OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity2741 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Delectable Beef Roast Smile Dec 05, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Steaks and Grills

Lured by promise of a large playhouse and good food, our large party of 12 trooped down to check out the food and entertainment.

The adults only had:
1) Men Roast - huge slab of beef that's thick and cooked beautifully! We asked for medium rare and the meat arrived exactly that. Pink in the middle and juicy. The vege on the side was done well too. Mash was great!

2) Ladies Roast - essentially Men Roast but slightly smaller.

3) Seafood Aglio Olio - One of my pal had this and he liked it. Fresh seafood and skillful cooking = awesome dish.

Hubby said he'll definitely return to sink his teeth into the roast again. I can't agree more.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 12, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

Was in Chinatown area and remembered that I've been meaning to check out this wuxia themed restaurant, and so we did.

The deco is indeed very wuxia-fied and I was smiling to myself at the details they put up to further paint the wuxia scene.

Their menu also offers a very different spread from our local Zichar. It's even more different than Lao Beijing or Dian Xiaoer. We took a leap of faith and ordered:

1) Braised Chicken with glass noodles - its actually a little spicy and they don't have a non-spicy version as the chicken is pre-marinated with a little chill. J doesn't take spice but she loved it. She complained it being spicy but still ate two big bowls.

2) Big Bone Soup - the soup was super flavorful which led me to think that on top of the bones and vege, they must pop in some Ajinomoto lah.

3) Garlic Vege - simply fried with garlic but the vege is very sweet and fresh. Loved the taste of it!

4) Fried noodle - spicy (again) but my elder girl loved it too! We found it nice as well lah...

Problem with me reviewing this is that I failed to note the actual names on their menu and going by memory of what I ate is proving to be not very comprehensive. So in summary, we liked the food there because it's well-cooked and it's something different. Likely to bring friends there who speak better Mandarin than me to get a more awesome dining experience. Why? So I can fully understand the writings on the wall...literally. smile
 
Date of Visit: Oct 23, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pretty Good One-Stop Shop Smile Nov 10, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads/ Acai Bowl | Roasted Meat | Kids-Friendly

Medz is essentially Marche but they have one stall representing the major European countries. Even their payment system is charged to a card and you just pay that card.

As for the food, it's generally quite good. Between the few of us, we ordered:

1) Rosti - this is nice. Same as Marche's.

2) Calzone - its a folded pizza but the fillings had some type of fish so the taste was kinda fishy. sad

3) Duck Confit - it didn't look very much but the taste is pretty good!! Easily the best dish of the night.

4) Spanish Seafood Penella - it's pretty good too! I enjoyed it very much.

5) Mussel Cream - the mussels didn't taste fishy but the cream soup has a slight bitter after-taste which I dunno why.

6) Hotplate Beef Kebab - basically a hot-plate of beef slices with melted cheese over it. Again, it doesn't look very much but turned out to be very yummy!!

It's definitely a place to return to with hubby as he is a fan of western cuisine and this is a one-stop shop to try a little bit of everything.
Hotplate Beef Kebab

Hotplate Beef Kebab

 
Light and fruity

Light and fruity

 
Duck Confit

Duck Confit

 
Spanish Seafood Paella

Spanish Seafood Paella

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bailey Good! Smile Nov 04, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Friend recommended that we grab a milkshake to round off our night of feasting.

Went for a Baileys one and the amount of alcohol in that drink proved that they give a good size pour into that one. The result is a wonderful cooling drink with enough kick on the side.

This drink is definitely a come-back-to!
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Luv Luv Luv!! Smile Oct 12, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Was in town and saw the reviews of Genki Sushi to be very promising. Decided to try again as the last time I tried Genki Sushi was years ago!

Reviews mentioned something about a train and I dismissed it as typo because I couldn't imagine having moving trains in a restaurant. But upon sitting down on the bar, I soon understand what the past reviewers are saying!

So we ordered plenty of sushi and other stuff to enjoy seeing the 4-carriage train bring the food to you!!

1) Sushi - the Sushi items are generally quite good. Fresh and good flavor.

2) Miso Clam Soup - nice and generous with seaweed.

3) Potato Salad - I just love Jap potato salad! And theirs didn't disappoint.

I asked the cashier where are the other outlets and he replied that this is the only outlet so far and this is under a new management. So far so good, I actually am thinking of coming back again...soon, with my girls...they will SO LOVE the trains smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sushi, Potato Salad
 
Date of Visit: Oct 07, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0