OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2688 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲84 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Not nice... Cry Jun 08, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

Food here is at most average but the long waiting time is why they lost one star with me.

We ordered:
• Spaghetti with Prawn in Tomyam coconut sauce - I thought this kinda sound strange but there were more than 2 reviewers who mentioned it as good so I thought we'll try. My gut was right, the sauce was coconut-y and Tomyam-y but the concoction just doesn't kick it. Sad 😭

• Olive Rice - after a long wait, we hungrily ate it up and liked it.

• Mixed Grill - this was great. The chicken and beef slices were nicely charred with right amount of BBQ taste. The sotong was also done just nicely without making it into rubber.

Unlikely to return as the wait doesn't warrant the taste of food.

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sad Waffles Cry Jul 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Ice Cream and Gelato | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly


To be fair, we only went there for desserts. My one star rating was mainly for the sad state of their waffles and ice cream. 

The waffle came with 2 scoops of ice cream with was decent. The main problem was the waffle! We could see something was not quite right when the waffle looked really brown. We didn't smell any burnt  smell so we thought maybe the waffle had some chocolate in it. 

This establishment is called Bricks n Cubes which was very apt to describe the condition of their waffles. Their waffles had the texture of a brick with small cubes cutout as design. We did raise the matter with their chef and he agreed to change our order for us. Unfortunately, the replacement waffles were no better and we thought as good gesture to make good of our dining experience, the chef would have at least also added a complimentary scoop of ice cream on the replacement waffle. But we were wrong. 

So we just ate as much of the hard, tasteless and unappetizing replacement waffles as we could (as we didn't have anymore ice cream to soften anything). We didn't want to waste food but the waffles were really quite quite sad...

It's quite sad as the establishment had the potential to be a really great place for adults and kids to eat & place but the food is so below par. 😞
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not that authentic leh... Cry Oct 23, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Asian Variety

It's my helper's birthday and we decided to treat her to some yummies from her home country. So in the restaurant, we asked her to order some dishes that she likes and we will be adventurous and just eat. So she ordered:

1) Myin Khwa - salad with a nutty flavor dressing. The leaves have a slight bitter aftertaste but the overall effect is actually quite nice.

2) Pork Sausage - this is essentially ngo Hiang in popiah skin, deep fried till the skin is super crispy. I thought the pork will taste porky but I was surprised that this was actually very nice.

3) Kyazan Hinga - it's certainly different from my usual selection of glass noodle. I don't mind it but I don't love it either.

4) Rakhine with soup - Same feeling as the glass noodle. My helper shared that she also found the taste funny as it's not made like this back home. So I guess this restaurant is not as authentic as we thought so...

5) Kang kong - nicely stir-fried that achieved a good amount of wok-Hei!

6) Shrimp paste fried rice - it's ok, taste like normal fried rice. Good to be able to taste the mini Shrimps in the rice.

7) Pork black beans - Again this is close to our Chinese lor-Bak. But not as nice.

8) Dessert - a super sweet concoction of everything sweet! But yummy lah...

For a place that is not super authentic, it's full of Myanmarese! Since my helper doesn't like the food here much, it's unlikely I'll return.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2011 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

What's the hype about? Cry Sep 12, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Portuguese | Steaks and Grills

Finally decided to eat at Nandos now that the craze has died down. Brought while family there so we ordered the Peri Platter, which included:
1) Salad - it's fresh greens dressed with a vinegarette. It's alright but it's kinda sour in the not very nice sense...hmmm... :/

2) 4 quarters of chicken - we ordered 2 Hot Peri and 2 Lemon & Herb. The hot was quite spicy actually but nice. My children found the Lemon & Herb too sour and left all the skin for me (Yay!) and just ate the flesh with ketchup. The meat is tender so that's nice.

3) Medeterrane Rice - This is one of the 4 sides of the set. It tastes like butter rice essentially, ok but not great.

4) Grilled Vege - Side 2 and this is rather oily. Hope it's olive oil but it taste ok.

5) Potato Salad - they tossed mini potatoes with what I think is Thousand Island sauce so it's too sweet & sour for my liking. Was disappointed.

6) French Fries - my kid's delight! But seriously, how do you mess up french fries lor?

7) 2 loaves of bread with herb butter - the bread is actually quite nice with a powdery topping. The butter herb is ok, honestly, I find my home-made one nicer. tongue

8) Hummus - hubby ordered this starter as he really felt like eating the hummus dip. He liked it enough.

9) Chicken liver with Hot Peri Peri - hubby ordered this starter too because he liked this dish in Melaka. But strangely, he found this version sour?

Overall my family was not very impressed with the meal, not likely to return.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not Likely Again Cry Sep 03, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Seafood

My second time to this brand of restaurant but this time at the Yio Chu Kang branch. Again there, there are 2 branches, we went to the one oppo the stadium.

For that dinner, we ordered quite a number of crabs as there were more of us.

1) 2 Chilli Crabs - the sauce was alright but the freshness of the crabs were not consistent. One fresh while the other had rather limp flesh.

2) 1 Butter Crab - this crab was c***! It was big alright but the flesh was mush! That's unacceptable!! So we sent it back and they replaced with one that's at least decent.

3) 1 Black Pepper Crab - the sauce is good and this one was fresh.

The other dishes were ok good but I don't think we come to a seafood place for it's veggie dishes right?

I'll not likely return as we paid $50 per pax for not really very awesome crabs. I think the restaurant is trying to mix some low grade crabs with good ones and hope that we will not raise up the matter. Plus I only had 3 pieces of crab in the end.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 20, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0