a bit sad that the people toasting the bread are not locals. But still they managed to hone their skills well. I was there a few Saturdays ago with some friends for a truly local breakfast at this unique building~!

 
It is a very laid back coffeeshop. Just place your order at the counter and wait for it there or if they are not very busy they may send it to your table.

The french toast is a must order. Each slice of bread is completed coated with egg they come topped with cold butter. Mix the butter with the toast and coat it with some kaya on the side. the taste is just awesome!!~ Truly my No. 1 coffeeshop french toast ever!!!
French Toast

French Toast

 
If french toast is not quite your thing, then u can still have the usual kaya butter toast.
bread is toasted nice and crispy. Goes well with the half boiled eggs or a nice cup of coffee.
Kaya butter toast

Kaya butter toast

 
do go visit them soon before they move away smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  french toast,coffee
 
Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0