OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Classy Clifford Smile Apr 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hotel | Restaurant

We managed to get a last minute cancellation for Clifford on a weekday lunch. Even though it cost $5 more than other dinning star restaurant at $45 it was worth every cents.

I was mistaken that I can see Marina Bay Sand from the full glass window. You only get a partial view at the outdoor sitting. From the inside you face Custom House. The restaurant is designed by Andre Fu which has a high ceiling and natural light coming from the full glass window. The classy layout is similiar to St Regis's Saveur.
Bread & Butter

Bread & Butter

 
We were served multi-grain buns and French loaves to go with butter and delicious duck pate.The lightly salted pate goes well with the bread.
Duck Pate & Multi-Grain Bun

Duck Pate & Multi-Grain Bun

 
As part of Restaurant Week Menu we had 2 choices of Starters and Main Courses. Since there were 2 of us, we pick both to share. When Thong the service staff heard we were sharing, he provided us with 2 sets of plates and put the different courses in the center of the table.
Tuna Escabece

Tuna Escabece

 

Tuna Escabece consist of 3 pieces of 1cm thick tuna served with pickle onion, on a side a crispy toast with pickled herring. Tasting the tuna on its own has no taste until you combined with the pickle vegetables to produce a sweet sour combination on the jelly texture tuna.
Champagne Terrine

Champagne Terrine

 
Champane Terraine is the starter I like between the two. It is like a slice of meat loaf made up of minced pork and chicken liver and do not taste of liquor.The outer layer seem to be covered with bacon. It goes very well with bread and the accompanied house pickled vegetable to balance the taste. The other side dishes of lentil was just right, not too soft or hard.
Signature Duck Confit

Signature Duck Confit

 
The Signature Duck Confit and Baked Loupe De Mere were the main courses. The light brown duck was tender and not salty which is a perfect combination for the salty black garlic. The very smooth and creamy Truffle Potato Mousseline served in a copper pan feel like eating warm ice cream.
Baked Lup De Mere

Baked Lup De Mere

 
The baked fish sits on a bed of confit tomatoe and artichoke. The fish is lightly salted as most of their dishes has subtle taste which the accompanied sides bring it to the next level.
Petits Four, Coffee & Tea

Petits Four, Coffee & Tea

 
For coffee they served Fullerton Bay Blend Coffee and TWG tea. They have a choice of English Breakfast, Darjeeling and Earl Grey. I picked Earl Grey which French Earl Grey was served in a heavy sliver tea pot. A plate of chocolate, macaroons and Kuih Lapis (layer cake) was served with our coffee & tea.
Trio Crème Brulee

Trio Crème Brulee

 
To end the meal on a sweet note, we were served not one but a trio of Crème Brule. It is the first time I eating Crème Brule not from a dessert bowl but like a egg tart. The shell is like a biscuit filled with egg custards and sprinkled with caramilsed sugar. The 3 flavours are chocolate, original and pandan. It also served with fluffy mini citrus madeleine.

The service staff Thong accompanied my elderly dad to the Gent and when Thong find he took a long time coming out he even went to check on him. For his excellent service and beyond his call of duty he should be nominated for Excellent Service Award.

Please note that Mineral water are extra cost.

This is the Best Resturant out of the 3 which I have attended during Restaurant Week. It has beautiful food presentation, nice combination of taste, and excellent service which makes the whole experience very satisfactory.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Duck Pate,Duck Confit,Champagne Terrine
 
Date of Visit: Mar 19, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Celebration at TCC. Smile Jan 27, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant

As Sis is a member of TCC, she was supposed to get a 50% discount card for her Birthday which she did not receive. The store manager Hafeez Hassan at citylink was very kind to check for us and said he can get the card sent down to his store for her Birthday celebration so that we could use it. He actually called us back about the Birthday discount & the lunch party arrangement. He said he would play a Birthday song when the birthday cake was served but this did not happened as he was not on duty when we had the lunch party and his staffs did not know about it.

We decided to have the little party at this branch due to his excellent service. We actually got the Birthday 50% discounts on our meal and Birthday cake.
MatchAzuki Dream $38.80

MatchAzuki Dream $38.80

 
We ordered a MatchAzuki Dream as a Birthday cake. It is layer of green tea sponge with Japanese Red Bean. The cake has green tea mouse and the green is not too sweet
Baby Crayfish Salad $14.50

Baby Crayfish Salad $14.50

 
For Appetizer we ordered the Baby Crayfish Salad and Shrooms Bites. The salad has generous amount of Crayfish on top of Baby Romains lettuce and pieces of avocado and crunchy tobiko added colour to the nice presentation. This is a nice combination.
Shrooms Bites $10.80

Shrooms Bites $10.80

 
Another favourite is Shrooms bites which is a mushroom filling in puff pastry served hot.
It is nice little snacks, best taken as it is served hot.

It happens that they were serving their X'mas Menu which we ordered as part of the Birthday celebration.
Turkey & Chestnut Luxe $45

Turkey & Chestnut Luxe $45

 
We had the Turkey Chestnut Lux which is tender slices of turkey breast served with chestnut stuffing and cranberry sauce. Accompanied with carrots.
Stack of Ocean Treasure $45

Stack of Ocean Treasure $45

 
We also ordered the other X'mas Main which is Stack of Ocean Treasure. This consists of Hake fish sitting on a bed of smoky tomatoes sauce.
Baked Chicken Thigh w Wholegrain Mustard Sauce$21

Baked Chicken Thigh w Wholegrain Mustard Sauce$21

 
Mum ordered Baked Chicken Thigh with Wholegrain Mustard Sauce from the regular menu. The juicy chicken thigh is oven baked and served with mustard sauce.
Jolly Choco-Man $7.30

Jolly Choco-Man $7.30

 
For drinks we tried their X'mas special such as Jolly Choco-man which is cappuccino top with a chocolate man. White X'mas Stardust is blended ice decorated in bronze stars & the glass is coated with sweeten cinnamon dust with 2 pieces of macaroons. It looks very beautiful and the not sweet drink goes well with the macaroons.
White X'mas Stardust $8.30

White X'mas Stardust $8.30

 

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baby Crayfish Salad,Shrooms Bites
 
Date of Visit: Nov 19, 2011 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Vietnamese Zhi Char Smile Sep 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese

So far this is the best Vietnamese Restaurant I have tasted in Singapore. It is similar to what I have eaten in Vietnam, US and Australia. Lots of Vietnamese girls was there when we went for early dinner. At 5pm, the place was 1/3 full.

The place is air-con with fans but did not feel very cool, as the front entrance of the shop is open with no enclosed door to lock in the air-con. The good thing is this corner shop is situated next to a public car-park.

It is simply decorated with table and chair, the walls is lined up with A4 sized photos of the dishes in the menu both in Vietnamese and English name. They play Vietnamese music in the background.

The waitress that serves us could speak Mandarin but you should not have problem as the menu has both languages and picture. You could easily point to the items you want to order.
4 Goi Cuon (Prawn Rolls) $6

4 Goi Cuon (Prawn Rolls) $6

 
The Prawn roll is rice paper roll wrapped with lettuce, prawns and rice noodle. It is plain on its own but goes well with the dipping sauce. The accompany sauce taste like Hoi Sin sauce with chopped peanuts.
Bun Thit Nuong Cha Gio(Grilled Pork w Rice Noodle)

Bun Thit Nuong Cha Gio(Grilled Pork w Rice Noodle)

 
The Grilled Pork comes in dry rice noodle or rice. We ordered it with rice noodle which look like Bee Hoon and topped it with net-like spring roll ($7.50). The yummy & fragrant char-grilled pork chop is well marinated with lemongrass and fish sauce. tongue It is tender and they even served it cut into small pieces. It comes with a fish sauce mixed with cut chillies. You pour the amount of sauce you like into the noodle and mixed it before eating it. The net-like spring roll is crispy and tasty, you can ordered it as a side dish, if not for addition $1.50 it comes with the dry noodle.
Ga Vien Chien (Member Fried Chicken) $8

Ga Vien Chien (Member Fried Chicken) $8

 
Member Chicken is tender pieces of chicken wrapped in beancurd skin and deep fried. The outer layer is crispy and inside tender. It is like the Vietnamese version of chicken nuggets. I guess it will go well with beer.
Da Me (Tamarind Juice) $2

Da Me (Tamarind Juice) $2

 
We tried the Ice Tamarind Juice which was refreshing on a hot day. It is not too sour or sweet and has roasted nuts inside which gives it a crunchy taste.

I wanted to order Sam Po Long as a drink but was not available that day. I will be back to try their crab noodle soup and ice dripped coffee with the family next time.

I love the food here except that it is situated in the sleazy part of Joo Chiat. It is open late at 1pm for lunch and close in the early hours of 1am. So better to go for late lunch or early dinner if you want to avoid the pub going crowd.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Roll, Grilled Pork Chop with Noodle, Member Chicken, Ice Tamarind Juice
 
Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chilli Crab@Airport T2 Smile Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

Mum wanted Chineses Food at Changi Airport for her Birthday. Picked the airport for the easy parking and do not have to worry about rain which the elderly will find it slippery to walk.

We decided to try Seafood Paradise at T2 which we had not tried since they open here.

We ordered the Set Menu and only change the rice to noodles since it was a big Birthday. We also added another order of Chili Crab.
Chilled Assorted Seafood with Spicy Sauce

Chilled Assorted Seafood with Spicy Sauce

 
Chilled Assorted Seafood with Spicy Sauce
This has a medley of seafood like squids, prawns & jelly fish in a light spicy sauce and topped with shredded spring onion. It is an appertiser dish which is not bad.
Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine

Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine

 
Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine
This dish looks like fish soup. The Chunky Marble Goby has lots of fish meat but must be careful with the bone. The broth is cooked with wine and I like the gravy which I can drink like a soup.
Pan Fried Sea Prawn with Supreme Soya Sauce

Pan Fried Sea Prawn with Supreme Soya Sauce

 
Pan Fried Sea Prawn with Supreme Soya Sauce
I love this Soya Sauce Fried Prawn dishes which used to be an old childhood favorite. Used to be available at Zhi Char stall and seldom see in their menu in recent years. The Prawn skin is coated with this yummy sauce and fried till crispy.
Stewed Chineses Spinach with Canopy & Crab Roe

Stewed Chineses Spinach with Canopy & Crab Roe

 
Stewed Chinese Spinach with Canopy & Crab Roe
I found this dish nothing special in taste , the soft Spinach with Canopy and Crab Roe cooked with egg has a thick gravy.
Fried Mee Sua

Fried Mee Sua

 
Fried Mee Sua
The family loved the fried Mee Sua which is fried with a "Wok Hei" taste and not soggy. This is not an easy dish to cooked as the Mee Sua can get soggy if not handled properly.
Chilli Crab with Fried Mantou

Chilli Crab with Fried Mantou

 
Chili Crab with Fried Mantou
Their version of Chili Crab came with lots of tasty spicy tomato gravy which is good to dipped our fried Mantou. For Local, this is not very spicy but for 1st time tourist this may be spicy. The Sri Lankan Crab was meaty and enough for 4 person. Even you missed Chili Crab just before flying, you can consider this version in the Airport. Specially good for those overseas visitor who are flying out and lack of time to try our famous National Dish.
Osmanthus Jelly with Diced Apple and Longan

Osmanthus Jelly with Diced Apple and Longan

 
Osmanthus Jelly with Diced Apple and Longan
Our Set Meni came with this Jelly. I like the smell of the Osmanthus flower and the diced Apple and Longan is a nice combination. This is a nice sweet note to end the meal, which is not too heavy.

Service was fast and good for those in the hurry to catch the plane.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine and Chilli Crab
 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dining in the Forest Smile Oct 25, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel

This is one of the new celebrity Restaurant opened in Sentosa. This is a showcase of our local chef celebrity Sam Leong. It is located inside the new Hotel Equarie Hotel away from Universa Studio. The underground car park is connected. Just follow the direction for the hotel. Take the lift to the lobby where Forest is located.

 
The decor of the restaurant is a open kitchen concept on the left of the entrance. The ceiling is decorated with a tree like wood structure.

 
We were there to have the Restaurant Week (RW) dinner and expected the $55 menu but was surprise to find them offering a $35 discovery menu. I enquire about it and was told the more expensive menu has an extra course and we could choose either menu.
RW Menu

RW Menu

 
We decided to stick to the $35 menu since we were still very full from the earlier RW lunch and now having early dinner. We made the right choices as we were very full when the last course of noodles were served.
Appertizer

Appertizer

 
The 1st dish was not listed in the menu but was a piece of art and pleasing to the eye. One bite and you will be hit with a icy cold and sour sensation, which will open your appertite to the next few dishes. I do not know the name of this complementary dish but I think it is made with tomato, mandarin orange and plum wine. It was a beautiful colour combination served in a artistic bronze colour bowl on top of a beautiful white and gold leaves plate.
Salt & Pepper Bailing Mushroom Salad

Salt & Pepper Bailing Mushroom Salad

 
This salt and pepper Bailing Mushroom has a light taste and the Bailing mushroom has a texture like abalone and the rocket salad was fresh.
Charcoal Grill NZ Cod with Sauteed Spicy Egg Plant

Charcoal Grill NZ Cod with Sauteed Spicy Egg Plant

 
The New Zealand Cod and Spicy Egg Plant was served in an artistic and constrasting plate. The portion were small but the fish was nicely grilled and has a char taste but not burnt. I like the single pieces of egg plant which has the right texture. I guess good things comes in small portion.
Ee-Fu Noodle with Chicken

Ee-Fu Noodle with Chicken

 
The last course was Ee-Fu noodle with chicken. The noodle was a generous portion but the salt level was too high for me. As I have to keep drinking Chrysanthemum tea. It was fried well with chunks of chicken and served in a artistic bowl.

The menu does not comes with tea and Chrysanthemum tea were charged at $6.80 per head before tax.

The prices is considered cheap as you get 3 courses for $35++ per person and overall the portion does not makes you hungry as the noodle is the staple. It is a palate sensory journey which is worth trying at that price.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 07, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0