OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 491 First(s)
No. of Review1729 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity12000 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11212 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant566 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1968 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 1729 Reviews in Singapore
Avocado Cry Apr 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Juices

Food
Bought these two cups of avocado happily from King Avocado to learn that the taste are a far cry from Mr Avocado. I would not have patronize this stall if Mr Avocado Stall is opened. Since Mr Avocado is not opened, I guess alot of customers would have taken the alternative to buy from king avocado. Sold at the same cost $2.50 with Mr Avocado, I'm comparing apple to apple. The stall king avocado is way too dilute. Felt kind of short changed if I were to bench mark's the taste using Mr Avocado's.

 
Service
Service was moderate. Self Service expected if you were sitting too far.

Ambience
An usual noisy hawker center. Since Alexandra Village Food Centre has quite a number of delicious food, the crowd are always there.

Price
$2.50 for diluted drink is a definite no no to me.

Recommendations / Tips
We can skip the avocado from this shop if it continue to be so dilute.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Date of Visit: Apr 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cake in Jar Cry Apr 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

Food
I came across this article that was introducing Grin Affair on one of the local newspaper this friday and came to know about Grin affair .

We had the dark chocolate at $5.50 per jar. On top of the jar there is one chocolate, it was the saltiest chocolate that I ever had. In between its cake and chocolate, there was thick layer of condensed milk. I find it a very weird combination. The cake is not what I had expected - there were merely any dark chocolate taste, its more like chocolate cream only. I was rather disappointed and felt short changed. The cake are just like the normal chocolate cake we have from those ordinary shop house bakery, nothing to rave about.

 
Portion was little and look at the size of the jar/glass. From the outlook of it, it just another ordinary dessert that was make special by putting in the jar.

 
Service
Service was quick. The auntie is friendly and polite.

Ambience
The place is quite run down but with air con, the main entrance to the shop is via the backdoor of the HDB building which is situated above the air-con compressors and also places where people are hanging their clothing above. The shop name was decorated as shown with places and some algae over it.

 
When we entered the shop, we have no idea of what flavors of cake they are offering as there were no display of the cakes in the fridge for customers to see unlike the normal cake shop, we will get to see the real thing and select our choice on the spot base on what we see. The lady directed us to the board on the wall for the menu. There were quite a number of choices available.

 
There was this recycled decorations on this shelves which makes the shop looks abit run down.

 
Price
Overpriced as the portion and quality doesn't match its pricing. As the shop was situated in a neighborhood district that is not very near to the MRT, people like me had went there all the way. Considering my trip there too, its not really price effective.

Recommendations / Tips
No recommendations. This will be my first and last visit.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Date of Visit: Apr 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yacks! Cry Apr 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Porridge/Congee

Food
Frankly speaking, it was a very wrong choice of us to ordered this Frog Legs porridge.

Very hot frog legs clay pot with spring onions were served.

 
Ordered the clay pot with 2 congee at the cost of $11.

 
Congee is good, warm and tasty.

 
The frog legs are more or less tasteless, the taste of the black sauce and spring onions did not go deep into the meat. My bites are quite forceful, it is very difficult to tear off the meat. My friend and myself were pretty disappointed by the quality of the food as it was not totally cook. Also you can still smell the stinky smell. It's atrocious!

 
Service
Service is moderate, nothing to mention about.

Ambience
Noisy hawker centre environment, on and off you can smell some satay aroma floating around.

 
Price
Pricing is rather reasonable if we disregard the standard of the food.

Recommendation / Tips
Will not come again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  none
 
Date of Visit: Apr 05, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

BCM Cry Apr 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

Food

I purposely travel from west to east (bedok rd) for Jalan Tua Kong Bah Chor Mee. I have tried the main so many times and my friend somehow persuaded me that the branch has the same taste as the main. The branch is located at one of the Coffee House called Kwek Seng Huat Eating House along the stretch of muslim food stalls below the privatized Hawker Centre.

My friend and I ordered the Bah Chor Mee (BCM) at $4.50 each. Without fail, we have waited for about half hour before our breakfast comes.

 
My portion comes with 3 prawns, fishball, meatballs and fishcake. Pork lards are found in the mee and the mee is totally out of my expectation - its simply too spicy for me! I was sweating because of the spiciness of the chilli mee pok. The chilli had took my tastebuds away and I will not visit this branch again!

 
My soup has a slice of fishcake. Ha! My friend mentioned that it tastes the same, however I dont think so. It's either my taste buds had gone haywire with all the chilli... or my friend's has wrong judgement. Soup is not as sweet tasting as the main stall.

 
Service
Service waiting time is horrible. Well, they are famous for their waiting time. It's just very common.

Ambience
Hot surroundings even though we had outdoors seat. THe smoke from the roasted delights are generating heat and after the meal my clothing are reeked of BBQ / Smoked Smell. Awwww..

Price
I understand that the main shop has a difference of $0.30 for every portion.
Well, somehow I find it overprice!

Recommendations / Tips
I'm quite disappointed by the taste of the chilli empowering the whole meal and for the fact that I drove all the way there! I will not visit the branch stall again! If you are quite hungry, i suggest that you dont eat this, to find seats, time is taken and the time to wait for the food takes quite long too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Date of Visit: Apr 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

First & last try Cry Apr 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

Food
Why the long Queue? It really puzzles me alot. It's a total waste of time to queue for such food.
Maybe because Plaza Singapura has just extended with lots of food chains and this shop is new, this is the only reason what I can think of. Besides this, the buying point is that they have unlimited free flow of appetizers at the "all-you-can-eat" appetizers bar. These are some examples. Chawanmushi standards seems average, no meat, no fish cake just a few small chunks of mushroom. What's worse is the pickles or salad... It tastes sour and overdued!

 
Ordered a set of Pork Katsuni ($11.90) - fried pork cutlet with onion and egg. Decent meal and quite soggy, nothing to shout at but below average standard. Set comes with rice and miso soup.

 
Had this chicken itame set at $14.99. This dish totally failed. There is no black vinegar taste and it's a far cry from what ootoya is offering. They offered fried green chilli in their vegetables and others. This comes with miso soup and rice as well.

 
Service
Service is not good. It's hard to get service/attention from the workers.

Ambience
Ambience is ok. It's a kind of open dinning and you get to see the inner malls and other food outlets as I'm seated beside the parapet.

Price
If food is good, the pricing they offered isnt an issue. Seriously no to their standard!

Recommendation / Tips
There is no way I will make a return for my meal there unless the standard turns better!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Date of Visit: Mar 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0