OpenRice Index
  
princessmic
This is princessmic living in Buona Vista. I am a Regional IT manager, work in Somerset. I like to hang out in Central, North, West. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese, Korean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 8 First(s)
No. of Review73 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1023 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos410 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant39 My Restaurant(s)
Follow174 Following
粉絲245 Follower(s)
princessmic  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 73 Reviews in Singapore
@ Grandma's Smile Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

Not my grandma's house but is a restaurant call My Grandmas'. The name of the restaurant gives me a very personal touch as I am very close to my grandma since i am young and i love to eat the food my grandma cooks. She is such a great chef in cooking nonya delicacy.

 
This is not the first time i go to My grandma's. In fact, this is my X times there and i developed a couple of must have dishes already. Usually i go there to curb my cravings for these dishes. lol. the restaurant actually gives you a very homely feel as they really serve home cooked style food.

So there is a peep to what are my must have dishes in my Grandma's

Balachan 's lady's fingers. this is definitely my favourite dish. every time i go to My Grandma's, this is a must order dish lol. the balachan chilli is not too spicy for me and is cooked just nice. Not too soggy and it is not too dry for me to go with the rice. i can finish my bowl of rice with this alone!

 
next their beef rendang! this is really good. my first time tasting it and i love it! the beef is super tender after cooking!

 
Next is the spinach toufu with shimiji mushrooms. this is also one of my favorite dish! the toufu is home made , topped with a layer of spinach. The sauce for the toufu goes very well with white rice too!

 
Food : ***
Price : ***
Customer service : ***
Overall, will i come again? Yes
 
Recommended Dish(es):  balachan lady's fingers,spinach toufu,beef rendang
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood | Zi Char

I am pretty sure if i say KL Hokkien Mee and you will know what it is if u been to KL. The noodles are not the usual flat yellow ones that you eat in normal zi char stall but the long fat ones ( i am not sure about the color of the actual noodles though cos when i ate them, they are usually black due to the soya sauce).

I have very high expectations for my hokkien mee. Seriously, it must be fried with pork lard (lotsa of them), the noodles must be not be too soft nor not too hard.most importantly, the ingredients must be very fresh! This is not the first time i been to Kong Kee seafood and i am not too sure if i did a review on their food. but this time round is after many mths i return to their restaurant for dinner lol. Not that their food is not nice, just that i dont really travel much to Geylang area nowadays

Kong Kee Seafood
Address : 611 Geylang Rd S389550 (Corner of Lor 31 Geylang)
Tel : 6443 8221
Hrs : 11:00am to 1:00am ( Mon - Sun)
website : http://www.kongkeerestaurant.biz/

Food : *** 1/2
Price : *** 1/2
Customer service : ***
Overall will i come again ? Yes, despite i find that the price of the hokkien mee is a little too steep. on the other hand, i must applauded for their balachan chilli cos is really good. goes very well with the hokkien mee!

 
their hokkien mee serving is really small. despite the noodles is quite good actually. of cos, nothing can be compared to those u have in KL street stall. their noodles is much more darker than this. fried with alot of pork lard ( my favorite), the noodles is well cooked and the ingredients is pretty fresh ( especially the prawns). i think we ordered the large size and we thought it will be sufficient for the two of us but sadly. we end up ordered 1 bowl of rice to go with our fish steam boat.

 

 
their giant grouper fish steamboat. for this we ordered small size instead but we are quite surprised with the amount of fish in it. flooded with alot of veges and fish meat. The soup base is cooked with fish stock and the waiter is willing to refill the soup for us upon our request! the fish is super fresh.would definitely recommend to all.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  giant grouper fish steamboat,kl hokkien mee
 
Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wonderful exotic lunch @ Tonkichi Smile Nov 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

I must really thank my super best buddy, Kirby and his chef friend, Ronnie here else i wont get to taste such exotic food haha. I suppose they are super best friend cos Kirby just simply let Ronnie decide what we have for lunch. it is abit omakase style except it is not.

Tonkichi Orchard Centra
181 Orchard Rd #07-06
Orchard Central S(238896)
Tel : 6238 7976

Food : ****
Price : ****
Customer service : ****
Overall, will i come again ? Yes

well, the food is classified as open food haha. i m quite clueless on what the food is except probably know the ingredients by guessing lol. the total cost for open food is 58 bucks but we really got very exotic food.

the below i supposed is grilled silver fish? the silver fish looks super dehydrated together and it is very crispy. It gives a grilled smell and taste so i supposed it is prepared using grilling method. The "fish cracker" i would call it, taste super good when dip with mayo. sound sinful enough?

 
ok, this dish taste abit like foie gras cooked in japanese style but my other friend told me that maybe it is some fish liver? M not sure if fish liver is that big, maybe the fish is super huge? Nevertheless, the liver taste different from the usual ones that i eat before especially it is not pan-fried and is served cold. The japanese sauce that goes with it adds a little refreshing taste.

 
Fish sperm. Initially i thought it was some kind of brain or something. I have never seen fish sperm before. I had one taste and i would never forget the taste never! and yes, i will also never try it again cos the fishy taste really puts me off..so much for my adventurous courage..lol

 
Sashimi. i am seriously in love with sashimi. The sashimi is extremely fresh and i could just eat it without any sauce.

 
Kurobuta Kata. this must be my favorite dish of the day. the pork is not too lean and it is very soft and juicy. Crispy on the outside but soft and juicy on the inside. I have not tasted anything like this since i last had mine in the Philippines. oh, the cost for 1 side-us kuro kata is about 27 bucks which i feel is very worth the money for the quality of food you are having

 
last but not least, a complimentary desert from the chef? lol. cos i dont see the price of desert anywhere else in the receipt lol. the ice-cream like sobert with yuzu simply keeps u refresh after a heavy meal and a super hot weather. =)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  kurubota kata
 
Date of Visit: Nov 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nt so fantastic dim sum buffet OK Nov 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Hotel | Seafood

I been to Si Chuan Dou Hua for dinner at job plaza before and this is the first time I try out their dim sum at park royal. The dinner ala carte buffet is really good and value for money. On the other hand, the dim sum buffet turns a little disappointment for me. 

The service is very slow. We ordered the dishes and it takes at least 30 mins to arrive. Some are worst, it never came.  

The food is so so only. Some are pretty salty. Of cos, there are some that are pretty good too. But overall, I personally feel not worth the money. The buffet cost 28 ++ per pax for a weekday and 30++ per pax for weekend. 

Environment. The restaurant is located at Kitchener road in park royal itself. Accessibility is still ok to me if I drive. But frankly speaking, I don't think I will return again. 

deep fried sesame bun. nt fantastic

deep fried sesame bun. nt fantastic

 
abalone soup. not so nice. alittle too salty

abalone soup. not so nice. alittle too salty

 
fried carrot cake is nice. n the pork belly is gd

fried carrot cake is nice. n the pork belly is gd

 
cuttlefish porridge is a little too salty too

cuttlefish porridge is a little too salty too

 
prawn roll is filled with lotsa prawns

prawn roll is filled with lotsa prawns

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn roll,Fried carrot cake
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Putien set lunch menu is good! OK Nov 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa

I have been to Pu Tien for dinner before and this is the first time i tried their lunch set menu. Pretty value for money i would say especially i get to select dishes from a few variety (for appetizer, main course and desert) and form the set lunch menu.

this time round we took the set lunch for 58+ for 2 pax
=)

pork belly with garlic - i love this. seriously! the pork belly is not as fatty for a health conscious person like me.

 
Bamboo herbal prawn. - It taste very much like drunken prawn except it is added with some herbs in it. The soup is refreshing but the prawn is overcooked i feel.

 
for our main course, we took xin hua lor mee. at first, i was quite sceptical on how this dish would taste like from the look at it but it is actually very good. love the fresh clams in it!

 
steam ground fish with chilli. i love this very much. the chilli is not very spicy and is very appetizing for me lol.

 
for desert, we made a terrible mistake lol. the desert is actually quite nice. just that we dont like it. it is pumpkin cream with ice cream.

 
it comes with complimentary fruits

 
Food : ***
Price : ***
Customer service : ***
Will i come again ? : Yes
 
Recommended Dish(es):  set lunch menu
 
Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0