OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Revamp Menu OK Aug 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | European

Few weeks back, I was invited for the food tasting at SELA Restaurant. It is located approximately 10 minutes of walking distance away from City Hall & Bugis MRT station. SELA is a restaurant offering modern European items with mixture of modern Asian creations for the newly revamp menu by Chef Benson.
Starters

 
With the cosy and casual dining setting, we started off with Procuitto Ham & Melon S$16.00 as starter. It is nicely plated with wild rocket, compressed rock melon, pickled beetroot and balsamic gel. Sweet taste of rock melon with some greens do perks up my appetite to start the meal.

 
Soy & Beetroot Cured Fjord Trout S$16.00 served with Japanese cucumber, avocado puree, avurga caviar and smoked oil. Pretty presentation with the caviar as the topping on the salmon sashimi taste refreshing.

 
Pan-fried Foie Gras S$18.00 served with braised daikon, nashi pear, nori and lemon-miso glaze is also one of the starter choices. My favourite dish that I wish to have more than a plate. Loving the soft and tenderness of the foie grass that literally melts into your mouth with the fusion Japanese style of preparation.
Main Course

 
Kakuni Style Pork Cheek S$20.00 was well-received the night. Argula, charred corn kennel, braised leek, roasted parsnip and granny smith sauce is nicely presented on the table. The pork meat is moist and easily tears off with the fork itself.
Confit of Chicken Leg “Chicken Rice Style” S$18.00 served with watercress salad, French beans, baby carrot and chicken jus. Although the presentation is rather normal compared to the rest, the chicken meat served was tender and soft.

 
Pan-fried barramundi S$20.00 served with spring onion mash, coriander salad, crispy garlic and garlic soy sauce. This main has a slight twist of Chinese fusion in it as you can see the crispy garlic is served as the garnishing and topping of the fish. That’s really interesting way of preparation and surprisingly the combination turned out pretty well.
Desserts

 
We were served two types of desserts that night. Vanilla Custard Tau Huay S$8.00. What comes into your mind when you see the word Tau Huay? It’s the Chinese style beancurd and true enough it is but it has the mixture of strawberry gelee, lychee and lychee glaze. So, this is what happens when the east meets the west.

 
Semolina Cake S$12.00 is the passionfruit curd with torched meringue, vanilla ice-cream and passon fruit coulis. Personally it is not my favourite and I find the cake is fluffy and dry. But the combo with vanilla ice-cream was just fine and the taste is towards mild rather than our usual stronger preferences.

For more food reviews, check out http://hazeldiary.com
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Korean Bingsu Smile Mar 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Located deep inside Serangoon Gardens is the newly Korean dessert shop. Nusongyee (snowflake) is an authentic Korean dessert that owned by Koreans. Since my brother-in law is driving, we (sisters) decided to give it a try. The shop is evolved with variety flavors of bingsu, Korean rice cakes and variety flavors of toast breads. Korean folks are managing the operation here with the self-service concept. Customers will place an order and make payment at the counter. Once everything is done, we are given a device to notify on the collection at the counter.

 
Here are the lists that we explored:-

 
Injeolmi Bingsu S$14.90.
It’s recommended by the staff as one of the signature dessert in-house. Injeolmi is sweet Korean rice cake made by steaming and pounding with powdered coating. It’s like having muah chee texture as the desserts are made from dried beans, nuts and seeds. The roasted soy bean and almond taste with added sugar definitely enhance the sweetness and crunchiness of the dessert.

 
Chocolate Banana Bingsu S$13.90.
You will never go wrong the combination. Sweetness taste of chocolate and banana with fine ice milk shaving like snowflakes works pretty well. It is best shared with friends as it is quite a sweet tooth for individual.

 
Garlic Cheese Toast S$9.90.
Toasted with flavorful garlic cheese comes with 8 slices. We love the crispy crust with cheese toasted.
Total bill does not include GST and service charge. Although the price is to the higher side, it does served authentic taste of Korean dessert. This is a premium price to pay if you want to get a taste of it.
For more reviews: http://hazeldiary.com 
Instagram: hazelleo
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Garlic Cheese Toast,Injeolmi Bingsu
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 08, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner @ Anthesis Smile Nov 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Robertson Quay area has an extensive choice for brunch session and restaurants to choose from. Anthesis Cafe is one of the addition in the area. It is few shops away from well-knowned cafe,Toby's Estate.Finally paid them a visit on Wednesday night to try on their brunch. However, brunch menu is not available by the time we arrived. Nevertheless, we get the chance to try their dinner menu.

 

 
Trio Mushroom Spaghetti S$20.00 which serves in an appealing presentation. Trio mushroom combination is ideal for those who are taking vegetarian. It is quite filling with the portion served.

 
Chef did a great job on the food plating for Halibut S$28.00. We were amazed with the presentation when the dish was served. Smooth and soft fish texture with the in-house sauce left us with deep impression.

 

 
We didn't order drinks as there is free flow plain water. Interesting part here is that the water served with laser-branded tin mugs.No additional charge for the water.Total bill S$48.00 which include 7% GST. I would love to be back to try their brunch
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Halibut
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Supper Bar OK Oct 17, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Noodles

 
Grub Noodle Bar is the third F&B concept from the people behind Grub at Bishan Park and Fix Café at HomeTeamNS. They have converted their previous cooking studio into a supper bar. The bar is located at Rangoon Road which is an approximately a 10mins walk from Farrer Park MRT station. Their official opening day is on 16th October and we had a media preview few days before they officially started.
The place has an open concept kitchen with simple and yet stylish interior design for the dinning place. With the huge glass display at the end of the place gives the whole place a spacious look. And most importantly their kitchen ventilation is well-designed as we were walked out the place without any frying smell.

 
We started off with Kang Kong Salad S$7.00 which gave me a surprise. Unlike the salads that served in restaurants, Grub decided to serve salad with kang kong tossed in a Nonya achar and house dressing. It turned out to be an appetizing combination and touch of crunchiness.

 
Chicken Drumlets S$9.00 coated with curry leaves, garlic and sesame seeds. It’s decent good with the crunchy bites and best have it with beer. Grub also offers bottled and draft beers for diners to enjoy the night.

 
Soft Shell Crab S$13.00 served with mayo and house seasoning. Crispy golden deep fried snack with has the nature sweetness that blend well with the sauces.

 
I would recommend you to try Hokkaido Scallop Tataki S$15.00 because it is my favourite. Fresh scallop lightly torched with mustard glaze and mandarin orange segments. Scallop sliced thinly with the well combination with the ingredients taste awesome just like sashimi for me.

 
Venus Clams S$13.00 sautéed with beer, toasted ginger and lemongrass broth was indeed flavorful. Taste of clam sweetness and not overwhelming beer taste is just perfectly fine to have.

 
Baby cuttlefish S$9.00 is another option for those we are heading for beer. The dish was deep fried into a delightful crisp with basil pesto mayo.

 
Live Tiger Prawn S$15.00 steamed in sake, garlic and ginger glaze was a splendid one. Nature freshness of the prawn gives the sweetness into the seasoning.

 
Assam Laksa S$13.00 comes with prawns, fresh cucumber, pineapple chinks and fish gravy. It’s a bowl of goodness with combination of sweet, sour and spicy taste. It is one of the worth trying assam laksa in Singapore as compared to other places though.

 
Beef Noodles serving from S$12.00 to S$19.00 is the signature main course at Grub Noodle Bar.There are 4 types of beef slices – Pasture-Fed Brisket, Pasture- Fed Rump, 100% Hormone and Antibiotic free 150-day Grainfed Angus Sirloin and 100% Hormone and Antibiotic free 150-day Grainfed Angus Ribeye. The noodles are freshly made by their supplier everyday with their in-house sauce. The bowl is full of goodness and flavorful taste with the meatballs, minced beef and mushroom stew.
My choice of beef broth is the angus ribeye S$19.00 that has the smooth and tender meat texture. But the sirloin S$17.00 tasted not bad too. The portion served was value for money and quite filling if you are having it all by yourself. The beef broth is quite addictive with its mild and less oily taste. There is also homemade Chinchalok to go with the beef noodles and it taste pretty good.

 
Grub Noodle Bar has started their operation on 16/10/2014. This would be an ideal place for people who are craving for supper or even those who knock off late and can’t find elsewhere to have a nice decent dinner.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkaido Scallop Tataki,Beef Noodles,Assam Laksa,Venus Clam,Live Tiger Prawn
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 14, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Chinese Soup | Chinese Noodles

Chang Thai is a Thai restaurant that is located at the neighbourhood area. For those staying around the north and looking for affordable Thai cuisine, this will be an added list then.It is approximately 15-20 minutes walk from Bishan MRT station. Alternatively, you can always take a bus to reach the destination.

A bit of the history of Chang Thai for you guys. The eatery is founded by 3 buddies in their 20s to 30 that comes with different working backgrounds. But they shared the common interest and passion on Thai Foods and thus, we have the affordable Thai cuisine in neighourhood area.

 
We had the Lemon Grass Drink and Thai Milk Green Tea S$2.50 each.Thai Milk Green Tea is something different from the usual Lemongrass drink.

 
Pandan Chicken S$2.50/pc was tender, juicy and fragrance from the aroma smell of the pandan leaves.

 
Beef Noodle Soup S$7.00 was my favourite overall. The soup broth has the nourishing and rich flavor and it is quite addictive after few sips. But we were given the soup broth to try on. So the picture below is without noodles.

 
Mango Salad S$6.00 is one of the signature Thai dish to savor before main order is served.

 
Highly recommended dish, Garlic Honey Chicken comes in two sizes S$6.00/S$8.00. Nicely fried with even spread of honey over the crisp chicken striking the balance with the tenderness, juiciness and sweetness.

 
We were introduced to Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass S$25.00. The fish freshness is the key for steamed dish. The combination of seabass with lemongrass was indeed achieve a balance of sweetness and aroma fragrance.

 
Pad Thai comes in two sizes S$6.00/ S$9.00. Definitely a value for money as the portion is very generous.

 
Prawn Cake S$5.80 for 3pcs. You can taste the freshness, crisp and rich prawn paste.

 
As for desserts, we tried Tapioca with Coconut Milk S$4.00. Loving the soft texture of the tapioca with coconut milk spreaded over it.

 
Red Ruby with Jackfruit S$5.00 is my favourite Thai dessert. Red ruby here is homemade and it not starchy at all. And slices of jackfruit completes the sweet taste of the dessert.

 
Lastly we had Mango Sticky Rice S$6.00. Smooth and sweet mango with the sticky moist glutinous rice make the perfect combination. They served good ones here.

 
Overall the range of foods and price offered was quite affordable. The restaurant has ready space for family diners or even friends gathering. It is quite an offer for heart landers if they are craving for Thai cuisine and not wanting to get out of neighbourhood. This would be a choice for them.
For more details, http://hazeldiary.com/chang-thai-block-151-bishan-street-11/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Sticky Rice,Prawn Cake,Fish Cake,Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend