OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4599 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲728 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Beef Hor Fun Fail Cry Aug 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Zi Char | Kids-Friendly

They are the only ci char stall within this club house. Prices are slightly expensive with the cheapest individual dish costing $6. I was late for my game so chose the Beef Hor Fun for $6. They do not offer the black bean paste option. It turn out to be quite a disappointment. It tasted a little bland, more like hor fun with beef slices. Hor Fun usually taste nicer if you have wok fried the kway teow before hand before cooking it with the starch solution but nbased on hte hor fun looks, they didn't. You could tell the beef was the frozen type and it was a little hard. Will probably not want to visit them again. Average waiting time was around 15 minutes. Its an aircon restaurant just beside the pool but does not offer a view. It seems popular with small one table gathering though. Parking is at $3 per entry after 5pm. Get carpark rebate if you are a safra member.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Concern with Quality Cry Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

It is food outing like this that make me feel reviews platforms are important as it allows everyone including the restaurant owners to know about how well things are running at the shop. Pop by after lunch for a milk tea and kaya toast (heehee had a craving despite finishing lunch). The place is slightly dim abut is nicely decorated with cubicle seats and normal rectangular tables as well. The shock came when i was pulling out the green arm chair and saw strains of hair and paper bits on it. On closer look, i realized all the chairs were in similar condition, oldish and slightly stained but to have rubbish on it is quite a turn off. But i did not make a big fuss out of it, hesitated for 2 secs then decided to just sweep the hair and paper bits onto the floor. It took a while for my kaya toast to arrive as it was left at the counter and i had to signal one of the staff to send it to me, it was left there for more than 2 minutes actually. From far the toast bread already look weird and was further confirmed when served to me. Not the usual xin wang standard i was telling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
myself. Anyway proceeded to cut the toast up with fork and knife, that's where the disappointment happened, the bread apparently had a charred section, so bad that when i cut it up, the charred portion was also seen on the inner sides. it was obvious that kaya was spread over it to cover it. i wouldn't mind that its well done but at least scrap away the charred portion before adding the kaya etc. I immediately alerted the restaurant manager about it and told him to just charge me for the drink. I must applaud him for remaining calm and waiving off my milk tea charges. I do hope the kitchen staff work with him to prevent this from happening again. As for the interior and condition of the chairs, i certainly hope the management will do something about it. Having gripe so much, i must still say i love xin wang for its ambiance and food variety but if the quality is to continue to go south, its seriously going to lose more customers. Nevertheless thumbs-up for the nice milk tea.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

not quite there yet Cry Apr 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

First to mention that the service needs improvement, i was seated right in-front of the stall yet the stall helper did not want to serve me the soup and insisted i collect it from the stalls, so much for being service oriented. Presentation wise, the soup looks on the lighter side for the evaporated milk version. I had the mixed fish combo so both sliced fish and fried fish are offered. The taste was a little disappointing, with me left feeling there's not much effort in the making of the soup. Even the sliced fish did not taste fresh. Will not return for next visit. but then maybe i will still give the rojak a try haha

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

By the way, this food court is the one nicely decorated with a wooden horse sculpture in the middle of the food court. My YTH selection came up to be $7.80, was served a plate of YTH which some of the items were deep fried again before covering the ingredients with bean paste like sauce. On top of this i ordered a small bowl of noodles and the same sauce was used as well. It reminds one of the ampang YTH style from sembawang. But i was quite disappointed with its plain taste, almost to the extent of being bland. I had to add in the YTH sweet sauce to bring out a bit of flavor. But i do see its potential, but that's only if they can improve their gravy sauce standard to similar to ampang style.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lone Western Food Stall Cry Apr 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Steaks and Grills

had been to this hawker for quite a few times already but always ate at yong seng, this particular occasion i decided to try out the only western food seen here. wanted to order the new zealand ribeye but the owner told me they dun hv that and upsell me the more expensive $10.90 steak in the end, i chose the $8 siroin steak instead, which he seem a little disappointing. Food presentation is below average is the steak looking dull and sauce looking unappealing. But it was nice to see the bread with butter, not something which is commonly served nowadays. Taste wise i would rate it average with teh steak not feeling hot enough. The sauce was plain and not tasteful as well. Anyway dun quite like their service attitude, maybe they think they are the only western food stall so they have a certain status.

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0