OpenRice Index
  
karennsh
This is karennsh living in Queenstown. I work in Jurong East. I like to hang out in Bugis, Pasir Ris, Katong. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Desserts and Cakes, Ramen.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review17 Review(s)
編輯推介數目12 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity4497 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos86 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲36 Follower(s)
karennsh  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 17 Reviews in Singapore
Not worth my next visit!  Cry Oct 23, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Curries | Halal

My first visit to Jalan Kayu. You can call me a mountain tortoise or whatever... Keke...=P Bf brought me to this Prata shop.

I had Teh Halia (Ginger Milk Tea) while bf ordered the popular Teh Tarik (Milk Tea).
The drinks were great for a cold weather. Bring warmth to your tummy! =)

To me Prata is either Egg or Plain. Didn't know there are so many variety/term until we ordered these:
Plaster + Telok + Kosong.
Plaster = Plain Prata with Sunny Side Up on it.
Telok = Egg Prata.
Kosong = Plain Prata.

Personally I don't find the prate here special...Not exactly crispy or fragrance. Doubt I will travel all the way here to have prata again.. =/

 

 
Teh Tarik

Teh Tarik

 
Teh Halia

Teh Halia

 
Pratasss...

Pratasss...

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 11, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for $$$ Burgers! Smile Oct 23, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches

It was our first visit to The Handburger Restaurant.

The menu were promptly presented to us upon seated. We looked through the menu... We both find that the burgers are affordably price.The cheapest burger cost $7.80 while the most expensive one cost $11.80. I was really tempted to order their signature burger, The Works. The onion rings, bacons with eggs looks Yumssss!!! But too bad they had cheese so it was a Nope Nope for me! =(

The plate was really cool! It was custom-made for the restaurant. The bigger circle is for burger while the smaller circle is for side dishes. The plate also has a section specially for the cultery. Innovative & thoughtful creation!

Dar order the Handburger Original. ($7.80)
It consist of ribeye beef patty with bbq sauce, cheese, lettuce and tomato on a toasted caramelised onion bun. He commented that the burger is indeed value for money especially when the patty is thick and yummy!

I ordered the Pulled Pork Burger. ($6.80)
Pork Strips with BBQ sauce topped with crunchy mayoless slaw, lettuce & tomato on a toasted rustic bun.It taste decent. Not really my liking as I find that the sauce were a little too sweet.

Top up $4 for the primary side dish. Onion Ring.
It comes with a garlic sauce which was really good!

Well, overall we paid like $21+ for a meal and I guess we will be back again for more value money burgers! =)

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Handburger Original
 
Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Japanese Buffet Smile Oct 23, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

I have never been to an authentic Japanese Restaurant before except for those Casual Japanese Restaurant such as Ichi Ban, Sakae Sushi, Watami, Waraku and etc.

As I first step into Irodori, the first impression i had was their authentic deco + prompt service. Upon seated, we were immediately served with a cup of hot green tea each. Followed by the appetizer, broad beans & green beans. We were impressed with the appetizer served, Green Tea cold Tofu. *thumb up*We both agree that this dish is surprisingly great! The tempura crumbs + ebi roes add on additional crisp to it!

We ordered the mixed sashimi to starts off the dinner! The Salmon Sashimi were thickly cut and very fresh! We ordered the mixed sashimi to starts off the dinner! The Salmon Sashimi were thickly cut and very fresh!

The waitress recommend their Special Irodori Maki to us!
We couldn't stop raving about this dish and had to order 2nd serving! hehe!
Their in-house special maki is made with generously serving of lobster salad + ebi roe + mayo! Definately a MUST ORDER dish!

Oh.. we were served with Complimentary Grilled Prawn.
1 serving for each customer. The taste is really great!!! But too bad the prawn was a little overcooked... =/

Ordered the Yasai Salad. Hmm... i prefer salad with generous dressing. *fattening*
And for their salad... I find that the dressing were too little for my liking.

The Dobin Mushi is refreshing and another must order. Love the soup flavor from the mushrooms, and the sour tinge from the citrus lime that is added! I spotted most of the customer had repeatedly order this!

Last dish to end the dinner. Buta Enoki Maki = Pork roll with Golden Mushroom!
Ordered this dish before in beef version at Sakae Sushi before. We both love this dish and I reckon that Irodori will make better ones! And yes, their Buta Enoki Maki taste 200% better! haha!!! It's slightly charred on the outside and once you bite onto it, the golden mushroom juice will burst into your mouth. Yums!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Buta Enoki Maki , Dobin Mushi , Special Irodori Maki, Green Tea cold Tofu
 
Date of Visit: Sep 23, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $37(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Tasting @ One Rochester Smile Sep 25, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Western | Kids-Friendly

I have heard lots of raves about One Rochester romantic ambiance and great food.
And Yes! Finally I had the chance to be there!

Their service staffs are really good! Upon seated, they get a extra seat to place my bag and showed me their drinks menu!

I ordered the Rose & Cucumber Martini because of this "special" ingredients that I love! >>>> Rose!!! The alcohol level is kinda high or perhaps I shall rephrase... I am a lousy drinker. =/

We begin the meal with... Bread Basket. The bread came warm with french butter and olive oil with balsamic vinegar.

Next serve the Starters.... The 'Nibble' Platter.
Herb crumbed stuffed olives, potato skins with sour cream and ocean trout caviar, radish, tapenade and crudite, foir gras parafait, game terrine, cured hams and pickles.
I only tried the mini potato in this platter and I don't really like it...
The sour cream is too strong for my liking.. :/

Another starter served was the...'Tastes of the East'
Spicy Thai chicken and prawn dip with rice crackers, szechuan salt and pepper soft shell crab, chicken and rabbit skewers, crispy pork crackles, otah on toast
I love this platter! Especially the Crispy Pork Cracker, the Otah & the Spicy Dip!
The Crispy Pork is crusty at the outer layer while the fats melt in my mouth...
Yums!!! =D

There comes the salad.
Tiger Prawn salad with cous cous, promegranate, mint and Persian feta
I must really say that this is one of the BEST salad that I have ever eaten!
The combination of promegrante with the salad, make it a really crunchy-juicy affair!
Definately won the best dish of the night too!!!!
I wish I can have the salad right infront of me now while I am doing this review....

We had 4 main courses to be shared.

Braised Angus short rib with creamy Paris mash Potato and buttered baby carrots
This dish takes more than 24 hours to prepare... (so long!!!)
Most of the diners were raving this dish.
I had a little bite on the meat.
Mmm.. personally, I don't like beef and I guess that's explain why I don't enjoy this dish.
But I am sure this is a MUST ORDER item for beef lover! =)

Baby chicken with pine nut, raisin and truffle stuffing, and cranberry and quince relish
Though the chicken was really tender & juicy, it doesn't leave a deep impression to me.
Perhaps is just me? I doubt I will pay so much to eat a normal tender chicken when I patronise
One Rochester again.

Grilled cod fillet with fennel and blood orange salad
Among all the 4 main courses, I would choose the cod fillet as my favourite!
It's so tender and juicy,it can literally melt in my mouth.
Simple dish but surprisingly AWESOME!

Shellfish risotto with seared langoustine and avruga caviar
By the time, you are reading the review of this dish.
I believe you would more or less knows that I am more of an asian food person.
I hate cheese, cream, beef, lamb, pizza etc. *picky* I have never tried risotto before and this was my first time tasting it.
Hmmm.. it doesn't really suit my taste palette. Too creamy & cheesy...
Definately recommended for someone who is looking for a main course that can filled the stomach.

Despite such a heavy meal, I was eargerly looking forward to the dessert of the night!

First dessert served was the......
Fine apple and franipane tart with calvados ice cream
One Rochester's signature dessert! It comes along with a scoop of alcohol flavoured ice cream. Hot Apple Tart + Cold Alcohol Flavour Ice Cream = Sinfully AWESOME

Grande AssietteThe dessert platter with five petite desserts for sharing. Love their version of Lemon and Lime Soufflé . Their Souffle were heavenly good. It was not too creamy and it's refreshing! I am definately coming back for this!!!! Hehehe..
Rose & Cucumber Martini

Rose & Cucumber Martini

 
Bread Basket

Bread Basket

 
The Nibble Platter

The Nibble Platter

 
'Tastes of the East'

'Tastes of the East'

 
Tiger Prawn salad

Tiger Prawn salad

 
Baby chicken

Baby chicken

 
Fine apple and franipane tart

Fine apple and franipane tart

 
Classic lemon and lime Soufflé

Classic lemon and lime Soufflé

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled cod fillet , Tiger Prawn salad ,Tastes of the East, Grande Assiette
 
Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best Egg in my Life!!!  Smile Aug 24, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This is not my first visit to this Ramen restaurant. I am returning again and again all because of 1 reason----------- >>>>>>> and that's the EGG & the Char Siew! Yums! The semi half boiled egg is mad SHIOK! The egg yolk is runny... uncooked! AND Yes! THE BEST EGG ever tasted in my life! WOW!! shocked

And as for the Char Siew, it can really melt in my mouth! But of course, there were a little fat contains in it. So maynot be for those health concious peeps!

The soup is too salty as it's cooked with Chicken and not the usual Pork base. As for the ramen, it's still spingy!

All in all, it's definately worth the price I am paying!
Yummy Ramen!

Yummy Ramen!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Semi Boiled Egg
 
Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2010 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0