OpenRice Index
  
midas400
This is midas400 living in Punggol. I am a engineer, work in Ubi. I like to hang out in Orchard, Serangoon, Tampines. Japanese, Singaporean, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Roasted Meat, Dim Sum, Seafood.
Member 51 First(s)
No. of Review375 Review(s)
編輯推介數目33 Editor's Choice
Recommended14 Recommended
Popularity2718 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3339 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant123 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲697 Follower(s)
midas400  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 7 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
VikingVic
14 Review(s)
Level 2
Craving for Little Fuji Smile Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Green Tea Latte and Coffee

Green Tea Latte and Coffee

 
Little Fuji so Yummy

Little Fuji so Yummy

 
Choco Banana Fuji

Choco Banana Fuji

 
What a queue but so worth it

What a queue but so worth it

 
St. Marc Cafe. Say it again. St Marc Cafe. Now remember and find it. Once you find it, order a Green Tea Latte and a Little Fuji. Now lets see you forget St. Marc Cafe smile

The Little Fuji is a crunchy danish pastry (more like a croissant) topped with soft vanilla ice cream. They warm up the danish pastry first and drizzle it with caramel.

The Choco Banana Fuji is almost the same but they just used chocolate drizzle and added banana slices. I prefer the Little Fuji but and of these two will make you crave for more.

Pair any of these with the green tea latte and you will be in dessert heaven. Its really that good. I won't lie, some people may find it too sweet or fattening but give this a chance and let me know.

Warning though, bring a little (or maybe a lot) of patience. The queue can get very bad and one of their signature dishes (the chococro) has a very high demand. The result: the queue is long and waiting for it can take longer. During this time the wait for choco cro was 1.5 hours. And yes some people waited. Why? because it's worth it. If you do order the choco cro try the strawberry flavor as well. I personally liked it better.

I urge everyone to try this. You won't be disappointed.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Little Fuji,Choco Cro,Green Tea Latte
 
Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
milkfrost
295 Review(s)
Level 4
Baked Honey Pork Bun Smile Jun 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Roasted Meat

Just went to Canto Paradise to buy some Honey Char Siew Bun

 
It sure doesn't look as pretty as the ones served at Tim Ho Wan, and it's slightly burnt at the bottom.

 
It was rather cold when I eat, but when I took a bite into it, it sure tasted better! The filling is not too sweet, not too wet. The char siew bites was just to the right size and it can taste the sweetness of the char siew bites.

Will definitely go again for more take-away!
 
Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
y_lyn
118 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European

Bliss House Theme Restaurant is a new restaurant at The Central, Clarke Quay. I chanced upon Zoe Raymond's blog about this place and thought it was quite an interesting place just like the Fullhouse theme restaurant at Hotel Rendezvous. My group of gal friends loved the concept of Fullhouse when they were there and thus, I asked them whether they would like to celebrate our March birthday celebration here. The birthday gal agreed and thus, we proceed with the reservation. (Actually, no reservation is required.)

The dining area was quite nice, with pure white furnishing. The place looked clean and bright. Initially, we thought we would have a great time here but......

First, we were really surprised that their menu looked quite shabby. They were not even laminated and some were quite torn and with stains. There was no photo of the food in the menu and the fonts were quite difficult to read.

Secondly, service was unacceptably slow. Other than our group of 10 adults and a few kids, there were only about 3 other pairs of customers in the whole restaurant. However, it took them almost 20 minutes just to serve us our ice water!

My friend who doesn't drink alcohol, requested for her margarita to be served without alcohol. She took a few sips immediately when her drink was being served to her. However, after quite a while, the waitress came back with another cup of margarita and told my friend that the one she was having, actually contained alcohol!

The appetizers and side dishes were served after quite a long wait.
Baked Mushrooms ($10).

 
I ordered wild mushroom soup ($8). The bread was very hard and I had to ask my friend to help me break it into smaller pieces.

 
Calamari ($14) which was meant for only 2 persons to share.

 
This portobello mushroom cost $16, not really worth the $.

 
Scallop with prawn & caviar ($24). To be fair, this dish was good, with big fresh prawns placed with the juicy scallops.

 
After almost 45 minutes, our mains were still not being served yet. We ordered our food at around 1pm and near 2pm, the kids were very hungry and so were the adults. When we told the staff to serve the kids their carbonara first, she told us that it might disrupt the flow in the preparation of the dishes and the adults might have to wait even longer for our mains to arrive!! With so few customers, they already couldn't cope. I wonder whether they plan for the restaurant to be 100% full?

All of us were starving. Since we had bought a birthday cake from Swissbake, we decided to sing the birthday song to the 2 birthday gals first so that we could eat the cake first! sad sad sad

I ordered the Seafood Spaghetti with tomato sauce ($26).

For more photos and write-up, pls visit my blog post:
http://ylyn-journal.blogspot.sg/2013/03/bliss-house-theme-restaurant-central.html

The meal cost a whooping $628.50, which averaged to $57 per pax! We all felt that most of the dishes were overpriced and with the slow and inattentive service, this meal definitely not worth this price.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
michelleang
41 Review(s)
Level 3
Romantic night OK May 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European


I went to this blisshouse restaurant @ central. The surrounding was really dark but i really like the atmosphere as when you walk in, you are surrounded by the flower as it was a newly open shop. There is this nice lovely cage to sit down and i took a photo with it. There is this small bridge which we have to walk pass to walk to the tables.

 

 

 
I only ate the tapas which is only the snack it cost really expensive. The design of the plate definitely nice but the food was not that good. One of the dishes is beer battered tempura style soft shell crab. This dish cost $14. I feel the dry fried fish have covered the taste of the small fried soft shell crab. Another dish was prawn chorizo, the ham was with the prawn. The ham was the nicest of everything. This dish cost $12.

 

 

 
The design of the restaurant is the best of everything.

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
happybaby03
132 Review(s)
Level 4
Steamboat Smile May 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Steamboat/Hot Pot

I have been eating this since young ... they used to be at Bugis area as we call Hainan Street.

Is fully air-conditioned so slurping of hot soup here won't make me sweat and I can eat comfortably with a full back chair .... haha lazy me!

They came in different sizes for the raw items .... and now they serve other food too and the set came in fishballs, pork slice, prawn, cockles, pork liver, fish maw, sea cucumber, fish slices, sotong, vegetables and egg! Now they have do all kinds of zi char for add on beside the yummy chicken and chicken rice!

Beside the ala carte raw items to be in the steamboat we started off with yusheng lou lou lou hope everyone in good health and with good wealth for the year of Snake! Their yusheng was good too!

 

 


If you looking for other soup base here you will be in great disappointment cos they only serve one and only chicken soup base ...... their base usually very bland you can actually add on some sauce easily from the dining table... beside that they have free flow of ginger and chilli there too ..... cannot miss that when having their chicken!

We order Satay too ...... last time they use to have chicken and beef too now only left pork .... my family love it ... they say it is really juicy!
 
Date of Visit: Feb 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend