OpenRice Index
  
happytummy dumpty
This is happytummy dumpty living in Clementi. I work in Outram. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Orchard, Buona Vista. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café and Sushi/Sashimi, Burgers and Sandwiches, Salads/ Acai Bowl, Cakes & Pastries .
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review92 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity434 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos282 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant84 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲66 Follower(s)
happytummy dumpty  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 92 Reviews in Singapore
Interesting varieties ^^ Smile Nov 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum

I have never known Crystal Jade has this yet another concept under its umbrella Crystal Jade brand. Little does the word JiangNan suggest the kind of cuisine one can expect from this place besides the fact that the place would be offering Chinese food haha lol

I like the fact that Crystal Jade has always different types of noodles from which one can choose. And they are mostly really springy ^^ Ordered the La Mian with Spicy Chicken, Preserved Egg And Cucumber in “Sichuan” Style and I would say it is a refreshing change to have cold chicken paired with the springy noodles smile
LaMian Spicy Chic

LaMian Spicy Chic

 
Tried this interesting dish known as the Steamed Beancurd with Egg Yolk, French Bean, Carrot, Black Fungus Served in a Cup ($8). It is is actually tasteless on it's own and you would add flavour to it by using the provided condiments which include chilli oil, shallot oil, olive oil and black vinegar. It is interesting due to the various appealing colours but ahh the taste of it all was not really appealing, edible but nothing out of the ordinary.
Original XiaoLongBao

Original XiaoLongBao

 

 
Tried their original XiaoLongBao which is nothing much to rave about either but if you are adventurous enough, there are various other flavours from which one can choose. Ordered the Fried XO Rice cake whereby the Korean Topokki is modified into a Chinese version but I would still prefer the traditional carrot cake haha.. It is worth trying though smile
Fried XO Riceflour Cake

Fried XO Riceflour Cake

 
For drinks, I had the Hong Kong Style Cold Milk Tea, served in a tall glass flask together with some dry ice in center of the flask. The presentation is quite unique while the milk tea is smooth with strong tea taste.
Milk Tea

Milk Tea

 

 
Overall, a good dining experience with all the interesting varieties. I would head back for the other varieties including their signature dishes such as the Not Fried Rice, not to forget the springly noodles too haha
 
Recommended Dish(es):  La Mian with Spicy Chicken,
 
Date of Visit: Nov 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

"Bouncy" Noodles haha Smile Oct 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Restaurant | Ramen

Well honestly, the first impression of my first spoon of the ramen was the bounciness of the noodles. They were kinda, literally, bouncy or springy, if you know what I mean lol

 
Ordered the Komi Tsuke-Men ($13.50), which was actually cold dipping noodles in citrus soy-sauce soup. I like cold noodles but I was quite surprised that the soup is actually hot. I usually dip cold noodles into cold soup, a hot soup kinda defeats the purpose of having cold noodles. Anyway, I still enjoyed the noodles while the soup was alright. I would rather have the hot soupy ramen instead, like the one my friend had. It was a fish-based soy sauce ramen ($13.50), the soup was flavourful and yet not too salty. But the credit, again, goes to the noodles.
Komi Tsuke-men

Komi Tsuke-men

 
Fish-based Soy Sauce

Fish-based Soy Sauce

 
We had Gyoza for sides to share. It was good too, not too oily with enough filling while the skin was not too thick. Overall, I would compliment the place for their noodles and the affordable pricing. There are many varieties in the menu to choose from too. I can see that there were quite a number of Japanese slurrping up ramen here, so I reckon that the ramen here is really up to par. I can't wait to return to this place for my hot ramen fix ^^
 
Date of Visit: Sep 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Selfish Gene Cafe Smile Oct 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

Went there for lunch on a Sunday afternoon, found the place easily with my Google maps haha lol

 

 
It was about 10 min walking distance from Tanjong Pagar MRT. It was slightly packed, was lucky to get a table within a minute.

 
Ordered The Valerie ($11.80) and Breakfast Plate ($15.80) as well as a cup of cappuccino. For a person who have a "mild-sweet" tooth like me I enjoy The Valerie very much! ^^ It might seem a bit unbecoming, at least in my opinion initially, to have a combo of berry compote, cream cheese and scrambled eggs altogether with brioche but, awww, I find them matching together perfectly after trying it.
The Valerie

The Valerie

 
The Breakfast Plate

The Breakfast Plate

 
The Breakfast Plate was not too bad either for its reasonable price. It originally comprised scrambled eggs but I had it changed to my favorite poached eggs instead, with an additional charge though. The other cafes don't usually charge for that.

 
Coffee was not too bad though I think The Plain which is nearby Selfish Gene serves better coffee. Ordered banana cake ($5.80) for dessert to satisfy my sweet tooth. It was one of the recommended items but I personally would not recommend it. A bit pricey for a small portion of banana cake. However it was not too bad with its combination with some peanut butter sauce topping.
Banana Cake

Banana Cake

 
I would definitely return for the food. It is a nice spacious cafe in the quiet CBD area during the weekends.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great alternative for Coffee Smile Feb 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads/ Acai Bowl

Living in the West, I am really happy that to see an alternative place for coffee and reading besides the too-commercialized Starbucks and Coffee Bean. In addition, I am overjoyed that Cafe Crema is able to deliver good coffee within a good environment as well lol

With a minimalist design of its interior, the place gives a fresh comfortable impression upon entering. Besides coffee, the place offers tea, sandwiches, cakes and pastries as well.

 
Ordered the Iced Almond Latte ($6.50) and Iced Mocha Latte ($6.50). The former had just the right level of Almond syrup which added a pleasant distinct almond taste yet was not overly sweet. The latter, on the other hand, was a good blend of coffee and chocolate syrup as well. I was really satisfied with the coffee.
Iced Almond Latte

Iced Almond Latte

 
Didn't try anything else but my pleasant first-time experience here would definitely bring me back here again lol Can't wait to try on the other items!^^

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Iced Almond Latte
 
Spending per head: Approximately $7(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Chinese Food fare ^^ Smile Nov 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

It has always been my impression that the restaurants at the top few floors in ION would not be really affordable. A visit to Paradise Dynasty was therefore recommended by a friend.. and ahh I can conclude that this place is my best option at the present as compared to other places like Crystal Jade or DTF.

I like Chinese LaMian and Xiao Long Bao pretty much. Generally they are healthy food. And I would feel fulfilled after that without having any craving for a dessert to complete the meal haha tongue

The soup rendition of their signature Pork LaMian was really good! The soup was flavorful without giving the feeling that as if one was drinking MSG soup. The portion was huge with generous toppings of pork slices and vegetables.
La Mian

La Mian

 
Xiao Long Bao was equally good, better than Crystal Jade more or less like DTF. Had their Sautéed Beef too and again it did not disappoint. Ordered their Aloe vera and crispy pancake for desserts, was not too bad too!! lol
Xiao Long Bao

Xiao Long Bao

 
Desserts

Desserts

 


I have since stopped going to DTF then. This place is as good as, if not better than, DTF. The plus point is that there is a loyalty reward programme whereby members can gain rebates that can be accumulated to offset subsequent bills. lol
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0