OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Supper Bar OK Oct 17, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Noodles

 
Grub Noodle Bar is the third F&B concept from the people behind Grub at Bishan Park and Fix Café at HomeTeamNS. They have converted their previous cooking studio into a supper bar. The bar is located at Rangoon Road which is an approximately a 10mins walk from Farrer Park MRT station. Their official opening day is on 16th October and we had a media preview few days before they officially started.
The place has an open concept kitchen with simple and yet stylish interior design for the dinning place. With the huge glass display at the end of the place gives the whole place a spacious look. And most importantly their kitchen ventilation is well-designed as we were walked out the place without any frying smell.

 
We started off with Kang Kong Salad S$7.00 which gave me a surprise. Unlike the salads that served in restaurants, Grub decided to serve salad with kang kong tossed in a Nonya achar and house dressing. It turned out to be an appetizing combination and touch of crunchiness.

 
Chicken Drumlets S$9.00 coated with curry leaves, garlic and sesame seeds. It’s decent good with the crunchy bites and best have it with beer. Grub also offers bottled and draft beers for diners to enjoy the night.

 
Soft Shell Crab S$13.00 served with mayo and house seasoning. Crispy golden deep fried snack with has the nature sweetness that blend well with the sauces.

 
I would recommend you to try Hokkaido Scallop Tataki S$15.00 because it is my favourite. Fresh scallop lightly torched with mustard glaze and mandarin orange segments. Scallop sliced thinly with the well combination with the ingredients taste awesome just like sashimi for me.

 
Venus Clams S$13.00 sautéed with beer, toasted ginger and lemongrass broth was indeed flavorful. Taste of clam sweetness and not overwhelming beer taste is just perfectly fine to have.

 
Baby cuttlefish S$9.00 is another option for those we are heading for beer. The dish was deep fried into a delightful crisp with basil pesto mayo.

 
Live Tiger Prawn S$15.00 steamed in sake, garlic and ginger glaze was a splendid one. Nature freshness of the prawn gives the sweetness into the seasoning.

 
Assam Laksa S$13.00 comes with prawns, fresh cucumber, pineapple chinks and fish gravy. It’s a bowl of goodness with combination of sweet, sour and spicy taste. It is one of the worth trying assam laksa in Singapore as compared to other places though.

 
Beef Noodles serving from S$12.00 to S$19.00 is the signature main course at Grub Noodle Bar.There are 4 types of beef slices – Pasture-Fed Brisket, Pasture- Fed Rump, 100% Hormone and Antibiotic free 150-day Grainfed Angus Sirloin and 100% Hormone and Antibiotic free 150-day Grainfed Angus Ribeye. The noodles are freshly made by their supplier everyday with their in-house sauce. The bowl is full of goodness and flavorful taste with the meatballs, minced beef and mushroom stew.
My choice of beef broth is the angus ribeye S$19.00 that has the smooth and tender meat texture. But the sirloin S$17.00 tasted not bad too. The portion served was value for money and quite filling if you are having it all by yourself. The beef broth is quite addictive with its mild and less oily taste. There is also homemade Chinchalok to go with the beef noodles and it taste pretty good.

 
Grub Noodle Bar has started their operation on 16/10/2014. This would be an ideal place for people who are craving for supper or even those who knock off late and can’t find elsewhere to have a nice decent dinner.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkaido Scallop Tataki,Beef Noodles,Assam Laksa,Venus Clam,Live Tiger Prawn
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 14, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Homemade Ice-cream with Waffles OK Oct 12, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

Ice-cream parlours are growing rapidly within the neighborhoods. The Milky Way is one of it that located at west side of Singapore. The cafe is situated in the Tanglin Halt neighborhood with an approximately 10 minutes walk away from Commonwealth MRT station.It is opened by former Campus Superstar participant Renfred Ng, whom is also the barista of the cafe.

 

 
I met Renfred during one of the blogging event and he was sharing that his new cafe will be opening on the month of September. Congrats to his new venture! My friend and I decided to drop for the waffles ice-cream.
Ordering and payment are made at the cashier counter. The staff did the serving upon order. We ordered waffles S$5.00 with a scoop of Pistachio Ice-cream S$3.80. Unlike waffles in Creamier or Sunday Folks, the waffles are not very thick. Nevertheless, it tasted crispy and fluffy with their signature pistachio ice-cream.

 

 
From the left: Hot Latte with art S$4.50 and Iced Latte S$6.00. All made by the down-to-earth cafe owner, Renfred. Fragrance light smell of the roasted coffee with well balance smoothing taste.
If you are staying at the west side and needs a chill out and relaxing place nearby, The Milky Way would be one of the option. The cafe has quite a spacious place to accommodate people and cosy sofa at a corner. Quaint surroundings, what else can you ask for at a neighborhood place?
 
Recommended Dish(es):  waffles with Ice-cream
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Waffles With Ice Cream Smile Oct 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Creamier is no longer a stranger name to those who are on social media and instagram. The instagram worthy photo earned it’s fame with the two scoops ice-cream and 2-tiers waffles. The ice-cream cafe located in a hidden heartland estates in Singapore which is still a walking distance from Toa Payoh MRT station. However, this does not stop people from coming as the cafe is always full house.
We went over on Sunday evening and the place is crowded with people. We are quite lucky that we managed to secure a seat. Orders and payments are made at the counter. We were given a waiting number for the orders to be served.
Approximately 10-15 minutes time, our waffles with Sea Salt Gula Melaka and Dark Chocolate set and Earl Grey Lavendar and Mango Sorbet set are served on the table. Each sets S$11.80 includes the additional per scoop pricing. Waffles with a scoop of ice-cream is S$8.50 but most of the customers will go for two scoops instead.

 

 
I personally feel that two scoops are just nice to go with the crispy belgium waffles. I love the fragrance and cripsy texture of waffles. Buttery flavor and surprisingly not plain at all if were to have them without any toppings.The earl grey lavendar was one of my favourite flavor. It has an unique taste of lavender which is quite addictive for me. Sea salt gula melaka has strong and not overwhelming combination flavor which is generally one of the hot favourite by customers.

 
We also ordered Ice Latte S$5.50 and Iced Tea S$9.00 while waiting for desserts to be served. Drinks are quite decent and secondary to order if you are dropping by. However, I would advise not to drop by during weekend. The place is crowded with people and you need to get prepare to wait for seats or even get your cravings fix in a very short time.
For more reviews: http://hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Earl Grey Lavendar,Sea Salt Gula Melaka,Dark Chocolate
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Chinese Soup | Chinese Noodles

Chang Thai is a Thai restaurant that is located at the neighbourhood area. For those staying around the north and looking for affordable Thai cuisine, this will be an added list then.It is approximately 15-20 minutes walk from Bishan MRT station. Alternatively, you can always take a bus to reach the destination.

A bit of the history of Chang Thai for you guys. The eatery is founded by 3 buddies in their 20s to 30 that comes with different working backgrounds. But they shared the common interest and passion on Thai Foods and thus, we have the affordable Thai cuisine in neighourhood area.

 
We had the Lemon Grass Drink and Thai Milk Green Tea S$2.50 each.Thai Milk Green Tea is something different from the usual Lemongrass drink.

 
Pandan Chicken S$2.50/pc was tender, juicy and fragrance from the aroma smell of the pandan leaves.

 
Beef Noodle Soup S$7.00 was my favourite overall. The soup broth has the nourishing and rich flavor and it is quite addictive after few sips. But we were given the soup broth to try on. So the picture below is without noodles.

 
Mango Salad S$6.00 is one of the signature Thai dish to savor before main order is served.

 
Highly recommended dish, Garlic Honey Chicken comes in two sizes S$6.00/S$8.00. Nicely fried with even spread of honey over the crisp chicken striking the balance with the tenderness, juiciness and sweetness.

 
We were introduced to Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass S$25.00. The fish freshness is the key for steamed dish. The combination of seabass with lemongrass was indeed achieve a balance of sweetness and aroma fragrance.

 
Pad Thai comes in two sizes S$6.00/ S$9.00. Definitely a value for money as the portion is very generous.

 
Prawn Cake S$5.80 for 3pcs. You can taste the freshness, crisp and rich prawn paste.

 
As for desserts, we tried Tapioca with Coconut Milk S$4.00. Loving the soft texture of the tapioca with coconut milk spreaded over it.

 
Red Ruby with Jackfruit S$5.00 is my favourite Thai dessert. Red ruby here is homemade and it not starchy at all. And slices of jackfruit completes the sweet taste of the dessert.

 
Lastly we had Mango Sticky Rice S$6.00. Smooth and sweet mango with the sticky moist glutinous rice make the perfect combination. They served good ones here.

 
Overall the range of foods and price offered was quite affordable. The restaurant has ready space for family diners or even friends gathering. It is quite an offer for heart landers if they are craving for Thai cuisine and not wanting to get out of neighbourhood. This would be a choice for them.
For more details, http://hazeldiary.com/chang-thai-block-151-bishan-street-11/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Sticky Rice,Prawn Cake,Fish Cake,Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : English

The Royal Mail Restaurant & Bar established in year 2012 has revamped their menu recently.The bar area is situated on the ground floor and the restaurant itself is on the second level. The bar area is comfortable and cosy which makes a perfect chill place after work hours.
This new facelift introduces new specialty cocktails and British-inspired tapas on its menu.
We had a great night sampling all the new cocktails on the menu, which was launched after a three months of hard work by the kitchen and bar team. Customers can expect an appetizing range of speciality cocktails, a well-curated range of whiskeys and spirits, as well as bar grub that boast modern British sensibilities.
Snapshots of the drinks that we tried that night!

 

 
Agent 006 - Muddled Lime Juice, Sugar and Mint leaves, with Rum and Lychee Juice with a burning stream of Bacardi 151. Loving the taste of it!My favourite too!
Plum Job-Sour Plum Powder shaken with Vodka and Sprite, garnished with a Sour Plum for a lingering taste. It is quite addictive too.
Complementing the drinks, bar grab menu are available for serving as well.

 
Old Fashioned Spice, a perennial favourite which was given a slightly sweetened aftertaste with the deft infusion of honey and clove. Definitely one of my favourite!

 

 

 
The Beef Steak is an irresistible choice especially when indulged with the accompaniment of Spicy Crab-Tomato and Béarnaise sauces.
BBQ Sweet & Spicy Meat Balls and Shrimp Paste Chicken Drumlets.
Sauteed Chorizo Sausages & Toasted Bread
Sweet Potato Chips served with Onion and Shallot Salsa.
Beer Battered Calamari Rings with Wasabi Alioli sauce.
Garlic Bread which is served in unique way. I felt it was over toasted and dry to my liking.
Straight Cut Fries with Truffled Mayo.

For more information, check out my blog post http://hazeldiary.com/the-royal-mail-restaurant-bar/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Agent 006,Old Fashioned Spice,Straight Cut Fries with Truffles Mayo
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0