OpenRice Index
  
tanyachloe
This is tanyachloe living in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Somerset, Orchard. Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bars/Lounges, Café and Sushi/Sashimi, Salads, Desserts and Cakes, Tze Char.
Member 27 First(s)
No. of Review163 Review(s)
編輯推介數目26 Editor's Choice
Recommended10 Recommended
Popularity1428 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos534 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant20 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲148 Follower(s)
tanyachloe  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 163 Reviews in Singapore
Relish! Smile Dec 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Located on the second floor of Cluny Court is Relish by Wild Rocket! A gastronomic dining concept that specialises in burgers in a semi-casual setting, relish does it all -With a tasteful decor that fashions artful, giant lamps hanging from the ceiling, to the strong, wooden tables and nifty bar counter, this place is really perfect to impress a date ;)

While burgers can be pretty pricey for $19-$20+ for a beef burger, (my tofu burger was $18!), it's definitely worth a try!
They also serve mains like spaghettis (hae bee hiam spaghetti, anyone?) and a small range of desserts (speaking of which, you do not die happy until you've tasted the strawberry cheesecake)

 
The tofu burger is literally tofu with portobello and cheese -I really liked the grilled tofu! The texture was just right, and the flavours were subtle. Served with greens and relish (which was amazing, by the way -can you imagine if relish served crap relish?! lol) and fries on the side, this was effortlessly delicious. I would have liked the portobello a bit more seasoned though -it had the raw, earthy mushroom taste that some may like? The fries were crispy on the outside and so fluffy on the inside. I just couldn't get enough of it! Super addictive.

 
Please do yourselves a favour and spend a good $9.80 on the deconstructed strawberry cheesecake. It's their signature dish and it's the best thing ever created in the dessert history of mankind. With the cheesecake middle and berry compote, the texture is balanced out by nuts and bits of graham crusts, finished off with a smooth dollop of cream on the top. Served up in a martini glass, this dessert gets you drunk with love. The euphoria from the creamy texture, salty biscuit and perfect richness hits the sweet spot. 5/5
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Strawberry Cheesecake, Tofu Burger
 
Date of Visit: Dec 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pasta with Chopsticks Smile Dec 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Fusion

 
Yomenya Goemon is really an experience that is one of a kind for me. Reinventing spaghetti and pasta the Japanese way, Yomenya Goemon's spaghettis are served up in china dishes and miso tofu soup ...with chopsticks!
I somehow loved the touch that I was eating my mentaiko shrimp spaghetti ($13.90) with chopsticks HAHA.

 
The Mentaiko Shrimp Spaghetti was really just a reinvented aglio olio with mentaiko (marinated pollock roe). The roe is creamy and savoury and has a delicious hint of sweetness. When eaten with the al dente spaghetti, it's perfect! The shrimps are bouncy and not overcooked, complementing the sweetness of the roe. It's a really simple spaghetti but it captured my heart with its sincere essence.

There's a good range of pastas to choose from -tomato, cream or oil based. There are some distinctly western ones while the one I went for (mentaiko shrimp!) is certainly skewed towards Nippon influences. My friend ordered the smoked duck spaghetti -OK to be honest I find smoked duck a little strange for me and I'm not a fan, but she said it goes well with the oil based spaghetti too and the flavours weren't too overpowering. So that's that - I stick by my stand and recommend the Mentaiko Shrimp one smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mentaiko Shrimp Spaghetti
 
Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sexy Thai Food OK Dec 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

 

 
Porn's (Sexy thai food!) in Star Vista has not only great ambience and service but also the promise of hearty, authentic Thai food. Their specials include the tom yum soup and signature fried rice/noodles. We ordered a fish tom yum soup (you can choose between chicken/fish/shrimp) in clear broth instead of red, and with 2 fried rice - seafood and shrimp paste.
Tom Yum Soup

Tom Yum Soup

 
This was in my opinion, lacking a punch. While there were fresh ingredients like the mushrooms, fresh fish, tomatoes and cut chilli, the soup seemed to fall a bit flat. It was tangy and refreshing, but it somehow lacked body and substance. Perhaps on the good side it will sit well with those who don't like their tom yum soup too spicy? This one was a no for me.
Seafood Fried Rice

Seafood Fried Rice

 
The fried rice seemed to taste quite home-cooked, if anything! I think it was the texture of the grain that made the rice somehow lacklustre. The fragrance however, was amazing! The smell of fried rice whets your appetite like no other, it was disappointing that the taste should fall flat. It's quite a good portion though, for slightly over $10, so i would say that you put your money where the food's worth.
Shrimp Paste Fried Rice

Shrimp Paste Fried Rice

 
Okay I have no idea what this is but the so called 'shrimp paste' fried rice was nearly tasteless save for the hint of shrimp paste in the aftertaste. This one REALLY was a no-go for us. There was barely any flavour to speak of and perhaps it would have been better to eat this fried rice with ala carte dishes on the side. Never ordering this again!

Porn's doesn't have spectacular food, in fact, it's pretty lacklustre and you'll probably get better thai food in hawker centres but it's worth a try and great for meeting up with friends if you're not too picky about the food. smile
 
Date of Visit: Nov 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best Bachormee! Smile Nov 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

One of the most underrated minced meat noodles I've ever had -San Yuan Gourmet at serangoon central provides excellent ba chor mee at even more fantastic heartland prices. At just $3 a bowl, this gem will really surprise you. The (mee kia) noodles are springy, with a hint of vinegar and a good dollop of chilli mixed in, make for the perfect fix when you're craving a bowl of hot noodles. You also get 2 fishballs, a generous amount of minced meat and sliced pork, as well as fragrant braised mushrooms.

Tastewise, it's all there -a perfect balance of saltiness, sweetness and the flavour of the meat coupled with a heavenly dash of anchovies (yes, this really made all the difference!). The anchovies really give this dish a different edge, the contrast in the texture and sinful savouriness of it just hits the spot!

 
Definitely one of the best ba chor mees I've eaten save for Tai Wah at Lavender -if you liked that one, you'll appreciate this one too. It's a slighter less vinegar-heavy rendition of the popular local dish but one hundred percent delicious nonetheless.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ba Chor Mee
 
Date of Visit: Oct 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Marche Smile Nov 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Swiss | European | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Salads | Paella | Kids-Friendly

 

 
Marche would perhaps be best known for their painted cows adorning the restaurant facade -a signature feature that stuck throughout all their outlets!

 
Really getting into the Halloween season this year, the vivocity marche branch is decorated (down to every nook and cranny) with carved pumpkins to drum up a festive spirit. The interior is relatively spacious -there is a need for all the food stations to fit inside the restaurant itself, and the food ranges from rosti, pasta, rice, salads and pizzas to an extensive range of sweet treats including their sweet crepes and also pastries fresh out from the bakery station.

For those who have not been to Marche before, the system can be relatively daunting. You get a card, go to the food station that you want, order, and the amount for payment will be noted in your card (be sure not to mix up your card with your friends', or worse, lose your card because the penalty if $100 i think!), which you pay at the payment counter at the end of your meal when you leave!

We ordered two savoury crepes -One chicken and one mushroom at $13.50, an apple pie ($5.40) and a beef pizza (forgot the price :/) to share amongst ourselves. If you are a fan of potato, you may wanna try their specialty Rosti with sausage, or if rice is more of your thing, go for their paella!

 
In our opinion, the chicken crepe was wayyy better than the sauteed mushroom one. The shitake had a really overpowering taste that really took the focus away from the refreshing and delicately wrapped crepe! It tasted more of a braised Chinese dish, which was a little odd considering the fresh greens and the crepe. Mushrooms aside, the crepe is wrapped with fresh greens and comes with a creamy sauce on the side (which is good for dipping!). Do yourself a favour and go for the chicken crepe..unless you are vegetarian and don't mind shitake.

 
The apple pie disappointed me slightly -it was more of a layered apple tart rather than a pie, per se. The apple is thinly sliced, cooked with cinammon and sugar and layered to form a really tall pie. I liked the crust best, it was buttery and had a rich texture that would have complemented the refreshing apple ...pity there was so much of the apple and so little of the pie.

 
I don't eat beef, but my friends who shared the pizza told us that the taste wasn't really evenly distributed across the crust (the edges were terribly tasteless but the middle had more flavour comparatively). Also, there wasn't much minced beef sad However, the contrast of fresh tomatoes and cheese proved to be a pleasant accompaniment.
We wouldn't really recommend pizzas at Marche though:/

Marche is an excellent place for a family gathering, or for friends (to save yourself the hassle of bill splitting, this place eradicates bill woes!). The food isn't extraordinary, and most dishes are either hits or misses depending on what you order. For first timers we would recommend the rosti (you cannot go wrong with potato!), sausages, and crepes -both savoury and sweet ones. Pricewise, it ranges from around $20 per pax onwards, once again, depending on what you order smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Rosti,Chicken Crepe
 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0