OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4599 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲728 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
$5 Value for Money Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

i was surprised with the $5 option i ordered from this stall. Uncle was nice enough to send it to my table as i was sitting just nearby. He also took the initiative to give me 2 small plates without me telling so, thumbsup for that! 1st impression wasn't good, i was wondering what are my ingredients, i only see the noodles and the fried pork lard bits. Little did i realized the goodies all all buried. Combined with the chilli, this semi moist version is perfect, mixed with the pork lard bits which ads to the the bite, this $5 is definitely worth the money.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fish Belly's a Surprize Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup

First of all i must say i missed out taking photo of the samsui chicken, my bad. Came by with my family, 4 of us, ordered 1 normal set of chicken, Hometown Fried Fish Belly and potato leaves. Its my 1st time trying the fish belly and i must say i'm impressed, i think cooking the dish with scallion, green onion and red cut chilli really enhanced the flavour a lot. The fish belly taste just like fish meat with a bit of skin as well. Its probably fried beforehand then stir fry and thicken with sweet sauce. Its a perfect companion for plain rice. We chose the ah gong fan shu ye which is the spicy version and it was delightful as well, the potato leaves were the young skinny stalk type, though its clumped together, its really nice tasting. My total bill works out to be $63.44 for an early dinner at 430pm. This includes 4 bottomless chrysanthemum servings. The place is pretty empty at this time.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chicken Rice review on the go OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Singaporean | Coffeeshop | Chicken Rice

First time contributing review via the app. Mat Noh can be found in a coffee shop off Lor Limau, pretty near the whampoa hawker centre. Popular with Malay diners, the specialty here is the crispy chicken. I was surprised with no queue on a Tuesday afternoon 1pm. I was just lucky, while taking my order, a small queue started forming. 
stall front

stall front

 

I ordered the standard 1 person set which comes with fragrant chic rice and a bowl of soup. I also topped up a fried egg and a bean curd. Total bill adding up to $4 only. Self service is the way to go here.

 

 


The chicken is really on form, most importantly it's not dry inside, soft and slightly moist, the crispy bits also adds on the the bite. lol The chilli and dark soy sauce mix is impressive as well, I finished two saucers of it. POWER chilli yet not overly spicy. A fantastic eat I must say.

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seems to be an Old Name OK Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Chinese Soup | Noodles

Chanced upon this place when i wanted to visit CAN restaurant next door. CAN was closed and i saw a queue forming at this Luk Lu coffeeshop. This coffeeshop is pretty old with just 3 other stalls selling food (claypot rice, duck rice). Its self service here with both the fried fish and raw version for selection. I opted for the fried version to go with rice and requested for more shredded egg slices. I was surprised when the dish was ready. The surprize was with the vegetable which i was actually given water cress (i think its water cress smile ) instead of the normal chye sim. Not sure if its got to do with the egg slices (50cents extra to get more slices). Taste-wise i thought it was pretty average with the Whampoa Beach Road version a lot more tasty than this. But it was refreshing to taste the different vegetable offered. Overall not a bad eat but if i would to return again, i'll probably try the claypot rice instead. My bowl of soup with rice and additional egg cost $5.50.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Don't like the Wasabi OK Sep 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Halal

This is quite a quiet outlet within the driving range itself. Yes car park charges applies, paid around $1.20 for 30min stay. Parking is available just infringing of the driving range. Only a few patrons on a wed night, I ordered the ultimate box with Fish Ole Burger, 1 piece of chicken, 1 whipped potato and 1 shots mango peach juice. Didn't really like the fish ole as I think the tartar or mayonnaise has abit of wasabi added. But the size of the burger was good, being longish in nature and not round. The sjora juice is a good alternative to soft drinks though. The chicken breast which I had was a little off form as well, the skin is good but the breast meat itself reminiscent of being "chemical frozen" despite its hot, yes that's how I felt. tongue
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0