OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice   Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 11 to 15 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
wenxi
1744 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

The word "Kazan" is known as volcano in Japanese. The numerous newpaper printouts had actually caught my attention as I walked past Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen. Initially I thought that Kazan is actually referring to its level of spiciness - as hot as volcano but as when I took a close look, I realised the "fun" in the meal and decided to give it a try.

"Irrashaimase" - a very loud and warm welcome greeted us upon stepping into the restaurant and gave a very good first impression. Secondly, the server came welcoming us with its menu. Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen was well decorated with the classic feel of a Japanese Ramen Stall similar to what I had visited in Japan. Not only was the utensils and cookery stuffs placed neatly, the ambience was well lited and rather quiet which served as a perfect place to dine over the weekends to keep away from the bustle of the city.
In Shop

In Shop

 
Do help yourself with the freeflow of seasonings on the table ranging from vinegar to shoyu and they even provide garlic with the garlic press for their customers to enhance the taste of their dish.
Seasonings at your choice!

Seasonings at your choice!

 
Proper instructions were pasted on the table to guide and share with customers how to cook a delicious kazan ramen. It had also advised customers customer to stay away from the hot stone bowl.
Instructions

Instructions

 
We ordered the classic Shoyu Ramen to have a taste of its original Tonkotsu broth as it was mentioned on the menu that the broth was enhanced with a special blended soy sauce paste. Each strand of smooth and springy ramen is delectably coated with a flavourful broth. This aromatic broth somehow reminds me of a famous Ramen Stall located in Tanjong Pagar area! Yums!
Cost: S$12.00
Shoyu Ramen

Shoyu Ramen

 
I had ordered one of its signature dish, Curry Kazan and the long awaited volcanic eruption performance is about to commenced. The dish was initially served in a hot stone pot and the server had pour half a pot of curry into it, covered it up with the hood and about one minute later, he poured the remaining curry into the stone pot again. Timing was all measured by the little hour glass device on the table as seen in the picture).
Cost: S$18.00
Kanzan Curry

Kanzan Curry

 
The hood was then remove and "ta-da", take a look the end product and enjoy the sizzling sound in the video.

The Pipping Hot Kazan Ramen!

 


Not only we have to be caution on the pipping hot stone pot, we have to be additional careful and keep a distance from the curry as they may follow the "sizzling" sound and stain our clothing. Do also note that my meal comes with additional bowl of rice to goes along with the remaining curry as the portion is enormous for me, I suggest that the meal can be shared by 2 instead! tongue
Last but not least, if you are thinking of having green tea in this Japanese restaurant, you can find alternatives as green tea is not available in its menu.
End Product of Curry Kazan

End Product of Curry Kazan

 
The total bill for the night including 10% of Service Charge and 7% GST is well spent for the night as I really enjoyed every bit of the meal.
Bill

Bill

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kazan Curry
 
Date of Visit: Jul 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CEIL JOVEN
1404 Review(s)
Level 4
Ayam Penyet & Ayam Bakar.  OK Jul 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Halal

This is one of the few shops serving Ayam Penyet in Lucky Plaza. I came specially for other one but it happened to be closed on that day so i went for this one as an alternative choice.

The shop was rather quiet even during the supposedly busy lunch hour. The service was rather prompt. Menu was presented quickly and order was taken attentively. We decided to go with the Ayam Penyet ($6.00) and Ayam Bakar ($6.00). The rice is charged at 0.80 cents per plate.
Es Kelapa Jeruk - $3.80.

Es Kelapa Jeruk - $3.80.

 
We also ordered one of their special drink to share. It is orange juice with coconut in it for $3.80. It tasted rather strange. The orange juice tasted a little diluted with a rather minimum level of sweetness. It served with a handful of ice cube with shredded coconut. I did not quite appreciate the taste.
Dada Bakar - $6.00.

Dada Bakar - $6.00.

 
Ayam Bakar. We were given the choice of thigh or breast meat. We wanted the breast meat. It was nicely grilled before applied a layer of sweet soya sauce to enhance the flavor. The chicken has got a noticeably tenderness. It was served with a slice of cucumber and tomato with long bean and a piece of raw cabbage. The hot chilli soya sauce was served along too. The spiciness and saltiness were rather well-balanced.
Dada Penyet - $6.00.

Dada Penyet - $6.00.

 
Ayam Penyet was another good choice. The chicken breast was fried to perfection to achieve a delightful crispiness. The chicken was 'penyet-ed' to soften the meat. Perhaps I did not eat enough of ayam penyet to do a comparison as I actually enjoyed this particular ayam penyet very much. The sambal chilli was served separately. The level of spiciness was not as fiery as expected. I guess the spiciness has been adjusted to suit the locals well.
The receipt.

The receipt.

 
No service charge and GST added to the total bill.

I am likely be back again.
The shop.

The shop.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ayam Bakar,Ayam Penyet.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
milkfrost
295 Review(s)
Level 4
Best Lava Cake Smile Jul 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant

Chef D'Table - The last time my girlfriends and I came here was in Dec'12 for my birthday celebration and we were thoroughly impressed with their service and good food. Thus, we're back here again for another birthday celebration!

2 of us had the 4-course Chef's Menu which includes an entree, a soup served in cappuccino cup, a main course & a dessert. What we like about this menu is that the dessert is a surprise. You won't know what dessert you'll be having till it's being served! The other 2 girls had a la carte as they did not want the dinner to be too heavy.

 
The dinner started off with a serving of freshly baked Bread with Olive Dip: The bread is superbly soft and served warm. You may ask for extra serving if you like.

 
Entree for the set meal - Mushroom Tofu: Crispy & soft homemade beancurd with truffle sauce.

 
Foie Gras with Lobster Omelette: The aroma of the herb butter fills the room when the waiter brings the plate in and it simply melts in your mouth.

 
Soup for the set meal - Lobster Bisque

 
Pink Dory with Sweet Potato: - The fish is very fresh and complements the lemon butter sauce very well.

 
Main dish for set Meal - Angus Beef/ Seabass or Chicken: Again, I chose to have beef and it's nicely done as per my request. The beef is very soft & tender

 
Seabass is very fresh & soft.

 
Desserts came as surprise as like I mentioned, you won't know what you'll be having till it's being served to you. Last night, we had Coconut Pudding, Orange Creme Brulee & Valrhona Chocolate Fondant with Vanilla Ice Cream. We also have a nicely decorated complimentary birthday cake from the restaurant! Desserts were so good I decide I shall not speak on their behalf. I shall let the video do the talking!

Desserts - Best Lava Cake!

 


Here are the desserts of the night. Check out the last part of the short clip to see how good is the Valrhona Chocolate Fondant. Does it taste as good as it is, you have to try it yourself! But I can tell you, it's probably the best I've had!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $70(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
mycc
217 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Seafood

Jamie's Italian opened its doors for business in Singapore earlier today at 11.30am and what made it especially remarkable was the fact that it is a milestone first in Asia. With more than 30 restaurants worldwide, this Italian-cuisine focused restaurant was founded in Oxford 4 years ago. The birth of Jamie's Italian was an inspiration by celebrity chef, Jamie Oliver and his trusted friend and mentor, Gennaro Contaldo. Their paths first crossed in the kitchen of London's Neal Street restaurant in the 90s and following an extensive period of time touring Italy, Jamie wanted to share his knowledge of the Italian cuisine with the rest of the world. Self declaring that he 'should have been Italian', this restaurant aimed to reflect the passionate, humble and sociable attitude of Italians towards food. There was no better way to deliver than in the traditional Jamie's style through fresh, locally sourced ingredients, bold and simple flavours in a relaxed setting.

When we learnt that Jamie's Italian was opening in Singapore, it was almost a dream come true! It was one of our favourite restaurants when we were in UK and now that it is here, it is surely a MUST-TRY. Can it live up to its name now that it is going international? Let us check it out!

Antipasti - Fish plank (S$17++/person)

 

 
The serving in the picture was for 1 person and there were two other planks to choose from, meat and vegetables at S$15.50++ and S$13.50++ respectively. The portion size for 1 person was more than enough to share among two persons if you were simply after tasting. I recommend having the beetroot-cured salmon first as it was served in a bowl with ice underneath to preserve freshness. It was served raw, sashimi style and had a slightly creamy after-taste which I thought was a brilliant combination. The crunchy salad was also a favourite of mine with consistently shaved root vegetables such as beetroot and carrots evenly tossed in chilli, lemon and mint. It gave a refreshing burst of flavours with the heat from chilli yet pleasantly soothed by the fresh mint and further augmented by the crunchiness of the raw vegetables.

Fans of olives and pickles would be swooned by the quality choice of ingredients, which served as toppings to the smoked mackerel pate. The pate was surprisingly fresh with no fishy smell to appal and it was considerably smooth and soft which complemented the crisp toast harmoniously in terms of texture.

Moving on to the Italian cheeses, aged pecorino cheese was served. It belonged to a family of hard Italian cheeses made from ewe's (female sheep) milk. It was very strong and bold in flavour so while it might appeal to those who love the strong taste of cheese made from sheep, the faint-hearted foodies like myself should stay on the sidelines. It was nicely complemented with a sweet chilli jam that gave an interesting twist to that strong creamy cheese. It was served with a crisp 'music bread', which is a thin and crisp flat bread made of durum wheat, flour, salt and water. This yeast free version is called di musica in Italian which meant sheet music. It was rolled to paper-thin, to the extent that a sheet of music could be read through it!

The roasted shellfish and mussels were also joyful appetizers with the freshness packed in each and every though I felt that the seasoning to it was a touch too savoury and salty for my palate.

 
Still on that plank of antipasti, this cured & crispy fish tasted really fresh with a crisp batter deep-fried to a beautiful looking golden brown yet not tasting excessively greasy. It tasted clean and crisp though the protein was slightly overcooked tasting just a little stiff. It however managed to retain moisture to keep it delectable and the yuzu mayo was a nice touch. It reminded me somewhat of a classic fish & chips that I would enjoy on a windy afternoon by the sea. The mayo was light and fluffy in the sense that it was not too overwhelming in richness but I struggled to taste any elements of yuzu in it. The fritto misto (savoury deep-fried food) had a drizzle of a mildly spicy powder, possibly paprika powder which gave a hint of heat.

Apple Slaw (S$8++)

 
Al fresco dining on a windy afternoon in tropical Singapore was brought to the next level when this side was served. Tastefully decorated and presented with an array of summer colours, this dish won me over in terms of presentation, tastes and flavours.

It tasted clean and fresh and would be perfect for ladies and gents alike in need of detoxification. The red (purple) cabbage was finely diced while the radishes, candied beetroots, apples and poached pears were consistently sliced. The flavours were beautiful with an earthy taste from the beets, sweetness from the fruits balanced with plain yoghurt before a tantalizing tang from lemon and mint. There was honestly quite a lot going on in this simple plate of goodness, especially the crunchy texture from the cabbage and walnuts and a soft marshiness from the fruits. Easily one of my top dishes on the menu!

The gentleman serving our table was attentive and dedicated in his efforts to explain and recommend the dishes on the menu. While taking our orders, he took extra attention in checking if we wanted our mains to be served together or after the starters. I truly appreciate the attentiveness to minute details and that spelled all the difference in a good dining experience in my humble opinion.

While waiting for the mains to arrive, the server came over to our table to check if we liked our food so far and it was then did I realize that Jamie's Italian used fresh herbs grown on the premises!

Fans of Jamie should know that he loves his herbs fresh and he literally plucks rosemary, mint, anything basically from his garden whenever he goes on a show to demonstrate his cooking. Having learnt this and understanding a little more about the restaurant, I could not help but add on his signature drink.

Jamie's Italian Mojito (S$15.50++)

 
It was a refreshing drink for the summer afternoon. With Bacardi Superior rum, Martini Bianco, fresh mint, lime & sugar, topped with Prosecco, it was a brilliant thirst-quencher. The proportion of each element added into this signature cocktail was spot-on and the taste was consistent. The concoction was not overly strong in terms of alcohol strength and came across as a soothing beverage while we waited for our mains.

Rump steak salad (S$25.50++)

 

 
You know instantly that you are in one of Jamie's restaurants when a main like this gets served before you. It was presented in a uniquely classic Jamie's fashion, clean and crisp with a hint of messiness with the salad tossed around and a generous amount of olive oil drizzled across. It was a 180g aged grain-fed Angus steak with crunchy fennel, watercress, mint, chilli, garlic, horseradish and lemon. I would highly recommend a big mouthful containing a little of each ingredient to experience that beautiful combination of flavours that would guarantee satisfaction.

It was beautifully cooked to perfection and to my request of medium rare. The outer area of the fine beef was elegantly charred with evident grill-lines yet leaving a nice pinkish colour on the inside of that protein. It was succulent and almost melt in your mouth good. Coupled with the crunchy fennel and watercress, the texture was sublime and there was no shortage of flavours from the refreshing mint and heat from chilli harmoniously infused into the salad. The zesty lemon juices just elevated my dining senses with a tang that left me double thumbs up for this simple yet beautifully cooked dish.

All pasta were made in house and fresh and you could see the chefs at work before you at the front of the restaurant.

 
Jool's favourite Sicilian tuna fusilli (S$14++)

 
There was no escaping an Italian meal without a good pasta. Spoilt with the choices on the menu, we left it to the server's recommendation which was a recipe belonging to that of Jamie's wife! It was no surprise that Albacore tuna was used since Jamie had always been an ambassador of sustainable seafood. Slow-cooked with tomatoes, garlic, herbs and cinnamon with crunchy, herby breadcrumbs separately portioned with a spoon, this pasta was a winner in terms of flavour and texture.

The pasta was cooked al dente so expect it to be chewy and bouncy. The flavours of the tomatoes were beautifully infused and the richness of that simple key ingredient was given justice in this bowl. The breadcrumbs gave an important layer of texture and it seemed like a marriage of flavours between the herbs in it and that bold tomato based sauce. My only concern was that it was a little too greasy for our palate even though olive oil was used. The pasta was offered in 2 sizes with the larger rendition at S$21++ but I thought that the smaller serving size (which we ordered) was largely sufficient to feed even a grown man.

We were pretty stuffed full by the time we finished our mains but it felt like an incomplete food journey without some desserts to sum up a sumptuous lunch. With an extensive desserts menu, each looked equally appetizing but between the two of us, we felt that we could only stomach just one dessert so we went for the signature Tiramisu.

Tiramisu (S$11.50++) with Long Black (S$4.50++)

 

 
Elegantly served in a ceramic flat-pot, we thought that the presentation was lacklustre. In fact, it toppled over and resulted in the top which was usually characterised by the cocoa powder coating to be at the bottom of the dessert instead.

The flavours were however beautifully synchronized with the coffee-flavoured trifle topped with a generous amount of orange mascarpone and chocolate. The caffeine in the dessert tasted was well-balanced with the liquor but I felt that it lacked strength and depth in terms of the taste. While the balance was good, it came across as a rather mild rendition. It was actually my first time tasting tiramisu paired with orange mascarpone and it was a rather bold and interesting twist to the otherwise dull dessert. I was informed by the server that this was a recipe belonging to Jamie's mentor, Gennaro and I believe there is no better way to qualify authenticity than an Italian man himself. When it came to texture, the dessert was moist and perhaps too soft though arguably it was melt in your mouth. Personally, I thought that it might be a little too moist for my palate's comfort as slicing through the alternate layers of cheese and ladyfingers left the alcohol and caffeine oozing out.

I had a cup of long black to go along with the dessert and it was definitely one of the best cup of coffee I have had. The Italian coffee served was from the award-winning Musetti family, which had been coffee makers for 3 generations! It was strong, bold and the intensity of that dark roast was beyond what words could possibly describe. I understand that this might sound a little far-fetched and exaggerated but if you love your long black coffee, trust me when I say this is a MUST-TRY.

We felt that the customer service was immaculate and it was one of those rare occasions where we felt that they deserved to be tipped in addition to the 10% service charge imposed. The server attending to our table was knowledgeable about the items on the menu and were able to accurately depict what to expect of the dishes which I felt was crucial to new customers especially.

While it was stated on Jamie's Italian FB page that online booking is full, we were able to get ourselves a table without much hassle as walk-in customers. Given the choice of indoor air-conditioning dining or al-fresco, I would highly recommend the latter with a view facing Sentosa Island, you would also get the occasional breeze that sweeps by. The prices were affordable and proportionate to the quality received in the food served. We left with a memorable dining experience and we would certainly return to try the other signatures on the menu!

Due to limitations in photo uploads, please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2013/07/sg-jamies-italian-singapore-first-here.html for complete set of pictures.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fish plank,Rump steak salad,Apple slaw,Jamie's Italian Mojito
 
Spending per head: Approximately $60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
tanyachloe
163 Review(s)
Level 4
Drinks, great food and company! Smile Jul 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges

Switch is known for its billingual live band -singing crowd-pleasing mandarin and chinese songs. Switch by Timbre also serves up similar food as their sister branch, including the signature duck pizza, with duck, hoisin sauce and crispy crackers topping the sinful pizza. Switch is also conveniently located next to SAM, which is just right outside of bras basah MRT, making this more accessible than timbre where it can be quite tricky to find!!

Happy hour is from 6pm to 9pm, and first order of drink applies. They accept all major credit cards and water is self-service from the bar. Ordering is via their iPad, and the food gets served to you!

We ordered a Smoked Salmon Pizza ($18) [a welcome change from the usual duck pizza], Chicken Wings ($12), Fusili with sausage ($18) for dinner.

Food
Salmon Pizza

Salmon Pizza

 
For $18, this smoked salmon pizza is perfect for sharing between 2-3 people (it depends on how big of a eater you are haha), plus a side dish to complement it. The smoked salmon gave the pizza an extraordinarily savoury taste, heaped with the mozarella. However, I really liked that raw onions were also thrown in. The onion really brought this dish to the next level and it prevented the monotony of the salty fish. The pizza is thin crusted and we'd say that if you're seeking out something new to try and you don't mind smoked salmon -this pizza is worth a shot!
Fusilli

Fusilli

 
The sausage fusilli wasn't exactly the best pasta, but it was decent. The fusilli wasn't overcooked, the pasta sauce had chunky bits of tomato in it, together with capsicum and onions. It's a very chunky pasta that is chock-full of the vegetables as well as sausage. The sausage wasn't particularly tasty, but the tomato sauce made this dish very appetising.
Wings!

Wings!

 
The wings were surprisingly good! There were both drumsticks and wings so if you're either a wing/drumstick person you won't be left out! It was fried to this crispy perfection in this batter that I know not of, but I will return for more. It wasn't overly salty, and the aroma is just so appetising! It makes you want to sink your teeth into just..one..more....But each is never your last until you've polished off the whole plate.

Drinks

We ordered 2 alcoholic and 2 non-alcoholic drinks, all $10 during happy hour -Virgin Mojito, Shirley Temple, Havana Club Rum with Tonic and a Chivas w Ginger Ale.
Virgin Mojito

Virgin Mojito

 
The Virgin Mojito is by far the best non-alcoholic drink here! It's wonderfully icy -perfect for cooling off on a hot day, with bits of lime sprigs. it's wonderfully refreshing and reminds us of good summer days by the beach! It wasn't overly sour/sweet eithersmile Perfect.
Chivas w Ale

Chivas w Ale

 
Chivas is one of the more common housepour drinks during happy hour, and $10 gives you a glass of chivas either on the rocks, neat or with your choice of mixer. This one is with ginger ale, and the mix was delicious -not too strong and the oaky, slight vanilla frutiness of the Chivas is rounded off nicely with the sweetness of the ginger ale.
Rum & Tonic

Rum & Tonic

 
The rum & tonic was stronger and I decided to go for tonic because I felt like having tonic water -it was an odd combination though, rarely heard of but it was decent. The rum used in their house spirits is Havana Club.
Shirley Temple

Shirley Temple

 
The Shirley Temple was a little too sweet for me -it tasted a bit like fruit punch and cherry cordial. Not really my kind of drink but if you need something sweet -this is it!

 
Tuesdays and Thursdays are when the bilingual liveband (kexin & alfred) performs. They are really a crowd-pleaser and dedications can be sent in. We were very amazed and impressed by how they could easily play and sing any song, both English and Chinese. It's really entertaining and great to just chill out with a few friends and good company.

Service wise, I was slightly disappointed. Switch requires you to give your credit card to hold on tab when you first order, and even though I explicitly told them not to charge to this card both before ordering AND when asking for the bill, (a friend gave hers when we were paying), they charged to my card instead of my friend's. I was quite disappointed with this because I had told the same staffperson who served me not to charge to my card. It's not a big deal but I wish that they could have paid more attention to details like this because in the service industry, it's the small things that matter. huffysad

Other than that, Switch is a fantastic place for food and drinks, entertaining and having a great time. Weekdays are relatively quiet so walk-ins are fine, it starts to get crowded around 7+ or 8, and during Fridays, Eve of PH and PHs/Saturdays, it gets really crazy so reservations are advised. Be warned though that they only designate 50% of their seating to reservation, the other 50% is for walk in!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Wings,Smoked Salmon Pizza
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $32(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend