OpenRice Index
  
Jason123
This is Jason123 living in Tampines. I am a Student, work in Tampines. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant and Juices, Buffet , Dim Sum.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review83 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2150 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos550 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant141 My Restaurant(s)
Follow18 Following
粉絲129 Follower(s)
Jason123  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 83 Reviews in Singapore
Burp's Experience!  Smile Feb 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Heya People! I'm back with this review on a humble cafe situated along Bedok Reservoir Road, named Burp's Kitchen and Bar! Cozy place, with a mini bar to chillax after a long day of work! What's more? With friendly bosses and delicious food... My only complain is the squeezy seats! Otherwise I'm definitely gonna go there every other day. Oh ya. Free Wi-Fis for kids, I mean students to study!

Okok. Without further ado, let me introduce the first dish of the night - Salted Egg Tofu Fries!

 
Salted Egg Tofu Fries - 3.0/5.0 Stars. The idea of replacing normal shoestring or curly fries with tofu fries is kinda cool, especially when salted egg is being accompanied. According to the friendly boss, the tofu is made from scratch, where they get those tofu, and they cut them into slices. Then, it is being coated with batter and deep fried. Lastly, they drizzle the salted egg yolk sauce onto it. Would say that the tofu batter is very normal, and just like what my fellow food reviewer mentioned - it tasted more like tau kwa than tofu. But, the salted egg sauce salvaged the dish! The boss was kind enough to bring out the Wasabi Mayo sauce, which is another alternative to Salted Egg Sauce for us to try. Its Wasabi Mayo sauce tasted pretty good as well! *According to the boss, the restaurant provides additional sauces, or a mixture (you can get both sauce), at the usual price as long as you ASK for it! Good eh?* 

Next up - Burp Kitchen Wings 

 
Burp Kitchen Wings - 4.2/5.0 Stars. Wings are usually deep fried eh? But Burp chooses to air-fry their wings, which is definitely a plus point! Accompanied the wings is its special sauce - Adobo Sauce! Sweet yet tangy refreshing sauce, which is simply indescribable! You would have to try it yourself! (I don't give 4.2/5 Stars for no reason, trust me its good!) 

Next up - Salted Egg Wings 

 
Salted Egg Wings - 3.4/5.0 Stars. Just in case I did not mention it earlier - all the marination of the wings are being done by the chef, and all the kind of sauces - be it salted egg, adobo or any sauces that I mention within this post is being made from scratch by the chef. Burp believes in making their own sauces and marinations! Ok by now, you would be asking me if the Salted Egg that appeared in the wings is the same as the one that appeared in the tofu fries. And my answer is YES! Nothing much special about the sauce to mention - everything was mentioned above in the salted egg tofu fries. Wings as per usual, GOOD! 

Next up - Chicken Quesadilla

 
Chicken Quesadilla - 4.5/5.0 Stars. This is something to die for. Cheddar Cheese, Mozzarella cheese, slow cooked pull chicken accompanied by the totrilla wrap. Its just simply amazing and I would say that this is one of the best quesadilla I've ever tried on earth! For $9, its definitely worth the price. Oh yeah, and it comes with freshly made Salsa sauce, which is made from tomato puree and tomato sauce! Definitely gonna order this again on my next visit! 

Next up - Burp's Beef 

 
Burp's Beef - 4.3/5.0 Stars. Brioche Bun, beef patty, american cheese, caramellized onions, dou miao and spicy mayo. Great combination, and of course instead of using the 'boring' lettuce, cabbage etc, Burp decided to replace it with pea sprouts, or better known as dou miao. Surprisingly, the dou miao indeed brought the whole burger to the next level.. of tastiness! Beef patty was fresh and generous as well! Oh ya. every burger comes with a side of Potato Salad, which I personally find it kinda normal. *The boss says that you can switch your potato salad to either coleslaw or corn chips for free. You can even change it to salted egg tofu fries - at a minimal charge!* 

Next up - Crabby Patty 

 
Crabby Patty - 2.6/5.0 Stars. Squid Ink Bun, lettuce, battered soft shell crab, salted egg sauce, curry leaves and chilli padi. Squid Ink Bun has no squid ink taste or any distinctive taste of squid ink. Battered Soft Shell Crab is served luke warm (ok not even luke warm, more of cold), and it seems not to have been battered. Salted egg sauce and curry leaves - ok as per normal. Not much of chilli padi either. Would not recommend this burger, especially with the price, which is on the high side - $18.00. Burp's Beef, priced at $16.00 is definitely much more price and taste-worthy as compared to this.

Next up - Pork Carnitas Tacos 

 
Pork Carnitas Taco - 4.1/5.0 Stars. Slow cooked BBQ pulled pork, apple-slaw and salsa fresca, being wrapped by tortilla tacos and served with corn chips. BBQ pull pork was addictive, especially with the distinctive taste of the BBQ sauce, and the apple-slaw made the dish less oily and gives its customer an 'healthier' opinion of the dish. 

Last but not least - Baja Fish Tacos 

 
Baja Fish Tacos - 3.7/5.0 Stars. By now, everyone of us are kind of full, and if we were to say that this dish is good, it has to really be good. Everyone on the table thought that the fish was good. Thus, it is really GOOD. Everything else was the same - apple-slaw and salsa fresca, but it comes with spicy mayo and battered fish. The fish was well battered, and it stands out amongst the dishes that I've tried today. 

The average score for the 8 dishes we tried at Burp Kitchen and Bar was 3.725 Stars/5.0 Stars, which is decent. For a cafe situated along a reservoir, I thought that the food served was really good, and it is really price-worthy. The staff and bosses were very friendly and they would try their best to accomdate to our requests - nothing is impossible! Just ASK! 

Overall a good food tasting, and definitely will be back for more at Burp's Kitchen and Bar - hopefully to try out some of their mocktails and cocktails!  
 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Burp Kitchen Wings,Burp's Beef,Pork Carnita's Taco
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yum Cha Takeaway Food Tasting Cry Jan 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Seafood

Had the honour to join a team of awesome food-lovers for an early takeaway Chinese New Year Food Tasting from Yum Cha! What's more? The location of the takeaway food tasting was at The Oceanfront @ Sentosa Cove! 

Definitely enjoyed the company, as well as the wonderful scenery around that area. Managed to snap a few photos of the scenery as well as the Yacht Club nearby! But.. I've got to say before I start reviewing, that the food served isn't that superb...

 
Yum Cha even provided a table with all the dishes for us to take pictures! 

 
We started of the Food Tasting with a Lo-Hei! The ingredients included in the Lo Hei is pretty normal, which can be found in almost every Lo Hei that we can find outside. Salmon was also included in the Lo Hei, but the salmon is quite normal as well.
[Will rate the Lo Hei 2.5/5] 

 
That's how the Yu Sheng looked like after we have added in all the sauces, salmon as well as prosperity crackers! All set to Lo Hei for this upcoming Monkey Year! 

 
We also managed to tasted the Fried Rice with Chinese Sausage in Lotus Leaf. This is one of my most disappointed dish amongst all. The Fried Rice is very dry, perhaps because it's a takeaway menu, thus the rice has turned cold. Nevertheless, that shouldn't be used as an excuse. [Will rate this Fried Rice 1/5]

 
Next up is the Fried Crispy Chicken! Again, its very dry and cold. Thus, I would say that this dish is not recommended as well. [Will rate this Chicken 1.5/5]

We also tried the Braise Pig's Trotter with 'Fatt Choy'. Didn't tried much of this dish, but I would say that the sauce is not bad. But too much fats. [Will rate this Pig's Trotter 2/5]

 
Last but not least, its the BBQ Suckling Pig!! I would say that this is the only salvage of that night's Food Tasting! Skin is still crispy after quite a long time. Thus, plus point for this! [Will rate this BBQ Suckling Pig 3/5]

Overall it was still great with the scenery as well as the company! Food definitely got to be improve. Nontheless, please continue to support Yum Cha for their Chinese New Year Menu! [I believe their dine-in menu will be much better!]

 
 
Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Tasting @ Charcoal Thai OK Dec 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Buffet | Mookata

Hello folks! Its long since I last wrote a OpenRice Review due to my hectic schedule and fret not! I'm back now!! Am really glad to be invited for the last food tasting of the year at Charcoal Thai, Nex! 

Heard of Charcoal Thai quite a few times from my friends and always wanted to give it a try, but time always doesn't permit. Finally had a chance, and moreover, its FREE! Good things are suppose to wait YEAH? Hehe! 

As I write this review, was thinking of my Christmas Menu for this year's party and before ideas starts to pop up, let me start the review proper! 

In this food tasting, we tasted quite a few different HotPots as well as different type of drinks that Charcoal Thai offers! 

 
This is the Ingredients for Chicken HotPot. Indeed, generous portion of Pork, Chicken as well as vegetables, luncheon meat and crabstick to go with the HotPot! 

 
All's ready! And my verdict : It's pretty NORMAL leh. And my fellow reviewers somehow agreed with me... Well. Anyways, its time to move on to the next dish! 

 
Oh ya. Before I forget, Charcoal Thai offers 3 different types of sauces to go with all sorts of HotPot that they offers. And the 3 sauces are Thai Chilli Sauce, Thai Garlic Chilli Sauce and Thai Tomato Sauce. Amongst them, I would say that the Thai Tomato is the spiciest (YES, you did not read wrongly) and also my favourite. Please don't be trick by the name yeah.. Garlic Chilli would be suitable for those who really loves Sesame Dressing.. As for the Thai Chilli, no comments about it... 

 
Oi guys! What are you all thinking ah? These are COLLAGEN Stocks lah! Probably one of the main contributor to the high cost of the HotPot. Verdict? Ladies would love the nutrients that can be obtained by these collagens. 

 
Along with the Collagen HotPot are vegetables as well as meat. Corns, Fishcake, Cheese Hotdog, as well as Chicken, Beef and Pork Slices. 

 
Not a good picture though. Sorry! But anyways, the food reviewers all agreed that the broth is too thick, and with all the ingredients throwed into the Collagen Hotpot, it doesn't really taste that good. But nevertheless, not forgetting the beauty nutrients behind the collagen! 

 
We also got the chance to try out the Spicy Chicken Hotpot! Which is somehow similar to the Mala Chicken Pot that most hotpot outlet offers, but I got to say that Charcoal Thai is really generous with their portion and indeed, the level of spiciness is just nice for someone who can take spicy but cannot take spicy (Ironic yeah? That's me!) 

Anyways missing out are the drinks. Managed to try their Ice Tea as well as Ice Lemongrass Tea and both are BAGUS!! Definitely worth the price that they are priced at!! Please do try out their drinks whenever you are there, its really really super duper worth the price (Yes, that's how good it is!).. 

Last but not least, I thought it was really great to have their Chef to share with us the "recipe" for the Spicy Chicken Hotpot and I've got to say that the service is pretty good! Not sure if it was a benefit for us only, or for every diner, we were given petite deserts after our meal, which is very sweet of Charcoal Thai!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 18, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Harry's Food Tasting  Cry Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges

It was a great honour to be part of this Food Tasting organized by OpenRice and definitely I had a great night with the different food tasters, of course with some of the familiar faces from the previous food tasting sessions! Harry's Clarke Quay outlet, which is directly opposite the prominent location of Harry's Riverside Point introduced a new concept, with over 50 new dishes. And that very night, we managed to tried out 8 dishes as well as 3 different beverages as part of the tasting. 

We started off the night with a mug of Harry's Signature Premium Lager (3.5/5) as well as the Fish Cracklings (3.8/5). I personally thought that the Fish Cracklings was the best Small Plate that we tried that night. Fish Cracklings have the same concept as Fish Skin or rather Salmon Skin that we usually get at Dim Sum and Japanese Food Joints. But, this Fish Crackling stands out, with the portion being reasonable for the price, as well as the dip which made the dish one that people will not forget. 

 
Next up, we tried the Harry's Signature Wings (3.0/5), served with a sambal chilli sauce that was claimed to be very popular in Harry's. Heard from the PR of Harry's that they once removed the chilli dip from the menu last year and the customers were quite upset about it and requested it to be back on the menu. Personally find that the wings are very normal, definitely comparable with the ones served at coffeeshop. Let alone comparing it with the ones at IKEA. As for the chilli dip, I thought that it wasn't really that good either. 

 
We continued with the last small plate of the night, Crab & Potato Cakes (3.2/5). This dish is also very normal, the amount of crab is definitely justifiable, but personally cannot savour the taste of the potato, thus I would call this dish a Crab Cake instead of Crab & Potato Cake. My opinion will be to add more potato bites, as well as some special ingredients such as chestnut or something crunchy so that the dish will be able to stand out better. Especially for the price of $19/6pcs, customers will definitely be looking forward to something much better. It was also served with a chilli dip, and I thought that this one tasted like the garlic chilli served at McDonald's. Anyways, personally will prefer this chilli dip over the sambal one. 

 
Next up we had the platter of the night - Jalapeno Steak Sliders (3.7/5). Personally loved the way the toothpicks are designed and the serving size of the sliders is also just nice. Acccompanied with capiscums and sauce, the steak slides were of a great combination. Though, I thought that the Steak could be much better, it was too stiff. Otherwise I thought this sliders were good. 

 
For the Big Plates that will be featured in the next few pictures, we were advised to accompany them with a cup of Dirty Harry (3.9/5). Dirty Harry is a verson of lychee liquor with apple slices. It tasted really refreshing, with especially with the Chicken Masala. 

 
Chicken Masala (4.2/5)! I thought that this was the best Big Plate amongst the two that we tasted. The charcoal bread was tard normal, same goes for the curry. But, the chicken on the other hand was surprisingly good. It was soft and well cooked, and I can have a whole bowl to myself. Suggestion would be to change the charcoal bread to something that has a more flavourful kick so that it can go well with the curry. 

 
Our last main for the day - Crabmeat Spaghettini (2.5/5). We were all looking forward to this dish and we had high expectation, especially for the spaghettini. But it turned out to be one of the worst dish we tried tonight. The amount of crabmeat is justifiable, but the size of the crabmeats is too small and as for the spaghettini, it was much overcooked and the combination of the crabmeat pieces and speghettini doesn't gives its customer a instant WOW, but rather a turn off. Personally find that this dish have lots of room for improvement, especially for a price of $23. Nonetheless, the portion is really huge. 

 
Personally was expecting to try out the Baked Chocolate Cake, but it ended up with this Toffee Apple Crisp Tart (2.1/5). Expect to receive something much better than this for a price of $14. The portion is too small and there is nothing special about this dish. Although I agree that the toffee hint was there, but the tart isn't crispy at all and it was too tough! As for the scoop of ice cream, there isn't any thing special about it, and it was just plain vanilla ice cream. Suggestion will be to remove this dish from the menu. 

 
All comments and suggestions made were based solely on my opinion, which I have acquired on the day of the Food Tasting. Other than the food, I thought that the ambience of the place needs to improve as well. The corner seats were too dark, there were just two lights shining down and seems like there are water leakages everywhere. Also, staff needs to be more alert of the surrounding and customers need. We have to prompt the staff before ice water was served. Its the basic to serve ice water before the meal and also, we have to prompt the staff to change our plates, although its very obvious that our plates needed to be change. Such meiticulous things will make the restaurant service stands out. All in all, I thought that Harry's Clarke Quay will be a good place to relax and have a cup of wine or two. But not for its mains. Its too unworthy for the quality of food and service. 
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My Little Spanish Place Review Smile Mar 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Paella | Brunch

 
Really honoured to be part of this OpenRice Food Tasting on the 10th of March at this humble restaurant - My Little Spanish Place! Throughout this food tasting, the chef of this restaurant, Edward personally shared quite a few tips on making spanish dishes, as well as explaining the comeabout of the dishes. I got to admit, Chef Edward is really very friendly and approachable! 

 
Once settled, we were prompt to try out their signature Red Wine Sangria ($12/glass). Sangria is often being served in Spanish restaurant and this is my second time trying out Red Wine Sangria! Accompanied with strawberry and apple bites, the drink is really refreshing and goes well with the other 8 dishes that I'm going to introduce to everyone!
Fermin Serrano (white)  10 Vetas Jamon (black)

Fermin Serrano (white) 10 Vetas Jamon (black)

 
We started off with the Platter of JAMON and CHEESE, which is accompanied with riped olives. Jamon is the spanish terms for ham and at My Little Spanish Place, they do serve 5 different kinds of Spanish Ham, ranging from 18 months old ones to 48+ months old ones! Today, we got to try out the 1.5yrs old ham and the 2.5 years old ham. Personally prefer the older (2.5yrs old) one, which has a stronger taste! Goes well with baguette and cheese! 

 
Croquettas ($8/4pcs), which is one of their signature tapas was served next! Croquettas, which is the spanish term for croquettes, is stuffed with jamon and being lightly fried. Served with garlic aioli which gives the croquettas a strong favour! 

 
Next up is another tapas, Gambas al Ajillo ($14). Gambas al Ajillo, which is Garlic Prawns. The restaurant uses fresh shrimps and the sauce is made from boiling olive oil with garlic and chili pepper. I've to admit, the sauce goes really well with the baguette! 

 
Champiñones al Ajillo ($15/3pcs) which is a mushroom dish, is my favourite tapas of the night! Lightly toasted baguette, served with fresh and tender mushroom and shrimp, accompanied with garlic and olive oil. The mushroom is really juicy and goes well with the sauce! Bagus! 

 
Tortilla de Patata con Alioli ($8/4pcs), the chef recommendation. Eggs, potatoes and last ingredient (you've to find out from Chef Edward when you visit them!) will make you a step closer to making this dish! We've tried all sorts of egg omelette, but its really quite unique to have such a Potato Omelette!

 
Paella de la Casa ($49/small), the spanish version of claypot rice! Stuffed with large shrimps, mussels, chicken, langostinas and chorizo! What's my verdict? You've to try this at My Little Spanish Place! Its really sedappp! 
Black Ink Paella

Black Ink Paella

 
Arroz Negra ($44/small), which is literally black ink rice served with prawn and squid. And for the black ink version, there's cheese inside! Personally still prefer the house version though..
Churros, Chocolate Cake and Hand-churned Strawberry Ice Cream

Churros, Chocolate Cake and Hand-churned Strawberry Ice Cream

 
Chef Edward personally plated our personalized Dessert Platter, which includes the 3 signature desserts at My Little Spanish Place - Churros, Chocolate Cake and Hand-Churned Strawberry Ice Cream! Churros, served warm with cinamon sugar and warm chocolate. Churros here are just in the right size, just 2 mouthful and its gone! Chocolate Cake, served in a lollipop stick. Verdict? Real chocolaty! As for the Strawberry Ice Cream, I've to definitely give a special mention to it! Its hand-churned, in other words hand-made from scratch! Oops. I forgot to ask if Chef Edward did participate in the upcoming Gelato World Tour 2015? If yes I'd definitely be there to support! 

 
Photo with Restaurant Manager of My Little Spanish Place (left) and Chef Edward (right). Both are very friendly and approachable dudes! All in all, my experience at My Little Spanish Place had been a real pleasant one, especially with the absolute standard of Spanish food and quality service - staffs were really very prompt in their service, very alert as well. Just that I've to asked for a change of plate when my plate is pretty unclean, perhaps a point to take note maybe? Otherwise, thumbs up for its service!

 
Oh ya, before I forget, alcoholic lovers and wine lovers, My Little Spanish Place has a huge variety of wines and beers - you've to try it out! 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tortilla de Patata con Alioli
 
Date of Visit: Mar 10, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0