OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4599 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲728 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Bread That Make Kids Smile! Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Bakery

Chance by this stall when visiting the bike shop 2 doors away. The purple based painting design captured my attention and of course the $1 bun promotion signage as well. The shop has sliding doors for entrance. 1st impression of the shop is the nice glass cabinets they have, much like the kind of showcase seen in shopping mall departmental stalls where u browse. Despite that feel of expensive furniture i was surprised with its cheap pricing. Bread prices are average just $1.50. I also saw cookies, kueh lapis and cakes on display. Of course i went for the reason that led me in, the promotion smile. Selected 3 assorted designs, damn cute! The turtle polo bun design make me smile, sure hope it makes my daughter smile as well. The other 2 i chose the smiley face one which should be cheese and coffee with chocolate chip. Tastewise pretty acceptable, i took nibbles of each from my kids. May want to try their rainbow cake next time but that cost ard $7+ per slice but it looks nice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

With a view Smile Oct 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches


Approximately a 60seater, this Soup Spoon outlet is one of the more affordable joints that still offers a view of the sea, though restricted. You place your order at the counter, pay on the spot and collect your food as well. 

 
Free seating for diners, best seats are the inner right corner ones where there's good lighting and view of the sea. 

 
Jazz music is played in the background but generally diners are engaged in casual conversation so the music is kind of drown out. You will collect number stands for some of the side orders like sandwiches and wedges etc but that's a good sign they prepare it on the spot. 

I tried the beef goulash this time round, cost around $8.20 for regular bowlmad. A precooked dish, the ingredients includes beef chunks and carrots. The soup is not exactly thick based like cream of mushroom but it goes well with the bread (choose whole grain or normal) that was served with it. I actually felt it will go well with rice but they dun serve that. Maybe they should take my suggestion. The soup is definitely nice to have while hot. 

 

 
Flavor enhancement is only via the salt and pepper which you can pick up from a side counter.

 
 the pepper shaker actually has nice messaging on it about why seasoning is good. Will certainly want to try the roasted pumpkin soup next time.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice Assam Fish Smile Oct 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char | Bak Kut Teh

Thanks to the recommendations of the previous reviewer, his suggestions were perfect. We ordered Assam Fish - served nicely on a shallow plate with solid fuel below to keep it warm. The gravy was superb, together with the pineapple taste, the Assam taste is above average. 

 
We also ordered the bak Kut Teh with extra fried beancurd skin, soup is refillable and the spare ribs was nicely cooked, soft and has hints of herbal taste in it. You can tell it could hv been better if its cooked longer but this instantly cooked version is still acceptable. 

 
Also next is the cereal toufu, interesting combination replacing the usual prawn dish with toufu. 

 
Lastly we had the salted egg fish skin, crispy but was hoping the salted egg coating is done more evenly.

 


Overall an above average eat. Free parking. Super fast service. Out 1st dish was served as soon as the drinks were served. Not sure if the automated iPad ordering helps lol. Our bill works out to be $61 including 5 cans of drinks. Will definitely want to try the cabbage chicken next.

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Assam Fish
 
Date of Visit: Oct 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tang Hoon FTW Smile Oct 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

1st tip I can offer is to park just beside odeon tower by the road since this joint has outdoor seating. The security guard does not really care as its free parking for the white lots after 5pm.

 

 

First impression of the place is good, I like the ratten furniture. 

 
I ordered the following

1. Tom Yum Soup Seafood with 1 chilli rating
A bit small bowl but I loved it. Seafood was plenty but most importantly the soup itself packs punch

 


2. Baby KaiLan
This is quite normal though, stir fried with garlic and oyster sauce

 


3. Dry curry pork with 1 chilli rating
This is nice, will go well with rice definitely. I believe the pork slices has been fried before hand. It's like a thicker green curry version but red instead

 


4. Clay pot Tung Hoon with Prawns
This is the best dish for me, the tang Hoon quantity was very generous and prawns were decently sized. It's as good as having the crab version 

 


For drinks I had lychee ice tea, it was good but way too much ice in the glass.

 


Service wise, I'm sure it can be improved as I need quite a while to get attention of the service staff sometimes. Some suggestion for the restaurant includes serve foc ice water and offer condiments to the customers. My bill works out to be $51, i think such pricing, ice water should be generously provided. Will try their fish offering during my next visit

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lao Zi Hao OK Oct 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

1st thing that caught my eye inside this coffeeshop is the signage for all stalls comes since "since 19xx" and most of them is >20yrs above!

 
I decided to try the duck rice, ordered a 1 person mixed set with extra side dish of chye buay. They serve plain rice instead of the yam rice. But glad they were generous with the sauce. My mixed set comes with the pork belly meat, tau kwa and duck meat. I actually like the pork belly meat and it went well with the kway chap kind of chilli. The duck meat and tau kwa was average though. The soup was nice and sweet. If i need to gripe about the food , its probably the chye buay where its a tad too salty smile

 

 

 

 
i like this coffeeshop with its laid back style , along the road side, perfect to do abit of people/vehicle watching. Will probably return next time to try the duck gruel (porridge).

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0